We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copper Queen Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audrey's Inn(Bisbee)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
19
25
29
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
25
29
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond floorspirit roomcafe restaurantroosevelt roomlive music in the barhotel buildingjohn wayne roomking roomghost tourclaw tubbed was comfortablehot waterstep back in timevisiting bisbeerooms are smallthe staff was friendly and helpfulmodern conveniences
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

I asked for the best room available and it was a decent size for $200. but was a very uncomfortable stay. The room looks like it was last updated in the 80’s and is worn and neglected looking. We could hear every word spoken in a neighboring room and their TV at 8am Sunday morning. There is no way to shut light out of the room and it’s brightly lit when the sun rises so it’s hard to sleep. The headboards on 2 beds are loose and squeak loudly with every movement. One bed had a big dip in the middle. The bathroom window had shards of glass hanging from disintegrating packaging tape, a quick fix done a while ago. Place needs an overhaul.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for your input. We are of course updating the hotel. The hotel had fallen into disrepair over the past decade under the previous owners unfortunately. However the new owners, who purchased the hotel in January 2017 immediately began renovations. The dining room and kitchen were the first product tackled and we have had a lot of feedback about the need for curtains particularly in the Double Queen Specialty rooms which have more windows than other rooms. Currently we are looking for curtains that both match period requirements but also that will benefit planned renovations throughout the hotel. We would like you to invite you to return in the future and let us know what you think of the continued improvement we make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

This hotel has a lot of history and charm, but I would advise travellers to be picky about which rooms they book. Room 413 was very close to the worst room we have ever stayed in. The hallway outside smells musty, and once you get in the room, you are assaulted by that same musty, overheated smell. The sole window is no larger than 18x24” and is up by the ceiling; it can’t be opened. The air conditioner helped with the temperature and the odour. The room itself is small though the bathroom is a good size. You must go down to the second floor if you want coffee in your room, and breakfast is not included. I know there are better rooms, because you can see them from outside!
I would also recommend that if you wish to eat in the dining room (which looks charming), and if you are staying on any kind of holiday (we were here on February 14), make sure you reserve in advance. Our hostess could not seem to tell us flatly that the room was fully booked that night, just that “we’ve had a lot of reservations,” and that “we’ve stopped taking reservations.”

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. As you know our hotel is historic and in the early 1900's room size was not as big a consideration as it is today, so our rooms are a lot smaller than one might expect to find at modern hotels. We do however try to make them as nice as possible for our guests. If you do find you are not satisfied with your room accommodations please feel free to contact the front desk staff who would be happy to try to improve the situation and provide you alternate options. As you can see from our newly renovated dining room that we are committed to restoring the hotels former glory. The dining room was the first step in that process as the new owners were not satisfied at all with the state of the kitchen and dining room when they bought the hotel in early January 2016. Having completed that renovation we are now moving on to the rest of the hotel. We plan to continue the renovation process with each room and hope to have the entire hotel completed within the next 5 years. We have also recently purchased new mattresses to replace many of the old ones and are working on putting coffee makers in each room. As far as the restaurant, it is correct that on holidays we are busy and you will need a reservation. For Valentines day we had been taking reservations for a few months so we were quite booked. Hopefully in the future as we continue to renovate the hotel you will come back and let us know what you think of our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Loved to finally go to Copper Queen restaurant. However, I was disappointed. Waitress was very disorganized. Serving beverages of ice tea,cola and water for 7 was difficult. Many back and forth trips. Menu was just ok. $12 for burger and fries was a bit high. Caesar salad which was just salad mix from a bag dumped in a bowl wasn't even served with a roll for $9. I think a meal in a special place should be more special and have better service and food.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank TravelingYoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hello and thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your visit. We are, of course, always working to continue the training with our staff to improve the experience of our hotel. We would also like to assure you that none of our salads come from a bag. Our chefs prep all of our food daily and everything served in the restaurant is made in house. Our Caesar salad is made from fresh cut romaine lettuce hearts and tossed in a fresh made Caesar salad dressing with house made croutons and shaved parmesan and served in a hand painted bone china bowl. Traditionally a Caesar salad is not served with a roll or any sort of side bread, however had you requested such a thing we would have been more than happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We should have known when we checked in when the desk clerk said "oh you are in those rooms - like what did we do to deserve it. Well, we ended up in the garden area in a room that was pet friendly. The first night wasn't so bad other than the walls were so paper thin that I could hear the person in the next room zip up his suitcase the next moring but the second night the people next to us had two dogs (they only allow service pets so I don't know why the pets were left alone). Every so often the dogs would start barking and howling loudly. I was so thankful when the owners finally came back after several hours and the barking stopped. I wish now we would have refused the room and asked for a room in the hotel building itself.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel features many different rooms and the ones you stayed in were the courtyard rooms. These are much more spacious than the rooms in the main tower and many of our guest enjoy that part of the hotel as it is typically quieter and more secluded than the rest of the hotel. If your room was unsatisfactory we of course would have been glad to show you alternative options in the hotel according to availability. As you stated these rooms in the courtyard are pet friendly and we do allow pets in the rooms for a small pet fee. We were sorry to hear about the dogs barking in the room next to you however if you had alerted the front desk we would have been more than happy to resolve the situation. While pets are allowed in our hotel it is unacceptable for those pets to disturb the experience of other guests. Guest satisfaction is our number one concern so hopefully on your next visit we can work together to make your Bisbee experience the best possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We arrived in Bisbee without a hotel booking. We ate lunch at the Copper Queen sitting on the terrace and it was very pleasant (albeit that the waitress gave my flatbread to another diner by mistake!). We decided to stay the night and Mr S. booked the John Wayne room, which was probably decorated when the Duke stayed there back in the 70's. The bed was THE most comfortable I have ever slept in and I didn't want to get up! I made a bad choice for breakfast - I chose the granola with sliced banana and fruit. What could be wrong with that? Well, the granola was so sweet that I couldn't eat it and I was kinda expecting some yogurt with it, so I asked the young waitress for some and she duly brought it. My other half opted for eggs benedict (wish I had!) and he said it was scrummy. I'd recommend this hotel, it was good to see locals eating there.

Room Tip: The John Wayne room has a really comfortable bed, but the decor is really dated.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenina_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would also like to thank you for your valuable feedback. Since you have stayed in the hotel we have improved our procedures in the kitchen to ensure that a guests food does not get given to the wrong table again. We look forward to seeing you back again as we continue to make more improvements all over the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews