We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, decent food”

John Dory’s Summerstrand
Ranked #136 of 417 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Enjoy flavourful, authentic fish, grill and sushi offerings in a fun, family-friendly environment. That’s why everyone loves John Dory's Summerstrand
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

This is my secind restaurnt in two days where we had to wait forever for our food. There were 4 tables and it seemed like everyone was waiting. All the customers were disgruntled.
The tables were sticky, the restaurant wa very hot(aircons was off).
One of the xlients had to ask for the bill after waiting to long.
When we finally got our food it was suprisingly good.
Just a pity it took ages to get it.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Proffesionalfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Marketing at John Dory’s Summerstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Dear Proffesionalfoodi,

We are sorry to hear that the service was not up to standard. Your feedback is much appreciated.

If you wouldn't mind we'd like us to discuss this further, please forward this to customer-care@johndorys.co.za and we'll get in touch with you.

Hopefully, we can turn this around for you.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

John Dory’s Summerstrand is just AWFUL!!!
I have visited on numerous occasions - all experiences were sub-standard.
John Dorys Summerstrand have an agreement with the city lodge next door - and are the available dinner option.

Service is pathetic ! Waiters don’t pay much - attention to you if you are from the city lodge.
Atmosphere is dark and dingy. Yolanda (last visit 27/11/19) was the absolute non- brand ambassador - she was rude and aggressive. Then ignored us for the rest of the evening. She proceeded to bring cold food to the table. When asked to take it back to be warned - I felt like she was going to beat me up
as how dare I ask for warm food.
Tables are grimy and sticky.

Food is nothing to write home about - that’s being kind!

They offer a delivery option - but thus is worse than the sit-down option . Often , the order is incorrect , cold and just plain horrible.

John Dorys Summerstrand really need an overhaul.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank nalinees09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory’s Summerstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2019

Dear Nalinees09,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so sorry to read that this was your experience at John Dory's Summerstrand.

We appreciate your feedback and would love the opportunity to work on your review so that we can rectify your experience at our restaurant.

If you could kindly provide us with this feedback by sending an email to customer-care@johndorys.co.za along with your contact details so that we can hopefully, turn this around for you.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Warm regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019 via mobile

Average seafood restaurant in Port Elizabeth, Sushi okay, deep fried prawn burnt. This service was attentive, not castle draught as advertised

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Mike_G6308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory’s Summerstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Ahoy Mike_G6308,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are sorry to see that you did not fully enjoy your experience with us at John Dory's Summerstrand.

We would like to discuss this further with you, please forward this review along with your contact details to customer-care@johndorys.co.za and we will be in contact with you shortly.

Sincerely,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

had dinner for 1 at JDs. This was the second time I had been there. The layout of the restaurant has been greatly improved - far more spacious and better lighting . Nice atmosphere. Service was excellent. Sushi - had 4 make rolls - very nice. Mains was the new special. Steak with scampi (prawns). Unfortunately the steak was covered in a non descript sauce with 3 peeled prawns on top. The steak was on the thin side was was perfectly cooked. The prawns were very firm and fresh- delicious - could have done with a few more. I recommend they be served separately with a sauce of choice on the side.The highlight was the roasted vegetables - superb - best I've ever had. For the vegetarians this is a must. The creamed spinach was Ok. Beer excellent. All in all a good improvement from my previous visit.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pcaige910267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory’s Summerstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Ahoy Pcaige910267,

Thank you for your great review of John Dory's Summerstrand. We're so happy to hear that your food was a hit!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
John Dory's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2019

This Branch has an excellent location on the seafront but is let down by the scruffy, rundown appearance ( torn vinyl benches, peeling paint etc.). The atmosphere is speak-easy and decor basic. Service was pleasant but very slow. Food was passable but only just. Probably the worst branch of this chain I have visited.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank halcyonbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_Dorys_Fish, Guest Relations Manager at John Dory’s Summerstrand, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Hello Halcyonbp,

Thank you for taking the time to review our store.

We would appreciate the opportunity to get in touch with you directly to discuss your review further. Please email your details to customer-care@johndorys.co.za so that we may get in touch.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Warm regards,
JDs Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John Dory’s Summerstrand also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to John Dory’s Summerstrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.