We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Carefree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carefree Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This was the beginning of a long Harley tour for us and it was a great place to start it all off. An easy ride from the Phoenix airport with a shuttle. the rooms and clean and large and the grounds and very well kept. the gym is a bit small but the rest makes up for it.
The breakfast is less than what you would expect from a place of this character, but i guess you cant have everything.
in the end, its a good place and I would not hesitate staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Carefree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to our resort. We appreciate your business and kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 390 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Carefree Resort in January 2013. Overall, we thought everything went great for the weekend. Below I will break down each of the services we used and how we felt about them.

The wedding itself went great. Emily Kix was the Catering Manager, and she was awesome. She is a great person to work with and made the day go smoothly. There were only a few minor things that were missed or forgotten on our wedding day, but oh well.

For our hotel stay, we were there for 6 nights. Overall, as with other stays when we've been here it went great. The hotel rooms themselves could definitely be updated. They are very spacious and the beds are really comfortable, just a little outdated in the rooms. The hotel room lighting is very dark. They need to make the lighting brighter in each room.

The van driver Audrey was great. She is very professional and does a great job to make sure the guests enjoy their ride and their stay at the hotel.

My new husband and I will most definitely be coming back to the resort to relax and enjoy the surrounding restaurants and outdoor activities. Thanks to the Carefree Resort to an overall great experience with our wedding and hotel stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool I think are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineLover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My daughter and I came to this resort to get away, and it was seeming down as the weather was unusual for January in AZ, A lot of rain, immediately after we checked in a lovely lady name Audry, drove us to a local eatery, where we had a good time. Service was over the top; we are going back again because of her. Great Time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsGoldeelocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Picturesque location. Close proximity to quant western downtown of Carefree. Age of resort gave the common areas a rustic charm, which paired nicely with the southwest feel the resort was trying to capture. I was in an updated room, others I understand were a little rough around the edges. Service lacking, not lack of trying, just poorly trained.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I booked a three night stay and paid in advance before I read the reviews. That was a big mistake.
The reviews that rated this resort terrible outlined the problems. I am rating it poor as we have decided to leave after one night. Our package included valet parking. We could not find the valet when we arrived. At the front desk we found a clerk who was neither friendly nor helpful. We were supposed to have a room with a view. She put us in a first floor room. It would be an understatement to say there was no view. We complained and we were given a second floor room overlooking the pool. So, we did have a view.
Our room was spacious which was nice. The mattress and pillows were not up to standards.
But, the clincher was when we went into the bathroom and discovered a bottle of shampoo that was half full. In all my travels in all my years, I have never checked into a room with shampoo that had apparently already been used. What could be the possible excuse?
Even though we will not use two nights we have paid for, we feel compelled to check out after one night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cordpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#22 of 174 in Phoenix
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,532 reviews
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 3 in Cave Creek
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort

Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range: $218 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to let you know, the Carefree Resort & Conference Center is under new ownership who will be making capital improvements to the rooms and public spaces over the next few months. The first construction renovation will be in the Cartwright building beginning August 17th until November 3rd 2017. During this period, we expect minimal interruption to the guest experience. We apologize for any inconvenience but want you to know the resort will be fully operational during this period. Just North of Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona lies a desert gem, the Carefree Resort & Conference Center. Here you can embrace the Southwestern lifestyle in total relaxation. It’s a place of soothing and simple spaces with uncluttered panoramic views of the Continental Mountains. Play tennis, enjoy the Spa, or simply relax at the pool with a margarita. For couples, families or groups, Carefree Resort & Conference Center is a year-round destination that truly lives up to its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carefree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Resort And Conference Center
Carefree Hotel Carefree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing