We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Utopia Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Blue Vision Diving Hotel(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jaz Lamaya Resort(Marsa Alam)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$118
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Solaya(Marsa Alam)
US$226
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,034)
Filter reviews
1,034 results
Traveller rating
282
436
171
97
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
436
171
97
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset barbungalow roomwere greeted with cold towelsgreat diving schoolflat breadfishbeach bungalowanimation teamegyptian notesneighbouring hotelbeach restaurantpatio doorsdiving clubel quesirlarge hotelthomas cookthe guest relations manager
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,034 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Utopia beach resort what can i say but a very comfortable pleasant place for a holiday. The staff were all very friendly from lowest to highest especially the guest relations officer Ali nothing was to much trouble, if you had a hitch he would get it sorted no problem.
The complex is quite big but does not feel it unless you have a room as we did right on the edge of the complex don't get me wrong room was great but was quite a hike for breakfast, coffee etc.
The main swimming pool was excellent!!! warm, clean, inviting (did not want to leave it).
The food menu is great if you are there for a week but does get rather samey for a fortnight (be good if that could alter slightly).
The only 3 downsides we could see were: the lighting on the paths in the evening could be quite a bit brighter as paths are uneven, and would be nice if they had a permanent coffee machine at the pool bar, you either have to get covered up to go into lobby area for one or walk down to the sunset bar for one. Lastly the lobby area in the evenings could be really hot could do with more air con or fans to keep air flowing.
But all said and done the place and the people were great, would I go again? YES.

Room Tip: If you are going for the snorkelling then a room/bungalow type on the beach is probably best for you. But all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear guest

Have a very nice day from Utopia Beach Club

We are glad to have from you your feedback coming from your last stay in our hotel and also we would like to thank you for your comment about our hotel,we are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your vacation,and about what you have mentioned we will discuss the lighting and the coffee machine,about the air condition in the lobby we it already but it will go on in the summer not in the winter.Thanks a lot and hoping to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Booked 1 week at Utopia last minute ( with Thomas Cook) and got a good deal, only our second visit to Egypt, prev stayed at 5 star beach resort in Sharm so bar was set high !.

Airport experience ok and xfer good but do your research about the visitors entry visa (we booked last minute so couldn't do it on-line) we took US $ as everything we read led us to believe the currency was acceptable and the cost was $25per visa, however the guys taking the money (when we were on the xfer bus) were not happy and wanted $30, preferably £30 (the extra 5 $/£ was the 'handling fee'), we held out and paid for two in $ and one in sterling but I could help felling ripped off.

Arrived at hotel around 8pm and were warmly welcomed, we were grateful for smooth check in process and cooled face cloths to help us freshen up, our request for our 2 rooms fairly close to one another was met without any issues. Rooms (107 & 144 ) spacious, clean and comfortable, but awaiting refurbishment so a little ‘tired’. Downside to 107 was that being on the ground floor and fairly near main restaurant and lobby, quite a few guests passed our patio doors meaning we had to keep curtains closed for most of time, advantage was it was very easy to bring an early morning cuppa back to room :o).

Grounds of the hotel are very attractive and well designed, the complex is huge but it doesn’t feel like it, several pools to choose from and lovely walk down to beach, both pool areas and beach have plenty of sunbeds and sunshades. Wind breaks on beach are great (made of natural materials so blend in nicely) as wind quite strong at times. Sea quite warm (mid March) and great for snorkelling, gentle slope into sea make access easy and safe - loads of fish, interesting swimming over the coral, the highlight of the trip was to snorkel with the dolphin who was in the bay all day, totally relaxed and not phased by the divers and snorkelers near by - a magical experience and so natural.

Food is plentiful and there is a good variety, you can get something to eat somewhere from around 06:30 to around 22:00 !! Dinner choices wide ranging - chicken and fish on menu every day (cooked in different ways) but we also had beef & duck, pasta and sauce cooked to order which was nice. Local wine drinkable and beer ok. Egg station popular at breakfast (choice of scrambled, fried or omelette) several other hot and cold options and a huge choice of bread and pastries, leave room for the freshly made waffles . Lunch is available in beach restaurant, again nice choice of salads and dressings usually with fish or chicken (chicken shawarma our favorite) however best element is the freshly made flat bread, several types (plain, sesame, chilli, poppy seed, garlic) only problem is trying to resist repeat visits !), delicious freshly made pizza available later in the day, then tea, cake and freshly made pancakes. All the staff are friendly and very helpful, built up great rapport with head chef, a very interesting and extremely likeable man and a credit to the hotels management team.

Sunset bar is great place for a beer on your way back from beach or a pre/post dinner drink (cocktails only 2 euro - mojito very nice).

Animation Team work very hard to provide activities and evening entertainment, Magdi was particularly talented & friendly with a great personality, he was deff the star of the group and led the fire show and the 'walking on glass' as well as beach volleyball and the aqua aerobics. I tried yoga on the beach and the aqua aerobics in main pool - both good fun, boule and darts also available, Fire Show was definitely the highlight of the week. Website advertises a gym, however at the moment this is just a (new) running machine, set up in the spa looking out towards beach, no air con so only managed 30 mins at a time, new gym is being built and should (i think) be ready for the summer, Utopia guests can use gym at neighbouring hotel (10 mins walk away), however equipment very dated and in poor condition - no air con or views either so not a pleasant workout .

Thomas Cook rep very good, no hard sell of trips etc, booked snorkelling boat trip from Port Ghalib with Blue Wave - can highly recommend, lovely boat (wifi and free massage), excellent crew, 2 opportunities for snorkelling (all equipment available on boat) saw turtles, coral reef and loads of fish, nice lunch and plenty of soft drinks available all day. Did scuba dive taster with euro-dive (based at Utopia), Marion our instructor was incredibly patient and reassuring, the centre also has buoyancy aids and snorkles for hire,

Overall we had a fabulous week (hotel etc as good as Sharm and sea/beach/snorkelling much better), unbroken sunshine, temperatures mid to high 20s and hotel not fully occupied so nice and quiet, would deff come again, in fact have already checked out refurbished beach view rooms which look great.

Positives -
Every single member of staff polite, helpful and very friendly
Felt very safe, outside areas well lit
Outside areas well kept and spacious
Close to beach and snorkelling conditions excellent
Nice food and plenty of choice
Several places to refil water bottles so cutting down on plastic waste (fresh water in rooms every day as well)
Perfect weather

Slight negatives -
Pads for loungers probably due to be replaced (a little bit grubby but ok with a towel)
Daily visits from guys trying to sell spa sessions (over priced)
Would be nice to have a choice of places to eat in the evening (as part of all inclusive) maybe themed ie traditional Egyptian, mexican, al la carte etc.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms, beach bungalows looked great
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fabatfiftyCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear guest

Have a very nice day from Utopia Beach Club

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback coming from your last stay in our hotel ,we also would like to thank you so much for your kindly comment and nice words about our hotel,service,rooms,staff and animation team and as you mentioned that we will open as soon as possible our spa with a new gym and we are planning to open another two restaurants Mexican and oriental.so next time you will have the choice in the evening,hoping to see you soon in our hotel.

Thanks a lot and best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Recently returned from the Utopia and only have great memories! Check in was efficient, room fine with good view, cleaning standard good.

All of the staff were friendly and courteous, service in all areas was excellent, special mention must go to the customer service manager Ali who obviously enjoys his job and runs the hotel very well, he tries very hard to deal with any complaints whether trivial or not.

We found our week especially relaxing as there was always somewhere quiet to sit and enjoy the surroundings.

The food offered was well up to standard and some of the meats available at the additional evening cooking station were superb, especially the lamb.

Always lots of choice for mains and a superb dessert offering every evening.

Entertainment was of usual 'animation' standard, but again they tried hard.

Thanks for an memorable, relaxing holiday, we will be returning.

P&J Burchett

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank desm0748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear guest

Have a warm greeting from Utopia Beach Club

We would like to thank you for giving us your experience coming from your stay in our hotel and we would like to thank you for your wonderful comment about our hotel and we are very pleased to have your comment and we will be happy when you come back to our hotel next time you will feel as you are in your second home.

Thanks and best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

I was in Utopia beach resort with my frind from Egypt and my daugther and son in law also from Egypt.
We enjoyed the stay very much. Especially the kindnes from the people working in the hotel.
The animatie Lili and Padro where very nice and good animationprogram. They try to make the guest happy every time. Arafat from the management / reception was very nice and respectfull to me and other quest. Asrafh from the spa very nice and good. Ahmed from the shop always kind and helpfull and nice. The food was excellent and the rooms redecorated with see vieuw. Very nice. Beautiful riff for snorkling too. Easy to go into the water. 5 stars i give to the hotel and environment. I will recoment this hotel too my frinds and others who are interested to stay in Utopia Beach Club.

Helena van Rijsoort

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Heleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear guest

Have a very nice day from Utopia Beach Club

Thanks a lot for giving us your experience coming from your stay in our hotel and also would like to thank you for your nice words about our hotel ,our animation team and our our staff looking for your second stay in our hotel

Thanks and best regards

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

My wife and I stayed here in February for 2 weeks and had a great time. We had not been to Egypt for a few years and were really glad to return.
We had one of the beach bungalows and it was lovely, quite a good walk from the main hotel which we enjoyed, looking at all the plants and birds. The room was well equipped, clean and modern, and very peaceful, suited us just fine.
We had fantastic weather while we were there and spent all our days on the beach next to the restaurant. The snorkelling was excellent, saw some fantastic fish and rays, the coral was quite badly damaged though from years of people not respecting the reef.
The staff are fantastic, from our room cleaner, to the restaurant staff, to the lovely ladies who made fantastic pizzas and breads at the beach restaurant, and the gardeners. They are all a credit to the hotel and helped make our experience a great one. A special mention to Ahmed Kamel, thanks for your friendship and sense of humour.
We set out to have a quiet, relaxing holiday and that is exactly what we had, hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend paying a bit more and staying in one of the beach bungalows, it was really worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank micksue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali K, Guest Relations Manager at Utopia Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear guests

First of all welcome back to Egypt and have a very nice day from Egypt and from your favorite hotel Utopia Beach Club .

We would like to thank you for your wonderful comment about our hotel,rooms,beach,gardens food,staff and service.
we are waiting for your next visit to our hotel

Thanks and best regards
Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews