We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
81
71
28
19
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
71
28
19
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel tiffany glass beautiful lobby pancho villa the upper floors an older hotel flat screen marble pillars arizona saddle
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

This beautiful historic hotel built in 1907 was purchased last year by a young couple from Douglas who are restoring its splendor and adding modern touches. The spectacular art includes sculptured columns and brightly colored and detailed stained glass. It definitely merits a visit.

The lobby is very inviting with a white marble staircase. The guest rooms are large, comfortable and nicely affordable. The large outside patio and lobby restrooms have been fully remodeled in an attractive Art Deco look. More remodeling projects are planned. This hotel would be an excellent venue for a special event.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Wanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

You will think you have walked into a movie set!!! What a treat - the owners are gracious and enthusiastic hosts. The adjoining bar and restaurant were a real plus/ food pretty good with a real Mexican flare. This is a border town, with direct access to Mexico. Staff helpful and friendly We will be back! The Erlangers

Room Tip: Try the jaccusi suite - very roomy
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

The new owners have done a great job of reopening and refurbishing the lobby area and 20 of the rooms on the second floor. The lobby area is stunning even including a museum highlighting the many famous visitors. We had lunch in the Cafe off the lobby and enjoyed it a lot. I would encourage you to visit here and enjoy the trip into history of Douglas Arizona and the City of Douglas.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

My family and I went for lunch. The dining room was clean and neat. Service was okay. Our food was fresh and tasty. There prices Were reasonable. We took family pictures as their property Is beautiful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank lenora a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

The person at the front desk was very rude and Nosey. She wanted to know our personal business. I know it is a small town but Please nosy lady it is none of your business who is with me. I paid for a hotel room for two people not for an investigator to ask who I am sleeping with!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa L, Owner at Gadsden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Our establishment is a 20 room boutique type of hotel that is family owned and operated. For the safety and security of our guests, employees, and family, we reserve the right to know who is staying with us. When multiple rooms are rented under the same name, we may inquire as to who and how many guests especially when not all parties are present. We also require ID at check in and do not allow another individual's ID and credit card to be used if they are not present. In addition, we monitor the activity of the lobby traffic and only allow registered guests to enter after 9 p.m. We apologize that we were not able to meet your needs. We will be enhancing some of our disclosures so that when making a reservation you know what to expect when staying with us. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews