We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$1,590
US$1,502
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$632
US$597
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Conrad Bora Bora Nui(Bora Bora)
US$840
US$730
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$693
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$701
US$627
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$768
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Blue Heaven Island lodge(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Sunset Hill Lodge(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$88
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveller rating
499
407
223
142
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
407
223
142
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandeco tourhurricane baroverwater bungalowmain islandour honeymoonfishlocal marketfrench polynesiasmall fridgereception deskromantic dinnergrocery storebreakfast and dinnerhamburgerlounge chairsmacaroons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

There was much to love about our stay at the Sofitel. The hotel grounds are well kept, the restaurant was good, and the service was warm and welcoming.

Our only complaint was our own choice of room - opting to go for a garden room, as we were planning to be out diving for most days.

The garden rooms were dark, dated and while providing glass sliding doors to let the light in, opened directly to a relatively high-traffic path around the resort. The room hardly detracted from the stay, but in the future we would opt for a lower traffic setting.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TKScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, General Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach ! We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our little piece of paradise. Please, be sure that we will take your feedback in consideration in order to improve our guests experience. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Bora Bora is rather expensive so it's worth the extra to have an over the water cabana, at least for a couple of nights. I would have liked a bigger opening than 2X6 or 7 feet and underwater lights at night, BUT it was great fun to look through your glass floor as colorful fish nibbled at the pilings for their breakfast. Snorkeling is amazing when you can just walk down the stairs of your private bungalow and step into crystalline turquoise water filled with brilliant fish, graceful stingrays, and if you're lucky, a sea turtle. A private outdoor shower is an added bonus along with comfortable padded lounge chairs in shade or sun. Included breakfast was excellent with a marvelous array of tropical fruits besides a number of exotic and standard hot dishes. Dinners were good and the traditional dance shows were a bit different and better than many we saw and included fun audience participation and free photos with the dancers. Spectacular views from every corner of the hotel, amazing sunsets and friendly cats who are quite picky but would love to share a tasty morsel of fish from your plate completed this delightful stay.

Room Tip: All over water cabanas are lovely
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BigAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, General Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Ia Orana,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We booked a bungalow that was half on land, half on the lagoon. It was in an excellent position with a view of the Sofitel private island and lagoon, while getting the morning sun (which made it perfect for lounging in the afternoon shade). You can swim to the main part of the resort, and Sofitel has its own coral garden. You can see quite a bit there -- gars and even a few different types of puffer fish. We also saw an eagle ray.

The staff are very friendly, and while the bar and food prices are not exactly modest (even for French Polynesia), the views and the shows are well worth it. The hotel is also situated close to a market, a few restaurants, and so it does not feel as isolated. (The local market is impressive with how much it stocks in such a small space.) Most of the bungalows are just off the road, separated by part of the lagoon and a privacy fence, so you do hear the noise from domesticated animals (roosters, dogs). As well, the locals live right next door (not sure what the ethical relation is here as the locals may have been put out by Sofitel buying rights to the lagoon, which then would have impeded their view and access). But the locals are very nice, and when paddling by they will say hello (Ia ora na).

Two things to note: 1) per other comments, yes, the hotel can use a revamp. We had a few non-leaking holes in the straw thatched roof, and a few of the deck planks looked very old. I understand the hotel is going through a renovation in March 2018. 2) the music at the bar is repetitive; good at first but the tracks need to be changed out. In fact, many times no music would be ideal.

The hotel navette (water taxi) from the airport is expensive but actually worth it. You get a view of the eastern side of the island as you head in, you get greeted warmly by the staff and welcomed to the resort by music and a conch shell horn.

One final note, there is a distinct lack of warning about sea urchins. Even very close into shore, they abound -- softball sized with short spikes. So be careful.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bungalow at least partway on the water.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, General Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort ! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Our experience of Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach was generally outstanding. We opted for a cheaper Garden View Room, which in fact was well in sight of the beach and really only 20m away. The room was quiet and spacious. The staff were helpful on arrival and did a great job of welcoming us. Our three nights were very pleasant. Our only disappointment was after we left (for the Private Island), the New Years Eve spectacular was very ordinary... food overcooked and way too much Polynesian dancers. That aside, breakfast selections were excellent, service with booking tours was fantastic, 'free' drinks in the bar fridge, poolside bar was so chilled out (only a handful of kids), and dinner at the restaurant (apart from NYE) was sensational. Snorkelling off the beach was really enjoyable. 'Supermarkets' 5 mins down the road were handy for cheaper food and wine. Anyway, well done to all staff for making our stay so relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, General Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort ! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Maururu !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My husband and I came to Sofitel Marara for our Babymoon during New Years Eve and was horrified of the condition of the hotel and the customer service. We only stayed here once, and came from the InterContinental Moana and after we stayed at the Softiel, went to Le Meridien. In comparison to the two other resorts, Sofitel Marara is out dated, food is mediocre to say the least, slow service and had very bad customer service. We booked a beach bungalow and when we checked in, there were tiny piles of sand-like particles on three different parts of the room. We were told by our greeter, Anita, that it was dust that fell from the ceiling and was told that she'd request a maid to clean up. Needless to say, the maid never came. Additionally, we noted that there was a piece of sheet that was hung above the bed. As we were wondering what it was, we heard particles fall on the sheet. Wifi connection was also horrible, we couldn't even load emails or send messages near the reception. That night, we paid $530 for a NYE dinner and was very unsatisfied with the quality, variety and freshness of the food.

The next morning before we checked out, we wanted to grab lunch at the restaurant. We had a full hour between check out and our taxi pick up, and we waited this whole hour for our food to come. It never came before we left. When I inquired about our food with one of the waitresses, I was faced with attitude.

Overall, very unsatisfied with this resort and will never choose to stay here again. Will not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
5  Thank CeeceeW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear CeeceeW_12, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort. Your feedbacks are very important to us! Please, be sure that we will take in consideration each point you mentionned in order to improve our guests experience. We would like to sincerely apalogize for any inconvenience you had during your stay. Thanks again to have choosing us for your stay in Bora Bora. Maururu !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews