We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
25
8
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
8
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bear viewing trip emerald air shower curtain enjoyed our stay comforter cabin
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best places that we stayed in during our nine day Alaskan vacation. Situated on a beautiful lake this is a perfect restful location from which to explore the Homer area. The owners are warm and gentle which makes you feel at home. Ask for one of the lakefront rooms...it is worth the extra cost. And don't miss the nearby Sourdough Bakery for breakfast, lunch, and box lunches.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagleheart222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We always wanted to visit Alaska. We were not interested in a crowded cruise. We decided to concentrate on the Kenai peninsula, specifically Homer, for the halibut and salmon. Float Plane Lodge took care of the details. We went all out and got the week adventure package! Two days of fishing (brought home 150# of fish!), kayaking and bear viewing with Owners Craig and Sarah. Chef Kyle spoiled us every day with awesome tasting food that looked like art! Fantastic!
Bear viewing was over the top! We got lucky with weather, hiked within feet of bears only interested salmon- which they caught right in front of us!
Craig and Sarah felt like family, and their son Nick was just funny!!!
Our cabin was a cozy place to pass out with exhaustion after adventure filled days!
George (who is a female and a breath of fresh air), in the office, is also very helpful!
It is a very special place that we highly recommend!!!
Rita and Jim Govert

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rgovert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Craig and Sarah,

We had such a great time at the lodge, it is beautiful there and all your people are fantastic!! Our room was everything we could have asked for, and more! We loved sitting on the deck just relaxing, watching the planes take off and land, talking to other guests, talking to Craig and your son, and just enjoying nature! Also Kyle was very helpful in suggesting places to eat ... he told us about Captain Patties on the spit and we loved it! We hope to come back to Homer again, and we will definitely stay at your lodge. I just have one suggestion ..... you need to have a "review" page on your website, so everyone can view these comments, because I can't imagine anyone ever writing a negative comment about the lodge!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 and you had an excellent view of Beluga Lake and the floatplanes taking off and landing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a disappointment. The location is quite nice with a lake view. We weren't made to feel particularly welcome, just handed the room key and told to take our bags to our cabin.

The standard cabin we were given was much smaller than we had been told by our agent- a quick word and we were allocated a bigger cabin at no charge. The new cabin needed to be aired so we were told to give them 15 minutes to get it ready: we can accept this, but rather than suggest we wait in the main lodge, we had to wait in the car.

When the cabin was ready we were asked if we wanted help with our luggage: a nice touch, only the offer was made by the young son who was smaller than our cases!

The new room was not good- it was not clean (the pans in the kitchen should have been thrown away) and it was freezing: we ended up having to use the cooker to get the room to a reasonable temparature. This took a while to achieve. The night was not a comfortable one.

After a fair bit of discussion, we decided to cut our losses and sacrifice our second night and check in to the Lands End Resort on the Homer Spit which, as it tuns out, was a great move.

Sorry- we don't like to give poor reviews, but in this case we felt that it did not meet our expectations. Basic we can handle- but we expect clean. Fortunately it did not spoil what was a great trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed in room #4 and loved it! There were homemade quilts on the bed and walls. Alpenglow shampoo and soap, all natural, homemade with local herbs and oils were wonderful. Coffee, Hot Chocolate and Popcorn were provided. The staff was very attentive showing us where the hot tub was and the WiFi password as well as providing recommended places to see in Homer. We wanted to book the bearview trip, but it was full and usually books up prior to the summer so we were disappointed; reserve in advance! We used the firepit by the lake and the grill.

We really enjoyed the Tundra Swans and their Cygnets laying in the grass in the morning. We can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews