We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father/son trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasilof
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters
Ranked #1 of 5 Kasilof B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Great choice to make some unforgettable memories! Dorothy and her staff are second to none. Lodge is very well cared for and is a comfortable as it gets. I cannot say enough about how the staff works overtime to make your stay perfect! From some of the best meals you will ever eat to making sure you are taken care of!! Fishing trips are wonderful,guides are very knowledgeable,personable, and at time very humorous, I highly recommend this destination for anyone wanting the Alaska fishing experience

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy B, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We had a great time with you guys! Thank you for your kind words and I hope we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Due to a family situation, I am over a year late posting a review for this establishment. My father, brother and myself had the pleasure of staying at Crooked Creek Retreat last June (2016).

Let me start my review by talking about the amazing owner/operator, Dorothy Baker. She not only made sure to have all of our activities scheduled and organized, she treated us like family with her great hospitality. In addition to the scheduled fishing trips, Dorothy made sure to tell us about the area, where to go for tours and activities, and what places we should see, and directions on how to get there (so we didn't get lost).

Dorothy has put together a great staff to help her run this 5 star retreat. She has an amazing chef, 3 experienced fishing guides, 2 very friendly waistress / housekeepers, and she partnered with a very good captain for the halibut excursion.

Dorothy and Angela (her niece and chef), served excellent breakfasts and dinners daily as well as provided hearty lunches for the fishing excursions. We were treated to Eggs benedict, pancakes, etc.. for breakfast. We had amazing dinners and appetizers at night, including Halibut cheeks, Prime rib, King Crab and baked Salmon. They are also nice enough to ask you about food preferences and food allergies to make sure every single guest enjoyed their meals.

Her three guides Larry, Terry, and Jason were excellent. They not only took us on amazing fishing excursions, but they told us about the area, different types of fish and animals, and were very knowledgeable that even a non-fisherman like me could catch fish and have a great time.

Dorothy also had two young ladies working for her as waitress' / housekeepers. I regrettably do not remember their names, but they provided excellent service serving are meals, cleaning our room, and were very personable and while completing their work excellently.

Last but not least, Dorothy scheduled our halibut excursions with an amazing captain, Aaron Mahoney @ Alaska Gulf Coast Expeditions. Aaron was very knowledgeable and a very skilled guide/captain. He took us to some amazing fishing locations where we caught not only halibut, but sharks, skates, and cod as well. Aaron made sure we filled our quotas and we took home over 100 pounds of delicious halibut . He also showed us some amazing sights while we were out at sea, including but not limited to the Ring of Fire (three beautiful volcanoes).

Let me end this review, by again thanking Dorothy and her excellent staff and captain, and by recommending anyone interested in an amazing fishing experience to book their trip at Crooked Creek Retreat. An Outstanding establishment run by an amazing woman. I know that the next time I go to Alaska, I will book my vacation with Dorothy and I sincerely hope that this review helps you book yours with her as well, because our experience at Crooked Creek retreat was second to none.

Room Tip: All the rooms were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Manager at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Duane, thank you for the great review! Since your visit we have grown - we have expanded our staff so our staff to guest ratio is even higher and we bought our own halibut boat, which Captain Mahoney runs for us in addition to his own. We take pride in providing the great service you noted in your review. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

The lodge staff is warm and friendly, the food is amazing and abundant. Our guides were helpful and knowledgeable. It was a seamless vacation. We didn't have to plan a thing, just tell them what you want to fish for and they make it happen. The best part were the dinners, community table and lots of fish stories. Oh, and they clean and pack all the fish for you.

The staff worked with us on some special dietary requests and were a,ways very careful.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank antro2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Manager at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

We had a GREAT week with you! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you two again. Enjoy the rest of your time in Alaska!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

My husband and I were looking at adding a couple of days of fishing on to a business trip and we chose Crooked Creak Retreat based on trip advisor reviews. Our visit was exceptional due to the expertise of Dorothy and her experienced team. The price was all inclusive including fishing (guides, equipment and all gear), lodging, food, and non alcoholic beverages. Alcohol was bring your own which was no problem since there was several places we could purchase our wine and beer. The lodge is in a beautiful setting and it was nice to sit on the back deck and patio and relax after a full day of fishing. The accommodations were really nice including private baths for the guest rooms and great family/guest meeting areas. The food was exceptional and we have some pretty high food expectations. Appetizers are served each night around 5 with a full dinner served at 5:30. To go breakfast is available each morning and lunch is packed for you each day for fishing expeditions. The fishing experience was one of the best. Dorothy provides all of the fishing gear which was all top notch (waders, boots, rain gear etc...). Dorothy owns the fishing boats and employs the guides so everything is taken care of for your all inclusive fishing opportunity. The guides were great - we river fished with Terry, Hunter, Jason and all were very knowledgeable and experienced which attributed to us catching fish. We were blown out by weather for Halibut fishing but others at the lodge that were able to Halibut fish other days said that Aaron and his crew were also great guides. Overall the experience was excellent and we will be back again and hopefully be able to stay longer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank avgjoemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Loved having you with us. You made the week even more fun with your great attitude. We would love to see you again. Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Everything you see on their website is true. This lodge was beautiful and very clean. Anything you needed they had available for you.
The food was delicious and plentiful. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly and worked hard for you to catch fish. We caught our limited on a beautiful day on the Kasilof River. The guides were experts at rowing down the river avoiding boulders. We were only there for 3 nights after our cruise, and would love to bring our children back for a family vacation with more fishing.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kasilof, Owner at Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

We were glad you were able to add us to your cruise. Do come back and bring the children. Our guides are great! They work hard and appreciate you kind comments.
Everyone is remarking on how clean the lodge is and how great it looks, we owe all of that to the great staff.
Thank you for visiting us, we miss you already.

Dorothy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kasilof hotels
2.3 km away
Gallery Lodge
Gallery Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kasilof
28 reviews
8.8 km away
Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast
5.9 km away
Kenai Bed & Breakfast
Kenai Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 5 in Kasilof
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters

Address: 59325 Sterling Hwy, PO Box 1190, Kasilof, AK 99610-9627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Kasilof
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kasilof
Price Range: S$198 - S$408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fishing lodge is full service, from your room to your fishing experience, we are a complete outfitter. We have earned a Cabela's Outdoor Adventure Lodge and Sportsman's News Platinum Outfitter designation. The lodge is on Crooked Creek far away from the other lodges in town, yet conveniently located for Salt Water and River fishing. King Salmon spawn in the creek and you can fish it after July 31st for trout, Silvers and in the late fall for Steelhead or you can watch Eagles catch Steelhead and trow them up on the bank. Service is our goal. Our staff guest ratio is 1 to 2. Everything is designed to make your Alaska trip one you will remember. During fishing season we offer all inclusive packages, 6 or 5 nights, with fishing adventures everyday, all meals, all fully guided trips, all gear, fish processing, fishing licenses and king stamps, short boots, hip boots, and rain gear. We have our own boats, we have only the best guides, all are fully licensed and ready to take you out on the Kasilof, Kenai, Ninlchik, Deep Creek, the Anchor and local lakes for Salmon, Trout. Steelhead, Arctic Char and Grayling. Your fishing trips include a Halibut trip on the Cook Inlet, a Fly Out across the Cook Inlet to the Alaska Peninsula, plus you will enjoy drift boat fishing on the Kasilof, power boats on the Kenai, or walk in for some great trout and Steelhead fishing. We also provide adventure packages that offer fjord cruises, kayaks, bear viewing that can be combined with fishing adventures. Guests enjoy meals with other guests and guides, hanging out at the fire pit, swinging in hammocks, relaxing in the hot tub, sight seeing, or watching wildlife from the decks. All rooms have private baths, spa robes, first class linens, and are fully appointed. You have available 24/7 cold beverages on the kitchen deck and in the breakfast loft there are snacks, coffee, teas, hot chocolate, and juice in the fridge. If you would like your fish cooked for you just ask, we will put it on the grill for an afternoon snack, or for dinner. All guests meet with the chef to discus and food preferences. The chef makes all of our bread, pastries, and all of our lunch meats are cooked in house, you will have options for fresh salmon, Halibut, and other Alaska seafood, as well as Prime Rib some great barbecue, and of course hot breakfast every morning. Of course you have available throughout the lodge Wifi, the great room has Sat TV, two of the rooms have kitchens and TV. There is always the Library loft for some great views or quiet relaxing with a book. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing