We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kasilof
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soldotna Inn(Soldotna)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
74
1
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscatch fishhalibuttop notchkasilof rivermaking sureeggs benedicteach morningprime ribfishing gearbeautiful settinggreat hospitalityamazing fishingcouple of daystheir websitefamily vacationdorothyappetizers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Due to a family situation, I am over a year late posting a review for this establishment. My father, brother and myself had the pleasure of staying at Crooked Creek Retreat last June (2016).

Let me start my review by talking about the amazing owner/operator, Dorothy Baker. She not only made sure to have all of our activities scheduled and organized, she treated us like family with her great hospitality. In addition to the scheduled fishing trips, Dorothy made sure to tell us about the area, where to go for tours and activities, and what places we should see, and directions on how to get there (so we didn't get lost).

Dorothy has put together a great staff to help her run this 5 star retreat. She has an amazing chef, 3 experienced fishing guides, 2 very friendly waistress / housekeepers, and she partnered with a very good captain for the halibut excursion.

Dorothy and Angela (her niece and chef), served excellent breakfasts and dinners daily as well as provided hearty lunches for the fishing excursions. We were treated to Eggs benedict, pancakes, etc.. for breakfast. We had amazing dinners and appetizers at night, including Halibut cheeks, Prime rib, King Crab and baked Salmon. They are also nice enough to ask you about food preferences and food allergies to make sure every single guest enjoyed their meals.

Her three guides Larry, Terry, and Jason were excellent. They not only took us on amazing fishing excursions, but they told us about the area, different types of fish and animals, and were very knowledgeable that even a non-fisherman like me could catch fish and have a great time.

Dorothy also had two young ladies working for her as waitress' / housekeepers. I regrettably do not remember their names, but they provided excellent service serving are meals, cleaning our room, and were very personable and while completing their work excellently.

Last but not least, Dorothy scheduled our halibut excursions with an amazing captain, Aaron Mahoney @ Alaska Gulf Coast Expeditions. Aaron was very knowledgeable and a very skilled guide/captain. He took us to some amazing fishing locations where we caught not only halibut, but sharks, skates, and cod as well. Aaron made sure we filled our quotas and we took home over 100 pounds of delicious halibut . He also showed us some amazing sights while we were out at sea, including but not limited to the Ring of Fire (three beautiful volcanoes).

Let me end this review, by again thanking Dorothy and her excellent staff and captain, and by recommending anyone interested in an amazing fishing experience to book their trip at Crooked Creek Retreat. An Outstanding establishment run by an amazing woman. I know that the next time I go to Alaska, I will book my vacation with Dorothy and I sincerely hope that this review helps you book yours with her as well, because our experience at Crooked Creek retreat was second to none.

Room Tip: All the rooms were amazing
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Manager at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Duane, thank you for the great review! Since your visit we have grown - we have expanded our staff so our staff to guest ratio is even higher and we bought our own halibut boat, which Captain Mahoney runs for us in addition to his own. We take pride in providing the great service you noted in your review. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

The lodge staff is warm and friendly, the food is amazing and abundant. Our guides were helpful and knowledgeable. It was a seamless vacation. We didn't have to plan a thing, just tell them what you want to fish for and they make it happen. The best part were the dinners, community table and lots of fish stories. Oh, and they clean and pack all the fish for you.

The staff worked with us on some special dietary requests and were a,ways very careful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank antro2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Manager at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

We had a GREAT week with you! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you two again. Enjoy the rest of your time in Alaska!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

My husband and I were looking at adding a couple of days of fishing on to a business trip and we chose Crooked Creak Retreat based on trip advisor reviews. Our visit was exceptional due to the expertise of Dorothy and her experienced team. The price was all inclusive including fishing (guides, equipment and all gear), lodging, food, and non alcoholic beverages. Alcohol was bring your own which was no problem since there was several places we could purchase our wine and beer. The lodge is in a beautiful setting and it was nice to sit on the back deck and patio and relax after a full day of fishing. The accommodations were really nice including private baths for the guest rooms and great family/guest meeting areas. The food was exceptional and we have some pretty high food expectations. Appetizers are served each night around 5 with a full dinner served at 5:30. To go breakfast is available each morning and lunch is packed for you each day for fishing expeditions. The fishing experience was one of the best. Dorothy provides all of the fishing gear which was all top notch (waders, boots, rain gear etc...). Dorothy owns the fishing boats and employs the guides so everything is taken care of for your all inclusive fishing opportunity. The guides were great - we river fished with Terry, Hunter, Jason and all were very knowledgeable and experienced which attributed to us catching fish. We were blown out by weather for Halibut fishing but others at the lodge that were able to Halibut fish other days said that Aaron and his crew were also great guides. Overall the experience was excellent and we will be back again and hopefully be able to stay longer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank avgjoemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Loved having you with us. You made the week even more fun with your great attitude. We would love to see you again. Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Everything you see on their website is true. This lodge was beautiful and very clean. Anything you needed they had available for you.
The food was delicious and plentiful. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly and worked hard for you to catch fish. We caught our limited on a beautiful day on the Kasilof River. The guides were experts at rowing down the river avoiding boulders. We were only there for 3 nights after our cruise, and would love to bring our children back for a family vacation with more fishing.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

We were glad you were able to add us to your cruise. Do come back and bring the children. Our guides are great! They work hard and appreciate you kind comments.
Everyone is remarking on how clean the lodge is and how great it looks, we owe all of that to the great staff.
Thank you for visiting us, we miss you already.

Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Wow, what a great destination. If you are the sportsman looking to bag some of Alaska's salmon this is the place for you. Dorthy ask for your plans and makes all the accommodation so you don't have to do the search. She has multiple river boats with great guides like Brian. If your wanting some halibut you can get out on the salt with Aaron. They have two or three saltwater boats now.
You won't leave disappointed, if there are fish in the water her guides know where they are and how to set you up to land them. I'll be there the week of July 2nd '17 and can't wait to get back. It's been too long since I've been, and im getting fishin' fever.
Of course I can't wait to see all the staff and Dorthy especially.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandwkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again! You mentioned our great guides - we only hire experienced guides who have fished here and know these waters and it's great to know our guests appreciate them! We are excited to see you again this summer; we enjoy seeing all of our Crooked Creek Retreat family when you return year after year.

-Dorothy, Owner/Outfitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews