We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is beyond amazing! The ocean view was stunning! The staff, grounds, beach, food, location..everything was perfect. I loved feeding all the cats and dogs and fish. The beach was beautiful here and the coral was amazing! There were sooo many kinds of fish to see. Tropical ones, eels, stingrays, eagle rays and even an octopus or two......all within a few meters of the shore. I saw all these creatures without even putting my head underwater! We loved the restaurant right on the beach. So beautiful and relaxing. The beach was always so clean and it had a lot of equipment free to use. You can kayak to the coral gardens quite easily (for free) The location of the Maitai was perfect too. There were lots of place to eat and activities to do. The water at this hotel was incredible too look at! So Beautiful:) I also have to mention that our bed was the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. We stayed at the Maitai for a week and then stayed at Le Meridien for another week. Except for the rooms I did not see a difference between 3 and 5 stars. They were both amazing. Also for everyone who says Bora Bora in general is extremely expensive....come to Canada! It's not much different. Bora Bora is supposed to be a once in a lifetime experience but....we will be back and we will stay at the Maitai again for sure!

Room Tip: Room # 78 had a perfect view and the most comfortable bed ever!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,121)
There are newer reviews for Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 244 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed for 6 days in February. The Mai Tai is clean, and well located. But my room was adjacent to other rooms being renovated, and the noise (from a router) was intolerable. I asked to be moved and the front desk staff refused. They said, "We have to prepare for the high season", seemingly at my expense. It was a ridiculous refusal as the hotel was nearly empty. I kept asking other staff and finally on the 2nd to last day, they moved me to another room with an incredible view. That being said, I would never stay there again. And the food in their restaurant is mediocre. I am a Tahiti regular and their place needs "help".

Room Tip: Make sure there is no renovation. This can completely ruin your trip.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank blusurf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. We had an overwater bungalow and requested one in deep water. We had #108 and not only was the view spectacular, we had an amazing reef directly under our dock. There were so many fish in that reef (and an octopus). Many times we could see them through our glass floor while in the room or from our balcony. We took a chance going in January and were very lucky since it only rained the very last day as we were leaving. We were also so glad we did, since there was only one other bungalow occupied on our walkway! There are several restaurants within walking distance, although dinner at our hotel was probably the best of the restaurants we tried on the island. We had breakfast there everyday too and you can sit out along the water. All the staff was so nice and helpful with any questions or arrangements we needed. There are complimentary kayaks which you can use for a short trip to the Sofitel motu, which has an outrageously large reef behind it. We also booked a lagoon tour with Keishi tours and Pierrot was able to pick us up directly at the hotel dock. The front desk was also extremely helpful in making our confirmation call for that tour. Lastly, our flight was not leaving until night and since the hotel was not full, they let us keep our bungalow for an extended amount of time so we could snorkel and shower before having to leave! I would recommend the Maitai to anyone visiting the island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CJLUVLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Maitai. People are great, food is excellent. Really a good choice for our honeymoon in Bora Bora. We did the Combo tour of jet ski+quad and it was amazing. They bring you for a tour around the island, and is worth the money. Generally, we believe that staying at a resort attached to the main island, rather than one at the outside motus, is a better choice because it gives you easier access to the amenities on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Guglielmo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked at Maitai for our honeymoon after reading others reviews here on Tripadvisor. Originally we booked a beach front room, but upon arrival we decided to upgrade to a bungalow. BEST MOVE EVER! We stayed in Bungalow 4, which we reckon is the best bungalow at the joint! Great little coral garden at the edge of our veranda housed amazing fish for our daily snorlking. The property is classed as 3 star, and from someone who is very picky about accommodation I was very happy with everything there. The staff were absolutely amazing and incredibly friendly. We organised all of our activities through them and they made everything seem effortless. Our stay included full board from a specific menu. Breakfast was an American buffet, and lunch and dinner came with entre, main and dessert. The menu was a bit small and we quickly worked out our favourites, but there was always a 'plate of the day' to keep things interesting. The food was good, not amazing, but good. If full board isn't your thing, there were at least 3 little restaurants within walking distance, and a great little super market to stock up on cheap(er) snacks and drinks. We bought beer and soft drink from there (to go with the duty free vokda we brough along with us). If we ever have the fortune of going to Bora Bora again, we will definitely be staying at the Maitai again.

Room Tip: Bungalow 4 is the best one! Full board is a great option as food is very expensive on the island
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank F K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.5 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
5.7 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
274 reviews
7.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
7.9 km away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $221 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing