We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McKinley View B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talkeetna Hideaway(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meandering Moose Lodging(Talkeetna)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
48
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchjams and jelliesa great place to staynext morningown bathroomstay there againreneerodpondmttalkeetnapropertyalaskafutonhosts
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2014

I reserved this place when we couldn't get what we wanted in Talkeetna. It's a wonderful, reasonably priced B&B just off the highway and very easy to get to, yet it's just far enough in that it seems secluded. It's quite a large, beautiful property with plenty of parking. Renee is so friendly and easy to talk to, you feel at home right away. There is a guest computer downstairs which came in handy. She serves a full, delicious breakfast with various homemade jams, including fireweed which was fun to try. She asked the night before if there was anything specific we needed or wanted which was very considerate. The room was very clean and had everything you could need. Unfortunately, there is one negative which I must mention. We were three adults in the Wolf Room. Although, the website says it can accommodate three, it is really very tight quarters. More importantly, the third person must sleep on a futon. Even though it was nicely made up, it was extremely uncomfortable to sleep on. We were only there for one night, so it was ok, but would not have been for more than that. I would not recommend it for an adult. However, in all other respects, this is a wonderful choice for the area. It is two hours straight up the highway to Denali and we left a little later than we had wanted to as we were enjoying the breakfast and conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank VivSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to Denali National Park from Anchorage and found it very comfortable. It was very exciting to be able to see Denali, or Mount McKinley if you prefer, the evening we arrived. Renee went out of her way to make us feel welcome and breakfast the next morning was delicious. A great place to stay and very conveniently located off the Parks Highway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stonellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Don't miss out on staying here if you are headed by Trapper Creek. We could not have chosen a better place. Renee and her husband were so hospitable we felt like we had known them for a good long while. We got the rustic effect of Alaska (which we wanted) along with a nice wholesome, clean place to stay. Every room has a theme as well as it's own bathroom! yea! Beds were very comfortable and I loved having the walkout porch for each room. The food was out of this world. A lot of the jams and jellies were made from her garden and the fresh strawberries were to die for. On top of all of this, Renee was a wealth of information about the area and gave us a great insight of what it is like to live in Alaska. I LOVED hearing the stories of how they chose to come to Alaska. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is fabulous! As soon as we walked in we felt like we were at home. Wished we could have stayed more than 1 night here. Renee and her husband made my sister and I feel so very welcome. And breakfast? More like a feast- eggs, bacon, toast, fresh fruit and jellies from the area. And it was all wonderful. We had the moose room and the view of the pond, the lush field and Mt McKinley in the distance are picture postcard perfect. Very convenient to Talkeetna. We would go back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Moose room has a deck with view of pond, meadow and Mt Mckinley
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TexasYaYaSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few weeks ago. We decided to break up the trip to Denali and stayed a night in Trapper Creek. Renee gave us great ideas for dinner. We were the only guests that evening and breakfast was still a full spread which included fruit, eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast, homemade jams, coffee and juice. Despite my boyfriend's hearty appetite there were still leftovers. If the clouds aren't in the way the view is spectacular. The accommodations are top notch. Talking with Renee over breakfast was like catching up with an old friend. Definitely a great place to stay and only 20 minutes from Talkeetna or 2 hours from Denali.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate_4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews