We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal ”
Review of The Rickshaw

The Rickshaw
Ranked #33 of 103 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cosy Asian Street Style Cafe in Muri, serving Vietnamese, Indonesian, Chinese, Malasian and Thai dishes with a range of vegetarian choices and gluten free items on request.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

We have had 3 pleasant meals here and have always been happy with the food.

A nice place to visit if you want Asian style food, if you are an expert on a particular style of Asian food from a big city then this may not be what you are looking for but it is good.

On this visit we arrived with a group of friends, approx 10, and were seated outside which is a lovely place to be, we were served with drinks and dinner order taken pretty quickly.

Of all the meals that arrived everyone enjoyed their choice and was happy, although two guys ordered the beef rendang(it was delicious) and the main serving portion size was small almost entree size, one was disappointed as we hadn't ordered starters and he thought mains would be sufficient, the other guy was lucky as he ordered 2 dishes.

We all had desert and that was delicious, whatever you choose, it's great, especially the lime sticky date, yummie....... :)


My biggest criticism would be to management, the place was busy and the two waitresses were running around doing their best to look after 8 to 10 tables of various sizes (and they were running, full credit to them, fast efficient and really lovely trying to serve you ) everytime I looked to get some attention to order more drinks,( as there was quite a bit of time before the meals arrived) there seemed to be two managers standing about talking at the desk, who seemed to be totally oblivious to the heavy work pressure their staff were under or totally oblivious to the fact that the restaurant was really full and they had customers sitting on empty drinks($$$$$$$) or in one case people were shown to a table that needed wiping before they could be seated , in the end I got fed up and approached the managers to ask if we could get some attention please by them if possible if the waitresses were so busy.

The service from staff, fantastic effort looking after a busy restaurant, full credit to them, management need to be more attentive.

Thank Sandraleelovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

For something different a Vietnamese meal, pretty good service although I think they forgot our mains for a while there. But didn't matter to much as it was good to have a break between courses.

Thank nicklloydnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thanks for your nice review of our Asian style street-side food. We don't like to rush customers, so if you have had starters do tend to give a nice break between courses for you to enjoy your drinks over. If customers with bookings are in a hurry then it is great for them to tell us at the beginning of the meal so we will speed up the process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

I don't think the description Vietnamese is accurate. This restaurant serves a mix of Asian food which was okay, but nothing to write home about. The staff were pleasant enough and speed of service was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KJMK1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

We were one of the first people there and we didn't get our meal until about 40 mins later. It was pretty average food too. Do yourself a favour and if you feel like Asian food wait until you're off the island

Thank itsaforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Very sorry to hear you had this unacceptable experience. We have checked with all our staff and no-one has an indication of any complaint over slow service the past few evenings.
I do hope in fairness to any establishment you review so negatively, that you do raise your concerns in person to the staff right away, so that they or management might have had a chance to address your issue on the night.
We generally receive positive feedback on both our food and service, so know what you experienced would be the exception to the rule, and would like to be able to ensure it doesn't happen again if possible. Similarly without more specific constructive criticism about what you ate, we cannot review items with the chefs and improve as we are always striving to do. All the best in the rest of your dining in Rarotonga and beyond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We ate here as a family 2 out of 7 nights while staying in Muri beach area. The Pho is lovely, & the papaya salad absolutely fresh & delicious. Nice staff, nice outside/open air tables, & they were happy to pack up our leftover food so we could take back to our resort.

Thank CoffsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raroliving, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you so much for your five star feedback including the specific dishes and atmosphere you enjoyed on both nights with us in your short stay on the island. We are always happy to pack up your food and glad our portions are substantial enough to have leftovers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rickshaw also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Rickshaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing