We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ecolodge on the Motu is the place to be in Bora”
Review of Bora Bora Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bora Bora Ecolodge
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Ecolodge has 2 locations, one on the main island and one on a private islet that they call Motu. We stayed at both.

The Ecolodge on the Motu is the best compromise between beauty, comfort, and authenticity. It is THE place to stay in Bora for people who would like to experience the real feel of the island without breaking the bank, outside of manicured luxurious impersonal resorts. The islet is tiny and the views from each side are just breathtaking. The bungalows are so spacious, clean and subtly decorated. Each has a private terrasse with a dreamy view on 2 other motus and on the island of Bora over a perfectly crisp clean lagoon with different shades of blue. Best view on the island hands down.

Michel and Chantal are the perfect hosts and they make you feel special. They are operating the pension with a deep respect for the nature surrounding them. The ecolodge is self sustainable with cold showers obtained from rain or desalinated water. Electricity is mainly solar. The couple takes pride in operating their pension as ecologically friendly as possible.

You can literally walk to a coral reef nearby. Swimming and snorkelling is awesome. You can also paddle board and borrow Michel’s transparent canoe to explore the beauty of the lagoon. You can also just relax and enjoy being se secluded in a little piece of paradise.

If you book a day trip like the lagoon exploration trip, they can easily pick you and drop you off at the motu. Michel also offers free transfer from and to the main island or the airport.

You can choose to get meals full board or half board (breakfast and dinner). We had the half board and managed to prepare our own lunch during the 3 days that we stayed there. The food is delicious. A good mix of polynesian and french cuisine prepared with love and care by Chantal.

Wifi is available with an extra charge, but who needs wifi there?

On the other hand, the guesthouse on the main island is average. The location is not ideal. It is on a murky side of the lagoon, pretty far from all the beaches, grocery stores and all the action but the friendly manager (Michel and Chantal’s son) is always happy to get you to wherever you need to be, so it turned out not to be an issue. The wifi is only available close to the reception area. The bungalows are also average, somewhat weared off and humid, small with a kitchenette right in front of the bed which is not ideal for the smell.

Breakfast is awesome, with french baguettes, home made jam, cake, fresh tropical fruits, the works A+. It is a good place for transiting travellers but not for long stays or for people who would like to experience the real beauty of Bora Bora.

We had an awesome stay at the Bora Bora Ecolodge on the motu and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask Michel to let you feed the small baby sharks that come to visit daily :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
14  Thank NadiaStoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I have been at the Eco Lodge for 4 nights during our honeymoon. The lodge is quite nice but very different from the big resorts you see in BoraBora. it's like living with the family that manages it! the food is very good, fresh and always different. The family is nice and kind in giving info and bringing you to the beach or to other places.
the main beach is almost close, 15 minutes walking but you can also rent a bike, a very nice way of visiting the island! the prices are low compared to all other resorts, but the lodge gives you the possibility to make boat tours as all other hotels are doing but with reduced costs... and you will see exactly the same things!!
It's a different way of livin the island and the honeymoon, we suggest it just for few nights and for an adventurous stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ValeDan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Free pick up at the port upon arrival, very friendly welcome! I stayed three nights at the main island Ecolodge in Bungalow number 4 (right next to the lagoon). Bungalow is a little run down, but clean - very simple accommodations. Free wifi is great, but is only available up by reception (ie not in your bungalow and not on the dock overlooking the lagoon). I ate dinner one night, prepared by Caroline and it was EXCELLENT! Fresh and delicious, served in front of my bungalow next to the dock.

The price is definitely the best part about this place, and it's nice and quiet, but don't expect anything more. Very basic accommodation at a great price on a very expensive island.

I'd given 4 stars but the location really is terrible. There is absolutely nothing nearby - beach, market or otherwise. Also, the property doesn't have bikes so expect to walk A LOT. Market (about 30mins walk), Matira beach (about 40 mins walk). Bring good walking shoes!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Really lovely bungalow on Bora Bora. Run by a very friendly and welcoming French couple (Michael and Chantelle- I hope I've spelt their names correctly!). We started out honeymoon on Bora Bora and weren't disappointed. Michael picked us up in our own boat from the airport and took us to their own Motu! We were the only guests there at the time so we literally had our own island! Our bungalow was basic but clean and beautifully located. We were literally on the beach by the lagoon and I had two v peaceful nights sleep listening to the water. Breakfast and Dinner were provided and were both lovely. Michael made sure we could go on a lagoon tour and we paid a lower price as we were staying with them. They made us feel at home with a very laid back atmosphere. We only wish we could have stayed a bit longer! This to me seemed a much better option than a very commercial excessively priced bungalow, owned by a large company. It was much better value and no one else could say they stayed on their own island!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitri P, Gérant at Bora Bora Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013
Google Translation

un grand merci pour ce commentaire !!nous gardons un merveilleux souvenir de votre passage
tres cordialement
Michel et Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent 4 beautiful nights in this faboulous place.
The lodge is near matira beach, the best beach in Bora Bora! It's 3km away, but Caroline will drive you there every time you want! She was so kind to drive us to the market more than once also.
We strongly recommend half board: breakfast is abundant and genuine, with home made yogurt, marmalade and muffin, fresh fruits is a must. Dinner is tasty and vary, from fish to chicken, composed by three plates: entree, main plate and dessert! Caroline will serve you meals at your own bungalow, so that you can enjoy everything with a scenic sea view.
You can use kayak directly from the lodge, or enjoy snorkeling without going to the beach. We recommend the visit to the private motu they advice, it's worth the price (you will have a complete lunch included, it will be served on the private beach).
Bungalows have fridge and kitchen, so you can arrange the lunch easily on your own.
Free wifi!
In the end, we strongly recommend this lodge :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank madaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bora Bora
4.2 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#11 of 17 in Bora Bora
281 reviews
1.9 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
1.4 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Blue Heaven Island lodge
Blue Heaven Island lodge
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
122 reviews
2.4 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
19.7 km away
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bora Bora Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bora Bora Ecolodge

Address: 12 Pk | Anau, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bora Bora
Price Range: $161 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bora Bora Ecolodge & SPA is the first establishment of the network of the same name. This is a guesthouse with 6 bungalows plus a private island with 3 bungalows. Our rates are the lowest in Bora Bora! From 7900 cfp per day per bungalow. The all inclusive is possible from 9900 cfp / person / day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bora Bora Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing