We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pension Alice et Raphael
Nearby Hotels
US$1,533
US$1,447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$981
US$930
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Conrad Bora Bora Nui(Bora Bora)
US$773
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$884
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$650
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$789
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$401
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$1,572
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
108
16
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
16
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachmain islandpolynesiamotuparadisemoorea
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This remote eco resort is a fantastic getaway for those looking to get "off the grid". We stayed for a week at the Four Seasons followed by a week at Chez Alice at Raphael, both very different experiences but equally as good! This pension has access to two wonderful beaches, kayak, windsurf and stand up paddle options. Intimate, great service and quality customized local food but not for those looking for air-conditioned, bug free place with turn-down service with chocolates on your pillow... Four Seasons is great for that! We think of this place as high-end / luxury "camping". Alice and Raphael were attentive to our every need and helped customize an amazing week. We're planning on coming back next year!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MMCSTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I spent 3 nights at pension. Place and pension (very clean) exellent. I slept alone, no spiders. Peaceful, sun, sea, beach and excellent weather. Alice and Raphael is very nice and helpful couple. Alice is good cook, I had delicious fish. Hope I can come back some day... Paradise for a Finnish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeteFin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Positives:
- Eco-ness is impressive ie, hot water and electricity are consistent
- Shower unit and toilet are separate (still in the bungalow) and clean
- Stunning view of the Mt. Otemanu from the bungalow
- Dinner - Alice is a good cook
- Dogs - very friendly
- Clothes line outside, very helpful for hand washing laundry

Negatives:
- Lots of bugs, especially mosquitoes. There are huge spiders as well so not recommended for arachnophobes. I was at a different motu before this and never had a problem
- Totally reliant on Raphael to take you anywhere. NB: There are NO water taxis willing to drive to this motu after ~4p. In other words, you have no choice but to eat dinner at the pension
- Dinner - it's repetitive, usually raw/grilled tuna
- Breakfast - white bread and fruits only; it was just not enough fuel to go out and do water activities. Would have preferred that they asked what we'd like and we can pay for ingredients
- The property is right on the flight path so it can be loud
- Dogs - Had I known this in advance, I wouldn't have chosen due to my allergy to animals. One particularly likes to swim in the shallow end, which prevented me from swimming on their beach

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank zimalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphaelborabora, Propriétaire at Pension Alice et Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

- We propose for free naturel monoï repellent made in Tahiti.
Hotel use chemical treatment every days to kill mosquitoes
- We proposed 2 private companies for extra transfert
We propose transfert to the airport for 500 fcp then you take free shuttle to go to Vaitape
- I've cooked Tuna, srwodfish and Mahi Mahi for 3 diners
- Breakfast is bread, jam, butter, orange juice, fruits, tea, coffee, milk...unlimited and banana cakes when I have in my garden
- We can't guess for people allergy...they usually warn us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Given the repeated 5 star reviews on this site for this pension I am somewhat saddened to not to have shared that experience and surprised that others have also not had the same experience as I shall highlight below. 

To start I should add that pension Alice et Raphael is run by the former manager / hosts of Blue Heaven Island and many of my complaints below are repeated in the current Lonely planet guide to Tahiti and French Polynesia.  Before dismissing this as a one off, please do read that review as i deeply wish i had had this knowledge and had known it was the same people.

Firstly, alice and raphael are nice people and in agreement with other reviews here, her evening meals are lovely and the setting is lovely (but so is a lot of bora)...but the pleasantness does not compensate for the following:

- there is an abundance of mosquito's and bugs (e.g we killed 2 cockroaches in our bed even with nets etc) in the pension, and this really kills enjoyment and any chill out factor when bites keep occuring
- there is no air con and it is swelteringly / sickeningly hot
- combined bugs and heat make sleep problematic
- we were not prewarmed of their 2 dogs on the site, nice they are but this should have been highlighted before
- the pension is very basic (bungalow is just a bed and a bathroom with little space beyond), and no safe place for valuables
- no wifi
- Raphael did not assist with our request to see a Polynesian dance show and was quite bias and visibly upset when we went with Moana tours for our lagoon trips (Rapa was excellent and great value) and not his friend (lagoon services).
- when we tried to make alternate plans for a show Raphael was not willing to collect us, this really emphasis the issue that in such a remote pension you are so dependant on him, taxis would not go there at night
- breakfast had no selection variation day on day and was basic - just white bread and jam with some side fruit.  We bought our own ham and cheese to `mix` it up.
- our bungalows were not cleaned in our 3 days there, but a broom was dropped off without explanation in our room on day 2
- towels were also not replaced, we had to ask for fresh ones on our last day....they started to smell in the heat
- the pillows are disgustingly old and weathered, we would have thrown them out if we could.

I could add more but the flavour is there.  I am really puzzled why this place is so positive, as i was truly disgusted, disappointed and saddened.

There are many choices, I wish I had looked elsewhere

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
18  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphaelborabora, Propriétaire at Pension Alice et Raphael, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are really shocked and saddened to read 2 very bad comments (for one couple), you were so friendly!!!
Why you didn't say anything during all your stay (3 nights)???
It was possible to change (call an hotel for exemple) if it was so HORRIBLE for you?!
What a pity you didn't speak with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The best pension that we had in Polynesia. This nice young couple will welcome you with the smile in a small paradise. We really enjoy the fact that it is a quite place : private island with two beaches and only 2 rooms. The place is new and very clean. Bungalow are directly setup on the beach. Alice is a very good cooker and Raph will help you to find the best & nice people to discover Bora and organise your favorite activities. Highly recommanded !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank olivier_cabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews