We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
146
43
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
43
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews five nights living area one night tidy room would definitely stay here again stayed nights lovely garden friendly and helpful owners twin beds great place to stay high standard nice stay thanks guys one bedroom apartment mt cook craig motel
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Was a lovely, tidy room. The hosts very friendly and helpful. Only downfall was probably that trains ran at all hours of the night (close by the Motel) and I was woken a couple of time by the noise. Apart from that, (if you are a deep sleeper), I would recommend it. Pool was also very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you very much for your review. The whole of Ashburton has a train track running through it so no Motel unfortunately can escape that I am sorry. I see you also we to Speights Ale house and had a lovely meal there. I hope you used you 10% discount by staying with us. It is nice to be able to work in with the local restaurants. We hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Ashburton is an easy drive from Christchurch and I decided to stay there for the night rather than drive the whole way back.
The hosts are great and the place is nice - a nicely renovated older motel.
It very was easy to get to Christchurch airport from there. Really wouldn't have any issue with staying there again.
Only small issue was it was a really hot night and it was difficult to cool the room down. But I think it would have been the same anywhere - it really was a very hot day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you very much for you feedback. We have had a couple of hot days lately and have fans avaialable now for those situations. Our motel is officially qualmark 4 star Plus rated for the quality of the renovations. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We have just returned from five nights at Taylors Motel. We rented the two bedroom house attached/separate from the motel. This is a large, clean well equipped house. There was only four of us but with pull out beds available this could nicely accommodate a team. Couldn't speak highly enough of the customer service. The beds were comfortable. It is close to the railway line but this didn't bother us in any way. About a 5 - 10 minute walk to supermarket and a drive to central shops.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy Nosh Cafe and the Somerset Grocer. We have a wonderful town with lovely restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

Staying here was a very pleasant experience. Clean rooms, beautiful gardens, great pool which was greatly received on a hot day! Kaye is a great host too, nothing too hard and went out of her way constantly! Will stay here again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you Kaye is fantastic. A one of a kind. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and the pool as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

When the bridge at Whanganui was damaged, we were unable to travel down the West Coast, so had to quickly change our plans. We booked a night in Ashburton at the last minute and ended up pleasantly surprised by the immediate friendly welcome. From the free wifi to the complimentary cup of coffee, we were made to feel so very welcome to the area.

Thoroughly recommend Taylors!
Be warned though! 'Tis near the train line!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback. We are sorry you stayed due to a natural disaster but were glad we could be of assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews