We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milkwood Manor on Sea
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Plettenberg Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Robberg Beach Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tsala Treetop Lodge(Harkerville)
US$550
US$506
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge On The Bay(Plettenberg Bay)
US$280
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Villa Boutique Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurland Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$340
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel(Plettenberg Bay)
US$54
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plett River Lodge(Plettenberg Bay)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
615
184
39
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
184
39
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslemongrass restaurantrestaurant attachedcar washgarden routeevery morningsuperb locationindian oceansituated rightthe ground floorlookout beachfirst floorfantastic viewsguest housesecure parkingbeautiful roomrooms are spaciousbeautiful beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This was our 4th stop along the Garden Route. The Hotel is right on the beautiful Lookout Beach in Plettenberg Bay. The Hotel is clean and well-situated, though the room & bathroom are on the small side, and quite tired. I'd like a couple more frills for an alleged 4 Star. I won't go into what was missing here, but the standard just came as a bit of a surprise when compared with everything else we'd experienced along the way. But the staff were pleasant and the Hotel does benefit from a really very very good restaurant next door (Lemon Grass). We ate there both nights, which is strange for us. This is partly testament to the standard of the food and service, but also because Plettenberg bay isn't obviously near nor welcoming and there were very few other options for things to see and do close by in the evening. (The woman at the desk did tell us not to walk over to the next bay as there had been a spate of recent muggings). The Hotel is rather isolated — but that may be your thing.
So, if it had been our first Hotel I think we might have been happy, but as it wasn't, we weren't. 3*, I would have thought would be more realistic. Do try Lemon Grass— but ask for a hotel balcony NOT above the smells and noise of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Dear Mike L,
We value your comments, but would like to point out that although your standards may differ from others or even the Tourism Grading Council of Southern Africa, our establishment is close to all amenities with a 15 minute walk and a 2 minute drive to the town center. While you could reside closer to town you'd have to compromise on the beach-front location. Perhaps we have become complacent due to all the good to excellent reviews we enjoy from so many of our happy, returning guests, so we thank you for your constructive criticism and look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to visit again.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Wonderful location and views.Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful but it all needs some attention; bed was very firm, bathroom facilities need upgrading and wooden floor creaked badly. All just rather tired looking.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ataylo_946095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear ataylo_946095,
Thank you for your candor. It is so easy to become complacent when all the reviews we receive are good to excellent.
Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Wonderful location at seaside. Pretty unique to have B&B so close to beach !
Very polite and helpful staff at desk and in other positions.
Wonderful breakfast and it´s great to have Lemongrass restaurant affiliated, allows to enjoy nice wines without any need to drive or go by taxi !

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P1170ZQthomash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear P1170ZQthomash,
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The location is great - by far the best in Plettenberg Bay.
Thank you for mentioning the benefits of having an in-house restaurant; with the strict road laws we have in South Africa having no need to drive for delicious food and wine is such an advantage and truly an asset.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

An excellent place to stay with very helpful staff and a great location. We ate each evening in the adjoining restaurant where you also have breakfast. We used Milkwood Manor as a base for hiking on Robberg Peninsula and visiting Nature's Valley and Storm River.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grahamv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear grahamv2018,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your Milkwood experience. We're so glad that you mention three of our favourite activities which we call day-trips! We constantly write obout these excursions on our Facebook page if you'd like to add a few comments there for future intrepid explorers. Hopefully it won't be too long before we can welcome you back as friends to our shores.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We loved this hotel/guest house. Definitely want to go back. Amazing spot, very friendly service and nice restaurant. It's a wonderful beach, and the hotel is right on it!
Only problem is we couldn't book it again when we wanted to return a few days later as it was full..........

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank drglister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear drglister,

Such a shame we couldn't book you for an few more days. We really enjoyed having you visit.
Thanks for the comments and reviews.

The golden beach awaits your footprints in the sand.

Kind regards,
Milkwood Manor on Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews