We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters
Nearby Hotels
Kenai River Lodge(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$89
Aspen Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soldotna Inn(Soldotna)
US$79
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western King Salmon Motel(Soldotna)(Great Value!)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Uptown Motel(Kenai)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Extended Stay Suites(Kenai)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$129
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenai Airport Hotel(Kenai)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
74
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscatch fishhalibuttop notchkasilof rivermaking sureeggs benedicteach morningprime ribfishing gearbeautiful settinggreat hospitalityamazing fishingcouple of daystheir websitefamily vacationdorothyappetizers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our first experience visiting Alaska was via a cruise, and we knew we wanted to come back and see more. We had no idea where to start looking! We searched the Internet and read Trip Advisor’s reviews of different areas. We found the book called The Milepost which is a must-have before you go. After doing this research and talking with friends that have been to Alaska, we knew we wanted to go to the Kenai Peninsula. But where to stay? With 23 positive reviews, and 1 negative on Trip Advisor for Crooked Creek, we figured the one negative must have gotten up on the wrong side of the bed. We were right. We started communicating with Auntie Dorothy months before we stayed at her beautiful retreat. She was instrumental in helping us plan for our trip! We knew we wanted to do some fishing along with some sight-seeing. We relied on her suggestions and they were spot-on. We ended up on 4 fishing trips with Russell Fishing Company (which we would recommend), Kasilof River drift, Kenai River power boat, Halibut Fishing out of Anchor Point, and a fly-out with Alaska Air. To give some insight on how this worked in our case was that we showed up at the lodge, and Auntie Dorothy and Jessica from Russell Fishing took care of the rest. They put us on fish every day! Auntie Dorothy and staff also gave us suggestions on where to go when we weren’t fishing. Our choices were the Kenai Fjords expedition, a river raft float trip, and exploring the local area based on Auntie Dorothy’s suggestions. To say the least, this was a phenomenal adventure. Now, about the lodge, when you read all the reviews that tell you that the food is great, the staff is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, etc, it is all true. For just relaxing, you can read a book in their library, go play horseshoes by the creek, or sit out at the fire-pit and tell fish stories. One of the best things that happened for us was hanging out with all the other guests, having a beer, and hearing about their adventures. We would definitely go back to the Crooked Creek Retreat, and hope to soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tripsa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you for the great review. Some may wonder why we show so many friend reviews, it is thanks to people like you who we welcome into the Crooked Creek family and you quickly become family and follow us on Facebook. We love to welcome you back anytime and hope you enjoy the postings we try to keep current. Come back soon, we have added more boats, more guides and have available great fly fishing, Steelhead, early and late season. Thank you again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was an amazing stay, From the amazing service, perfect location, great accomodations to the best meals available. Our arrival at midnight didn't stop Auntie Dorothy from staying up late to greet us, and also, Jessica was up bright and early to make sure we had our fishing license. To be able to be minutes away from all the action, made it a great part of the trip, we were within minutes from the Kasilof river and Kenai river made the early mornings more pleasent. Just a few more minutes and we were in salt water fishing where we had great guides at all times. The Crooked Creek Retreat also provides the fishing guides with Russell Fishing Co right on site. All you need is say what you want to catch and they take you right to it. Great bunch of guides!! The log cabin is amazing, if you take a minute to look at the support logs you will see amazing engineering and architecture working together yet seemless to the eye. Huge areas to relax so you don't have to fight for a good spot, with 8,000 square feet you will find "your favorite spot". I don't remember the last time I ate 3 great meals per day, from eggs benedict for breakfast, to a lunch box while your fish yet, when you come exhausted from a long day of fishing, you are greeted with your own appetizer (killer clam chowder- with fresh clams from the day before!!) to perfect salads, main dish I wont tell you wat it is but be prepared to finish your plate... everything was as good as a 5 star restaurant and make sure you ask for the Coconut crust fresh frout ice creamn pie. I am not huge on desserts but that was really amazing.

All in all IO would highly recommend Crooked Creek Retreat, the only thing that I would change is the name to Crooked Creek RESORT!!

Room Tip: Loved the lodge room, you have a back door to the patio and creek very nice to chill after dinner.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Well my friend and I decided we guys would go to Alaska and do a week of fishing followed by our wives coming up a week later for some sight seeing and a minor amount of fishing. After our first day it was clear these was no regular place. I have stayed over 1,000 nights at various hotels and bed & breakfasts around the world and my expectations for Kasilof Alaska were normal. Corrked Creek Resort exceeded my expectations on every dimension. The staff and management at Crooked Creek Resort were fantastic. The cooking was top notch and the accomodations were also excellent. We were treated to a first class, all-inclusive (except drinks) stay and when our wives arrived in Alaska they loved Crooked Creek Resort too!

If what you want is a first class stay with great food in a lovely log home all while you are visiting Alaska - - this is your place

We leave tomorrow after 10 days here, I am wondering how we can take the staff with us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Alaska is such an amazing place, beautiful mountains, rivers, ocean and wildlife. Our time at Crooked Creek Retreat will forever be one of our best vacation memories. Auntie Dorothy, and her staff are great hosts and made us feel like we were part of the family. We were spoiled with 5 star meals daily,never a lack of food. Be careful you will gain at least 5 lbs, I know this first hand. We had an amazing trip and are already planning our trip back next year! Oh and a special unexpected treat, we had a momma moose and her two babies visit the creek behind the property and we could see them off our balcony,truely amazing! Every one should plan a trip to Alaska and if you can stay with Auntie Dorothy at Crooked Creek Retreat,don't forget your camera!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the creek view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Although we were to be in Alaska on business this trip, we made the relaxing drive from Anchorage to Kasilof to enjoy Crooked Creek Retreat, instead of a hotel. The lodge is ideally positioned on the Kenia Penninsula, near the famous fishing grounds of Soldotna, Homer, Anchor Point and a short trek (and beautiful drive) over to Seward. When you pull into the drive, you will notice the amount of care and attention that Auntie Dorothy, family and staff have made, on behalf of those that are lucky enough (or had the keen insight to book multiple times!) to stay at the lodge. Arrive early or arrive late, something is always waiting for you, snacks, dinner, horseshoes, fire pit, the sound of Crooked Creek, amazaing deck space or even just watching a local moose graze with her young calves. Did I forget the fishing, well that is all taken care of as well! Halibut, Salmon, Trout on the many rivers and the ocean so tell Auntie what you like and she will arrange it, if you want to try something for the first time like a fly-out to view bears or an up close look at glaciers, let her know that too. The fishing guides and lodge staff will truly take great care of you. Oh the FOOD, well you must try that for yourself! The one-stop shop with customized packagages for your stay on the Kenai Peninsula is a true "retreat" just a few miles past Soldotna, accross the Kasilof River and on the banks of Crooked Creek!

Room Tip: you can't beat the Lodge Room, unless I am in town...that is always mine.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews