We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
185
57
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
57
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench chefclean kitchenbook excursionsgarden routefew minutes walkwelcoming placetwin roomfillet steaknice gardenplace to staysecure parkingstayed here for nightscomfortable bedswe loved our staypleasant stayself cateringdorm
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

More motel that backpackers. Large, high spec, beautifully clean rooms in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the centre. Helpful, friendly reception staff, excellent breakfast and a really chilled out vibe. Nice bar and outside area to relax in. Would highly recommend this hostel, and Plett, for a place to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Stephanie

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We do appreciate it so much and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindest regards
The Nothando team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Prices are very reasonable and there hasn't been a single problem with our rooms or any other thing during our 3 days stay.
But the thing about this place is the homey feeling you get there. Staff is very nice and professionnal. The central courtyard and the lodge are welcomy and perfect for chilling out in the evening. Drinks are quite cheap and it's been a pleasure chatting with the general manager, Elvis. He's a neat guy and does a wonderful job making people feel at ease, like at home. It's been nice meeting you, mate.
By far the best backpackers I've experienced in this country

And I also love their dog.

Kind regards

David Martin-Calle

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Toutata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear David

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Nothando. We enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Elvis
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This backpackers is by far one of the top ones I've been to, I believe it's rated 5 stars by the tourism board and It most certainly delivers on it's expectations! From the chilled vibe to the good food. Everything about this place was great. It's also close to the Main Street where you will find tons of shops and restaurants. Elvis who was in charge at night sorted out our every need and the rest of the staff we met were nice.

We stayed in a dorm room which had an en-suite bathroom and parked our vehicle inside the premises. Everything about the place is very clean and well kept. Highly recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Warren,

Thank you so much for your wonderful report on our establishment: Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We take great pleasure in running our Lodge and happy, content guests make us very happy.

We hope to see you again at Nothando.

Kind regard
Elvis
(General manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The stay at Nothando Backpackers in Plett was really great. Its just a 3 min walk to the Main Road with a lot of restaurants and Shops. We even Walked to the beach (down the hill, 10min). The Double ensuite room was really good, clean and safe. Parking the Car is on Site. We liked it that much we decided to extend the stay. The staff is doing a great job! Thanks to Elvis for the nice talkings at the Bar in the evening!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Nothando, and hope to see you again.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Spent 2 nights here & really enjoyed the stay.
Really warm welcome from Elvis even though we didn't arrive till 22.00. The room was spotlessly clean with lovely soft towels provided.
We were given a map of the area , details of the free wifi & directions to the places we were visiting the following day.
The way the property is split between dorms & private rooms made it quiet & the parking was safe.
The availability of breakfast & evening meals at an extra cost are helpful although we were out & about & didn't try them.
The chance to hire beach towels in a bag with a fully refunded fee on returning them was another good feature
Loved Nothandos & Plettenburg Bay area , hope I get the chance to come back one day

Room Tip: Dorms seem vibrant & full of life for a quieter stay book a private room all are great value
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babooshkaphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Good morning. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate that you took the time to write a review.

Please come and visit us again.

Kindest regards
The Nothando Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews