We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will be the best kayak trip you could ever take”

Southeast Sea Kayaks
Book In Advance
More Info
US$94.79*
and up
Ketchikan Kayaking Tour
More Info
US$179.99*
and up
Orcas Cove Sea Kayaking
Ranked #5 of 94 Tours in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ketchikan's local kayak company. Sea kayak tours of Ketchikan, Orcas Cove and kayak/hike at Icehouse Cove. Small groups and fun, friendly guides. First time kayakers welcome!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Jaffrey, NH
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This will be the best kayak trip you could ever take”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Our recent kayak trip, guided by Robert, was one of the highlights of our entire Alaskan visit. We paddled around Orcas Cove at our pace, while he shared history and lure of the area -- sights that were awe-inspiring. We had incredible views of seals and a breaching humpback whale that you could only get from a kayak. Greg and Robert provided all we needed for an exceptional and most memorable experience. I can't imagine anything they could have done better to make the afternoon more wonderful. It's a day you will never forget. If you are thinking about kayaking while in Alaska, you must do it here!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank lv2beoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    29
    9
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!!! What a treat.”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and I were on an Alaskan cruise and had stopped in Ketchikan and had chosen a tour with South East Kayaks. They made us feel comfortable and were very knowledgable. Our guide was James and he gave us an excellent tour as well as explaining much of the history of the Orcas Cove area that we would of missed otherwise. The snack at the anchored boat was DELISCIOUS!!! Smoked salmon, capers, crackers and cream cheese. Simply yummy.
Greg the owner stopped on the way back in when we spotted a whale. We had seen sea lions and eagles as well. One sea lion came very close to the anchored boat.

All in all a very pleasant kayaking tour. Would recommend these guys to anyone without hesitation. The Orcas Cove tour especially.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurer52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbs, NM
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Our Week in Alaska”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We booked the half-day Orcas Cove Sea Kayaking trip during our cruise ship stop in Ketchikan, Alaska. It was cool and rainy, as it is most days in Ketchikan, but we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed our time on the tour. I can’t imagine how we would have gotten as much enjoyment spending the same amount of time ducking in and out of crowded souvenir shops.

Our adventure began when one of the owners, Gillian picked us up in a van next to the Liquid Sunshine Gauge on the side of the Visitor’s Bureau Building, close to where our ship docked. One thing to note is that there are actually two Visitor’s Bureau buildings, and both are near the cruise ship docks, so make sure you know which one you’re talking about if you plan to meet someone there. The main Visitor’s Bureau building, which is a light green in color and has the Liquid Sunshine Gauge attached, is at the corner of Front and Mission Streets. A satellite Visitor’s Bureau office has a dark green metal roof and is located two blocks north but also right next to the cruise ship docks.

Gillian drove us to the Southeast Seas Kayaks offices where we were outfitted with rain gear and life vests and given dry-bags to protect our belongings during the trip. We also met Greg, the other half of the husband & wife team that operates Southeast Sea Kayaks, and met up with the other two people booked on this particular trip, a couple who happened to be traveling on the same cruise ship that we were.

After we were outfitted, Greg showed us to the waiting transport boat, which was comfortable, fast and had an enclosed cabin to keep out the weather. Greg whisked us across to Orcas Cove where hosts Brandon and Robert were waiting for us aboard The Sea Spree, a larger anchored boat with kayaks, paddles and other necessary gear. The Sea Spree provided a base for us to launch from and return to without the need to paddle miles to get to and from this scenic spot. We were given easy-to-understand instructions on how to maneuver our kayaks and then given assistance in getting into our kayaks and attaching the rubber skirt that sealed water out. My wife and I were put into a two-person kayak, as was the other couple. Robert then gave us each a filled water bottle, which we were allowed to keep at the end of the trip.

My wife and I had only kayaked once or twice before, but were by no means experts, and we had no problem maneuvering in the ocean. The kayak we were provided was fitted with a pedal-operated rudder which makes steering much easier than trying to coordinate steering with your paddling partner.

Brandon, in a kayak of his own, was our guide and showed us several secluded coves where we saw all sorts of wildlife including eagles, fish and a sea otter. One of the things we liked best about booking a kayak trip through Southeast Seas Kayaks versus the company used by the cruise ship was the small size of the groups Southeast Seas takes on each outing. The smaller group size allowed for more personal service and better communication with our guide as he pointed out things along the way. Smaller group size also allows more flexibility when a change in the weather makes it more advantageous to adjust the scheduled tour time, as was the case on our trip.

And speaking of the weather, we went in mid-September so the temperature was in the low 60’s and it rained off and on throughout the day. Ketchikan is very rainy as a rule, so you should expect rain when planning your visit. But don’t let that dissuade you from booking this trip because we were very comfortable the entire time thanks to the rain gear Southeast Seas provided.

Our guide Brandon was knowledgeable, friendly and had a genuine interest in the surroundings and wildlife we encountered and in sharing his knowledge. After we visited several scenic spots, Brandon got an alert on the radio from Robert back on the boat, who called to tell him about a humpback whale that was feeding in a nearby cove. We quickly paddled to the location and were able to watch from very close for several minutes as the whale engaged in “bubble net feeding” and surfaced several times, emerging up out of the water to allow us to see its head and then diving gracefully as it displayed its tail. Seeing this from up close and at the vantage point the kayak provided made the experience more breathtaking and awe-inspiring than any whale-watching boat we’ve ever been on.

Once we returned to the boat, Robert had a table set with snacks and refreshments, including some of the most delicious smoked salmon we’ve ever tasted. Following our snack, Greg sped us back to the office where we dropped our wet gear and were driven back to our ship still in awe of the sights we’d seen.

I would recommend Southeast Seas Kayaks for this trip without hesitation, as it turned out to be the highlight of our week in Alaska.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank cottonchipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Alaskan Tour”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We did the Orca's Cove kayak trip and had a fantastic time. They took us out by boat to a lovely spot where we got some instructions on how to paddle and then got out in the kayaks. It was great to get away from the crowds and we even saw some seals and eagles. The guide was lovely and very patient with us as first time kayakers, he also knew lots of interesting stuff about the local area. We also loved sampling the smoked salmon at the end!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We went on this trip off a cruise but we searched on here for good reviews because we didn't want something commercialized and we certainly got that! The trip was a blast! Even on the rain! We took a boat out to where the main boat was anchored and each ogot our kayaks...Rob was our guide and he was so much fun and so interesting! We saw so many bald eagles and seals and even a sea lion right in front of our kaykas...he brought us around and gave us history and it was just a beautiful experience..I didn't even realize I was wet from the rain until we were getting back onto the boat, but then were provided with tasty smoked salmon and hot drinks! A perfect choice for an uncommercialized experience!

Thanks from Florida!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DUCKEE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southeast Sea Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Southeast Sea Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing