We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room is in good condition!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Get a Single Ensuite Room on the return from Kruger NP. Price is reasonable as it is ensuite, with very clean room & shower, the toilet really nice, comparable to 2-3 stars hotel standard. Heater provided in the room too.
I saw the dorm area too, while looks standard, but they have many shower stalls inside, which I think it is necessary (unlike the problem I faced in another BP that actually on the same street).
Supposed to have free pick up, but the owner went to airport to pick up other guests though while I am in bus station. And when I called him up, he asked me to take taxi and shall refund. They did give me the refund, but not in full, as they have their own fixed charge for pick up, while taxi driver normally charge more.
Drop off to airport is not cheap though, but they are others who charge even more.
Transportation is Jo'burg is problematic!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2010

I cannot rate this beautiful lodge enough. It is run by an experienced manager and staff, it simply is the best place to stay in joburg. High standards of cleanliness and hospitality

On a daily basis the whole place is thoroughly cleaned. Heinz is the most pleasant host and probably the most respectful person I met in Joburg

Stayed here twice, will always stay here nowhere else is good enough!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nodiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Yvonne2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank LanderUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.7 km away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 121 in Johannesburg
73 reviews
7.9 km away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#10 of 121 in Johannesburg
99 reviews
16.7 km away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#1 of 121 in Johannesburg
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Diamond Diggers Backpackers
Diamond Diggers Backpackers
#53 of 121 in Johannesburg
5 reviews
4.2 km away
Once in Joburg
Once in Joburg
#1 of 1 in Braamfontein
74 reviews
10.7 km away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#7 of 121 in Johannesburg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghandi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: $37 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing