We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Nearby Hotels
Conrad Bora Bora Nui(Bora Bora)
US$772
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$879
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$724
US$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$537
US$510
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$789
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$400
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sunset Hill Lodge(Bora Bora)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,572
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,279)
Filter reviews
2,279 results
Traveller rating
1,911
225
81
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,911
225
81
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicete pahuoasis poolsushithe miri miri spapersonal butlerfar nienteaparima barcouples retreatgolf cartpremier overwater villaour honeymoonfishmain islandjean georgesfour seasonsswim up bar
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 2,279 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We were met at the airport by the very friendly staff and taken on the hotels boat to the resort. On arrival we received a refreshing mango drink and cool towels. That really was the start of an amazing service experience from every member of staff that we met. It really was an exceptional standard of service, from the restaurant staff, the butler service( bringing coffee to your room very morning) the bar staff to the maintenance staff. The food at every restaurant was superb, and there was enough to choose from. There is no doubt that everything feels expensive, but it cannot be easy to get basic things to the islands, and if you come here you should be ready to accept it. ( We stopped converting)
Having the bikes to cycle around was great and the golf cart pick ups were essential especially when it rained. The list of rainy day activities was only shown at reception, which could have been announced better.
We had an Overwater mountain view bungalow which felt huge. The sunset views over Otemanu mountain were brilliant. The outside decking area is lovely with sun beds and a seating area with a table. The lower deck has steps into the lagoon. Inside the huge bathroom, bedroom and living space were more than we needed.
We organised several trips before we arrived which we booked through the hotel online and were all fabulous, lagoon service, aqua scooter, jet ski and 4x4 island trip. The weather held out most days for us to enjoy the trips.
We heard people from other hotels would come to St Regis as our restaurants were much better. I would definitely return to the St Regis if I ever get the chance, I loved it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Directeur général at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Alison B,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of our overwater villas with views over the iconic Mount Otemanu but also that you had the opportunity to try our different restaurants, where you find the food quality to be superb with a wide range of options. Thank you also for your compliments about the service provided throughout the hotel, which makes us feeling very proud of our day to day job.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. The entire team is looking forward to welcome you again at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort whenever your travels bring you back to Bora Bora.

Yours sincerely,

Richard Schilling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This could not be anymore of what we were looking for. Service was outstanding and laid back at the same time. Food was exceptional, everything was amazing. The property was special, and we loved borrowing the bikes every day to go snorkelling. While the hotel did have allot of guests we felt almost alone here with very few people around where we went. Would come back here and recommend always.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kml17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Directeur général at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear kml17,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort.

We are delighted to acknoledge that you had a wonderful time among us and could enjoy all the facilities including our bikes, snorkeling at our private Lagoonarium and experiencing our restaurants. Thank you for highlighting the quality of the food and the service.- One of our staff priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and well-organized service, thank you for taking the time to recognize their efficient work.

Once again, thank you for this very positive review. We deeply hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at The St. Regis Bora Bora, in our remote paradise!

Yours sincerely,

Richard Schilling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We planed and reserved our room 11 months ahead and had better experience then at Four Seasons(which is was very surprising). Only few things bothered us , the response from e-mails by Julie (the Manager's Richard) assistant. She was rude and obnoxious with answers to accommodate, but Richard still did up on our arrival with our rooms needs.
Only things also we did not like we saw few dead cockroaches and bunch of lizards were running out of control in the room.That needed to be taken care for sure.
We got an upgarde on the room for larger Villa, which is greatly appreciated! But early in the morning we could hear rats were running on the roof back and forth, terrble feeling. When we addressed the issue about rats, the front manager were not surprised. His response was well roaches and rats is quiet normal, we are on the island. Wow! Then charge $500 per night, not $2500 for God sake!
We would not quaiet reccomend this hotel. It's over rated and frankly pretty expencive for what it is.
Do youself a favor , go to Maldives, much better experience.

Room Tip: Lagoon room felt more relaxing , but Villas much larger and more private
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 44natalyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Directeur général at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear 44natalyav,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay at the St. Regis Bora Bora Resort. We are sorry for the delay in answering to your comments posted on Tripadvisor on February, 6th and 11th.
In August 2017, you emailed us and talked with Juliette, my personal assistant, to discuss your future venue at our hotel during Christmas/New Year’s Eve.
We confirmed your two different bookings for one-bedroom villas for your whole stay. The first five nights in an Overwater Villa and the last four nights in a Reefside Garden Villa with Pool. You requested several times to have a one-bedroom villa with two bathrooms. We clearly explained to you that we did not have any one-bedroom villas with two-bathrooms at our resort. We do have a two-bedroom villa with two bathrooms, which you declined to book due to the additional cost. You arrived on December, 30th 2017 and on January, 4th2018, a villa with two-bedrooms became available. Since you were staying quite a long time, we were happy to offer you this villa without any additional charge.
Our butler, Che, was looking after you every day during your stay. He does not remember you telling him about problems with cockroaches, rats or geckos. Furthermore, I met you on several occasions during your holidays and you advised me that everything was going well. We are very surprised by your comment as we are very proactive with our clients who have any kind of issue, while staying at our hotel.

Please accept my apologies if you felt that my Personal Assistant was not able to confirm immediately the possible upgrade in advance but the festive season does not allow us to do so.

Kind regards,

Richard Schilling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I have been saving for this trip for five years. It was the top of my bucket list. The St. Regis and butler service are among our favorite experiences in New York. The customer service is impeccable - and because it was the St. Regis brand, I hoped that our Bora Bora experience would be comparably top notch. We planned and looked at reviews, but until you get here, it is hard to know what to expect. Hopefully this review will help those of you planning your bucket list trip.

Our room, overwater villa Mountain View to be exact, was fabulous. I could be picky and point out a few 'disappointments' in terms of our room appointments, but the ambiance is spectacular. We used bicycles to get to/from the main part of the resort, which was actually quite enjoyable. On rainy days (more to follow), we called for golfcart 'uber' service and they were always on time.

The staff were delightful and accommodating. The pool service attendants brought pillows and waters, and could not have been more helpful.

However, I sadly can't give the St. Regis a five-star review(3.5 but can't do the .5) A few reasons...

1. Once you arrive at the resort, be prepared to be more or less "stuck". The St. Regis does offer a complementary once-a-day shuttle to the village/downtown (shuttle = 7 minute boat ride, then 20 minute bus ride to "downtown"). It leaves the hotel at 11 AM, and you arrive back no later than 2 PM. This means you have two hours in town. We were lead to believe there were shuttles during the day and night for us to get to some of the restaurants and have more than 2 hours to pearl shop - but, at least during our stay, there was only one shuttle. They could arrange the boat to take us--$75 for our group of 3 with a taxi that was $80. We learned there was a staff boat that goes to the dock every 45 minutes during the day--but only for staff. It would have been nice to have had additional options.

2. Once you land, the St. Regis charges you a transport fee to the hotel. Now that would be ok if you had other options to get to the resort--but the airport is on an island!! and there are no taxis to take you to your hotel. So you have to take the St. Regis boat--all hotels have boats at the airport--and so the greeting is nice and you get a flower lai, etc. but for the amount you pay for the St Regis you would expect this to be included in the cost since you have no other (obvious) options. We knew of this cost before we left but the explanation was this service was provided by a third party--but we were on a St. Regis boat that docked at the St. Regis, run by people with St. Regis logo shirts.

3. We knowingly traveled to Bora Bora in the rainy season, and we were overall VERY lucky with weather. However, it did rain our entire last two days (out of five total). However, the St. Regis did a poor job of communicating "rainy day activities" - we only learned the weaving demonstration and bar happy/game hours third hand at the end of the day. I would have expected a rainy day itinerary to be included with the news in our morning coffee delivery.
Furthermore, we did not even learn about these options even after our ATV tour was canceled and there was no offer from the concierge to find/book other activities for that day despite the rain. Just a call to say it was canceled. Again this is the St. Regis and I would have thought they would have gone above and beyond.

4. DO NOT ATTEND THE TAHITI SHOW. This was in large part our fault as we did not confirm how much the show was when our butler made reservations. However, we were led to believe this was the only restaurant open that night (not true, at least the sushi restaurant was open). The night for 3 of us cost $500+ without drinks--and the food was poor and the show amateur. Such a huge disappointment/and the one thing we would change for sure if we were coming back.

5. While the butlers could not have been nicer, the service itself lacked personalization or consistency. Remember the butler service was one of the reasons to pick the St. Regis over the Four Seasons. I recommend setting up your butler service for the entire week on your first day. However, be sure to confirm what is/is not included in your service. There are inconsistencies on what is printed and communicated, versus reality.
For example, a menu in the room says "complimentary beverage service all day" next to coffee, and our 'check in' butler told us coffee service was complimentary all day. However, when we called to order coffee in one afternoon, we were told it would be charged as not free after 12 noon.
Our coffee service was delivered wrong two days. Of course, none of this is life and death, but I expected it to be seamless. Also, and this is where I compare my experience to the St. Regis in NYC, there was lack of offer to go "above and beyond" to accommodate some dietary restrictions. My daughter is dairy free (made known to the butler on Day 1), but we were told there was no dairy alternative for coffee on the resort. However, when we went into town on our last day, there was soy and almond milks available. I know that the butlers in NYC would have run to Duane Reed next door (in fact they did this on Christmas morning!), and would would have expected the butlers to arrange someone to pick up an almond milk on their way to the resort one morning. Again, this is being extremely picky, but I would expect the St. Regis experience to be consistent worldwide.


I am so glad I can check off Bora Bora--a true paradise-from my bucket list. It was worth the 24 hour travel! It gave me just enough time to detox from my 20 hour work days. We are off to Tahiti this afternoon for a few days. Reviews to follow.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
12  Thank Virginia22102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, General Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear Mrs. Kennedy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review today on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the St. Regis Bora Bora.
I would be most grateful if you could send me your telephone number so that we may discuss further about your experience at our hotel. My email address is the following: Richard.schilling@stregis.com.

Your answer will be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Richard Schilling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

My stay was spectacular! I have a travel agency in Brasil and after being in so many places I have never had such an experience.
The people are sooo friendly sooo nice, and our butlers were simply amazing. CHE and SEBASTIAN were the coolest guys of all times. They made all the difference in the world. Helping us with just about everything. We went to all the restaurants in the resort and it was one better than the other. The French restaurant on top of the shark tank was truly an amazing experience, great food, great workers, just amazing. Our villa over the water was impeccable. Sparkling clean, very spacious and super comfortable.
So I definitely would recommend for people with great taste.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Diego R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Directeur général at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Diego,

Thank you so much for sharing such a glowing review about your recent stay at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your large overwater willa but also our different restaurants, especially the Lagoon by Jean-Georges, our Signature Restaurant. Thank you also for highlighting our staff efficiency.With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations and we are delighted to know that we succeeded in making your stay unforgettable. Thank you also for mentionning Che and Sebastien's hard work and friendliness, who proudly represents the St. Regis Butler Signature Service.

Muito obrigado, we deeply hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort !

Your sincerely,

Richard Schilling
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews