We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect landing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homer Floatplane Lodge
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Reviewed 4 September 2014

If you want your Alaska experience to be something more than a few days in a generic hotel room, this would be an ideal choice. We stayed in a cute, two-story cabin that had everything we needed for our stay, including a kitchenette with stove burners, a small fridge, and glasses, plates, and utensils; a living room with a sofa, table, and small TV; a breakfast area with stools; and a large, comfortable bed in a sloped-ceiling, second-story room. All of this was steps away from Beluga Lake, where we could watch float planes take off and land, see the morning fog settle over the water, and relax near a small, private dock with chairs and an area for a fire. The lodge is part of Emerald Air Service, which offers its own tours, though booking a tour isn't required for a stay. Homer Brewing Company was a quick walk down the street, and Fresh Sourdough Express bakery and cafe was a block away. All of the restaurants and attractions on Homer Spit were a short drive away. There are only a few cabins on the property, and chances are you'll meet some of the other folks who are staying there -- whether from a different town or a different country.

Room Tip: It's a small property. I really don't think you can make a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcInSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best places that we stayed in during our nine day Alaskan vacation. Situated on a beautiful lake this is a perfect restful location from which to explore the Homer area. The owners are warm and gentle which makes you feel at home. Ask for one of the lakefront rooms...it is worth the extra cost. And don't miss the nearby Sourdough Bakery for breakfast, lunch, and box lunches.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We always wanted to visit Alaska. We were not interested in a crowded cruise. We decided to concentrate on the Kenai peninsula, specifically Homer, for the halibut and salmon. Float Plane Lodge took care of the details. We went all out and got the week adventure package! Two days of fishing (brought home 150# of fish!), kayaking and bear viewing with Owners Craig and Sarah. Chef Kyle spoiled us every day with awesome tasting food that looked like art! Fantastic!
Bear viewing was over the top! We got lucky with weather, hiked within feet of bears only interested salmon- which they caught right in front of us!
Craig and Sarah felt like family, and their son Nick was just funny!!!
Our cabin was a cozy place to pass out with exhaustion after adventure filled days!
George (who is a female and a breath of fresh air), in the office, is also very helpful!
It is a very special place that we highly recommend!!!
Rita and Jim Govert

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rgovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Craig and Sarah,

We had such a great time at the lodge, it is beautiful there and all your people are fantastic!! Our room was everything we could have asked for, and more! We loved sitting on the deck just relaxing, watching the planes take off and land, talking to other guests, talking to Craig and your son, and just enjoying nature! Also Kyle was very helpful in suggesting places to eat ... he told us about Captain Patties on the spit and we loved it! We hope to come back to Homer again, and we will definitely stay at your lodge. I just have one suggestion ..... you need to have a "review" page on your website, so everyone can view these comments, because I can't imagine anyone ever writing a negative comment about the lodge!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 and you had an excellent view of Beluga Lake and the floatplanes taking off and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a disappointment. The location is quite nice with a lake view. We weren't made to feel particularly welcome, just handed the room key and told to take our bags to our cabin.

The standard cabin we were given was much smaller than we had been told by our agent- a quick word and we were allocated a bigger cabin at no charge. The new cabin needed to be aired so we were told to give them 15 minutes to get it ready: we can accept this, but rather than suggest we wait in the main lodge, we had to wait in the car.

When the cabin was ready we were asked if we wanted help with our luggage: a nice touch, only the offer was made by the young son who was smaller than our cases!

The new room was not good- it was not clean (the pans in the kitchen should have been thrown away) and it was freezing: we ended up having to use the cooker to get the room to a reasonable temparature. This took a while to achieve. The night was not a comfortable one.

After a fair bit of discussion, we decided to cut our losses and sacrifice our second night and check in to the Lands End Resort on the Homer Spit which, as it tuns out, was a great move.

Sorry- we don't like to give poor reviews, but in this case we felt that it did not meet our expectations. Basic we can handle- but we expect clean. Fortunately it did not spoil what was a great trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
2 km away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
7.2 km away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
911 reviews
6 km away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 30 in Homer
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
0.5 km away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
2.5 km away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Floatplane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Floatplane Lodge

Address: 1244 Lake Shore Dr, Homer, AK 99603-7931
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Price Range: $168 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full service fishing lodge in a convenient location in Homer, Alaska. Affordable all inclusive fishing vacation packages for groups, reunions, weddings, corporate retreats and fishing clubs. World Class halibut & salmon fishing and amazing bear viewing photo expeditions fly out from the lodge daily. There are non-fishing activities too. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing