We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really tasty breakfasts”
Review of The Highlander

The Highlander
Ranked #11 of 40 Restaurants in Grahamstown
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

I recently went to the Highlander for breakfast with both family and friends. My favourite is always softly scrambled eggs, and I have found a new favourite restaurant to serve them.

The eggs were done to perfection and the mushrooms were perfectly prepared.

My only reservation was the Nespresso coffee, but I think I would be in the minority there. :)

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Travellinggypsy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

the new bar downstairs is really nicely done up...old farm style with lots of open space, warm and relaxing...very impressed

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely family restaurant on the edge of town, away from the hustle, yet not quiet. They had a great buffet dinner special offer for the NAF and we made good use of this offer. The venue is something different with heaters for those chilly outdoor nights and sofas for post dinner relaxing and sipping on your coffee. Good value for money in an "upmarket" restaurant in Grahamstown.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Joharney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Great food. Great ambience. Setting is very nice, friendly staff. Huge roaring fire during cold winter evenings. Food and service great

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank MikeK4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Everything about this place was unfortunately a real let down. From service to accommodation. Service was terribly slow. We eventually had to call a waitress for a menu, call her to order then call her again for more drinks, then again for the bill. Accommodation was very basic. Towels were thin. Rooms cold. No extra blankets. Floor dirty on arrival. Keys didn't work. One room had an electric blanket the other did not. Parking an issue. All in all just not up to scratch. Paying what we did was not worth it. Hope they up their game as it has huge potential

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank ClaireC673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highlander also viewed

Grahamstown, Eastern Cape
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape
 
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape
 
Grahamstown, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Highlander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing