We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the canals & ocean”

Waterways Bed And Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francis Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterways Bed And Breakfast
Reviewed 16 August 2015

St Francis Bay is one of those hidden treasures. Beach. River. Canals. Waterways is one of the only B&Bs close to all three of those. The property is as authentic as it gets: Thatch roof, whitewashed walls, beautiful garden and kayaks that guests can use to explore the canals, or to paddle to the beach. Julia and Hilton welcomed us into their home, and were an amazing source of information about the history of the area, and local activities. We stayed in one of the ground-floor rooms, looking straight out onto the canal. Waking up after a good nights sleep and having a coffee overlooking the water was one of those perfect holiday-moments.
Sadly, we were not able to stay longer - there are definitely enough adventures here to keep you busy for quite a while.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2015

The location is very special. Canals on one side (in front of your room), the lagoon and ocean on the other side. The furniture and decor are old fashioned, but nothing wrong with it. The bed is of good quality. The outdated small TV is of poor quality. The owners are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna-Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

I spent two nights at this wonderful location, on the waterway at St Francis Bay, with my wife, her sister and brother in law who had come out from the U K to spend time with us.
We arrived in the afternoon, after a harrowing trip through Baviaanskloof and were made so welcome by the owners, Julia and Hilton.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable with spectacular views across the waterways/canals.
When we had settled in and decided to go out and explore the area, and get something to eat, they were a wealth of information, giving us clear directions, and recommendations for places to eat.
The breakfast both mornings was excellent, with Hilton operating the coffee machine, and Julia cooking the eggs and bacon to our exact specifications. There was fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and juice as well as the bacon and eggs. Nothing was too much trouble.
They organized a cruise on the canals for us, where the boat came and collected us from the jetty in front of the house. The boat owner was a wealth of information and should be a must for anyone staying at Waterways when the weather is nice.
We would not consider staying any where else if we were in the area.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This property is in a beautiful position on the Canals area of St Francis Bay ...the views are spectacular ..The room is well furnished with sleeping area with ensuite facilities also lounge area and kitchenette. The owners (Julia and Hylton) are a very friendly couple who made us feel very welcome.They are very knowlegable of the surrounding areas and gave us good advice about places to visit ...This place is definately value for money and we enjoyed our stay here and wouldnt hesitate to recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysBandB, Owner at Waterways Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

We have just upgraded tripadvisor system, and have picked up your review on Waterways. Thank you very much for the favourable review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards, Julia & Hilton Thorpe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a lovely stay at Waterways.
Location is so beautiful. The room is cozy.
The owners are very friendly and you can have a nice chat with them during breakfast.
St Francisbay is beautiful, but can be very quiet outside the holidayseason.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaterwaysBandB, Owner at Waterways Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for your favourable review on Waterways. We are only now making use of Tripadvisor, and have picked up your review very late. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope to see you here again. WIth kind regards, Julia & hilton Thorpe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Francis Bay hotels
2.3 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
108 reviews
0.4 km away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
184 reviews
2.6 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
178 reviews
4 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
167 reviews
2.2 km away
Sandriver Lodge
Sandriver Lodge
#9 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterways Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterways Bed And Breakfast

Address: 37 Shore Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing