We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very finest in Johannesburg- flawless in service, location and style.”

12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Overlooking the vibrant suburb of Melville, 12 Stars boasts a perfect location and luxurious aesthetic. The apartments are furnished with deluxe modern décor with an attention to detail that creates a seamless harmony of elegance and comfort. The 12 apartments contain all necessary amenities; a fully equipped kitchen for self-catering, bathroom with curved bathtub, large shower and toilet and dining table and chairs. There is a lovely separate lounge area with a corner sofa and DSTV for a quiet night in and a sumptuous king sized bed perfect for two. We especially enjoyed the social but self-contained balcony that oversees the lively 7th Street of Melville; a suburb that is truly incomparable in modernisation and style itself.


From speaking to locals, I understood that this friendly neighbourhood had recently undergone a dramatic upmarket change and is now the city's epi-centre of arts and culture. There are a range of galleries, shops and eco-friendly cafes to lounge by day and enjoy a coffee. Local business owners and designers have introduced 27 Boxes down the road, which is the first ever shopping centre in South Africa built entirely of shipping containers and holds over 100 traders, all independently owned and adding to the inclusive and innovative ethos of the area.


If you dine outside of the apartment, you are truly spoilt for choice as Melville’s 7th St is home to an eclectic and high quality range of restaurants. Directly below 12 Stars Apartments is Lucky Bean, a local favourite with a flawless menu and a guaranteed great vibe. Poppy’s is another enjoyable place to dine with an excellent Mediterranean menu, lovely staff and very often live jazz accompaniment in the evening. If you are looking for a more lively night of cocktails and dancing, head up the street to Buzz 9 for burlesque shows and frolics or Xiu Xiu’s for an unsurpassed night of fun with locals and travellers alike.


Within moments of arriving into Johannesburg, you will be struck by the sheer energy and vibrancy of the city. Johannesburg itself is a melting pot of people, cultures, heritages, all to be explored and indulged. I would recommend Park Hurst for a classy night out and Sandton for the shopping experience of a lifetime. There is also the world famous Johannesburg Zoo and the Lion Park worthy of a day trip, and many incredible museums and Constitution Hill in the centre of Johannesburg.


With this in mind, 12 Stars’ central location and high class living is a haven of peace and comfort. Coming to and from the accommodation is effortless with 24 hour door service, your own front door key and car park attendant to ensure your safety. The staff were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. They do not usually offer housekeeping over the weekend but they were more than happy to spruce up our room when we asked and even popped out to buy us some wine for our dinner upon request! They are accommodating without being intrusive and i felt respected and appreciated as a visitor.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank LottieSeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for the first night of our reunion after 4 months apart. The apartment was clean, very spacious but still generously and comfortably furnished. The bed was luxuriant. The AC system worked nicely as did the large telly.
The location is really excellent. Our balcony looked over the main strip in melville. Its not right next to the bars, but it is on the same street, an you can chill with a drink looking out as the sun sets. Its then a very short walk to any of the vibrant bars in the area. You're always walking in the light for this hotel, so its secure.
We didnt make use of the kitchenette, there's so many options to eat out around melville, but it looked good and you could easily cook up a meal there.
The staff were friendly an helpful. The parking was secure too.
Breakfast at Cafe de la creme was tasty enough too.
We'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose the more expensive option, of the top floor apartment. It was worth it to have a balcony lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We travel a lot and this is one of the best furnished guesthouses we stayed in. Everything you need is there.
Very friendly and helpfull staff that made us feel at home.
This is a highly recommended guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoutonCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I'm only telling you about this place because I'm unlikely to come back to Johannesburg for some time. If I was coming back I would be keeping quiet. It's awesome. A fantastic fitted kitchen, modern clean bathroom, fantastic enormous bed - see picture - modern wardrobes, desk, lounge area with satellite TV, sofas, table & chairs, balcony, etc etc etc. Everything you need & more. Modern furnishings in superb condition. So good you're a bit scared to use them! Its warm in the cold Jo'berg July too. Breakfast is included in the price which you take over the road at the Bakery which is fantastic too.

It's totally quiet at night too.

I booked into Space Guest House, but as rooms were available in 12 stars, the wonderful receptionist Ruby gave me this great surprise at Space prices. So Space is R650 & this is R1200. Next time I'd pay the higher amount though, it's so worth it.

Melville is safe and lively, the Guest House is the best I've stayed in - and I travel a lot. Take my advice - book it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Okay, the check-in process can be disconcerting, you have to go to another guesthouse to get the keys for your apartment, and then you have to park your card in another yard, then walk (short-distance, I must add) to your apartment, so if you are tired, you will be unimpressed. That is before you walk into the foyer of this magnificent building. Every detail to make you feel at home has been thought of, the kitchen is amazing, the finishings are definitely top-notch, the bed, the bed, what more can i say about the bed, it is just the right size, then you have a lounge area with a television set, no TV in the bedroom!! I have decided this is where I will spend most of my time in Jo'burg! 7th Street in Melville is well known for the culture and buzz, and to be in an apartment where you can watch this life happening below, is pretty awesome!! If you dont mind the minor convenience with the keys and the car park, then this is the spot for you! If you arrive late, the guy waiting for you with the keys will make you smile, so its all good!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
9.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
351 reviews
10.7 km away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#160 of 300 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 123 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
4.9 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
450 reviews
15.6 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 Stars Lifestyle Apartments

Address: cnr 7th Street and 4th Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing