We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
372
41
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
372
41
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts spa bath attention to detail lovely garden breakfast was excellent wonderful stay fat fish beach bag eggs benedict local knowledge helpful hosts b and b comfortable rooms robberg nature reserve garden route cooked breakfast home away from home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our hosts Adrienne and Bernie welcomed us on our late arrival making us feel at home and safe during Covid. Each breakfast during our long stay was different from their varied menu, with my favourite their speciality of Eggs Benedict. Our room was spacious with the in-room lounge perfect for catching up with the office when needed. As a couple we loved the cupboard space in the dressing area. The rusks in the coffee station shows Adrienne’s touch of added home comfort for her guests. Bernie was wonderful with suggestions for activities, alternatives depending on the weather, demonstrating his knowledge of the surrounding nature and things to do to maximize your holiday time and enjoyment.
The beach is 3mins walking distance from the guesthouse giving you the convenience of the beach, but none of the early morning noise. Don’t forget to relax next to the pool at the bottom of the garden, it sets this guesthouse a step above the rest and turns your holiday into continuous relaxation.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hungry-Princesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne Esterhuyse, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this comprehensive review - wow such great information for any prospective guests. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad you felt comfortable with our Covid-19 protocols. As mentioned there was plenty to do around Plett while beaches are closed including just relaxing at our pool or playing a game of Chess or 30 Seconds on our patio! We hope to see you again soon! Warm wishes from us both- Adtienne and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020

We had the privilege of staying earlier in the year at Bayside Lodge - What a magic place . Bernie and Adrienne your hospitality is superb , likewise the accommodation not to mention the breakfast ( so yummy). Definitely the place to stay in Plett . Thank you once again .

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 65annaliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne Esterhuyse, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Dear Annalie - thank you so much for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Gosh your stay seems so far in the past after all these months of lock down. We really hope you and Mike will come and stay with us again soon. We know you are doggie lovers and we have a new rescue pup called Oscar for you to meet! We lost ten year old Champ in September and Daisy was so sad we had to get her a new companion. We are looking forward to our first guests arriving next week and trying out all the new Covid protocols especially during breakfast. We wish you both all the best over the festive season and once again thank you so much for this review. Warm wishes from us both Adrienne and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

We want to go to Bayside Lodge as soon as possible. So a warm and lovely place, the whole team made us feel very happy. Thank you! Especially the breakfast was unbelievable. And the managers were very kind and gave us lots of ideas to spend the day in Plettenberg.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomassurbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne Esterhuyse, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2020

Dear Thomas - thank you so much for your review which means the world to us in these terrible times of Covid-19. We really look forward to welcoming you back to Bayside one day when travel is safe and possible. We hope you and your family are well and happy in Zurich and enjoying the beautiful scenery in Switzerland. We are very grateful that we live in Plettenberg Bay and being able to visit Robberg Nature Reserve etc. as often as we like is very special! Wishing you all the best for the festive season and we hope to see you in 2021! Warm regards Adrienne and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2020

I've stayed at Bayside Lodge before so it was the first place I looked at to see if they had availability when I wanted to be in Plett. Fortunately they did! Adrienne and Bernie are incredibly friendly and helpful with recommendations for things to do and restaurants. They also have chairs and umbrellas that one can borrow to take to the beach. The breakfasts are superb.It's pretty much my favourite spot to stay on any trip to SA so hope they have a room for me next time I want to visit.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeanOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrienne Esterhuyse, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2020

Dear Dean - very many thanks for this review about your stay with us earlier this year. We were thrilled to welcome you back to Bayside as we love our repeat guests who know exactly what we are all about and what to expect. We do our best to exceed expectations and how kind of you to give us so many compliments. Let's hope you will be back one day when this pandemic allows international travel once again. We are ready to open no matter how long we have to wait! Warm regards from us both
Adrienne and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2020

We were staying at Bayside Lodge when the Coronavirus hit the world around us. We had to return to the UK before flights to and from the UK were affected.. Adrienne did all the flight changes and bookings for us in a most helpful and efficient way. We had to dash to Capetown for our flight home
and a Adrienne even arranged for our boarding cards to be on our iphones!!
Absolutely brilliant and a lovely place to stay. This was our fourth time.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 837bradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adriennee360, Owner at Bayside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2020

Dear J - thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us in March. Gosh it was a hectic time for everyone and still is. I am so glad we could help you get home to the UK and your family so quickly before lock down. We really hope you will be back to re-visit your favourite places in South Africa. We send you both our warmest wishes and best regards
Adrienne and Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews