We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer Perfection - We will go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Sumptuously appointed guesthouse, opulent yet comfortable.
Perfect room with exquisite linens and extremely comfortable mattress.
Utterly attentive staff, Excellent spa treatments.

Would love there if they'd let me! :)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 99CityGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 410 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

The Residence really does everything well. The rooms and hotel in general are beautiful, the food is delicious and the level of staff service is outstanding. I couldn't recommend this hotel high enough. My only regret is not staying longer.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CHEEK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate it. Congratulations once again, you make an amazing couple. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you and wish you both all the happiness and success in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of our trip and again for 1 additional night at the end of the trip. We used the hotel's airport transfer both times and the driver was there waiting with a sign. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and very adequate. The beds are soft and luxurious. The food was a treat. Breakfast was included with our rate and we had a large spread of hot and cold choices. Dinner was outstanding and each of our entrees was worthy of a fine restaurant.

The only issue we had was with the televisions. They didn't work. On both stays we had to call the front desk and they sent an engineer. After much fiddling they were unable to get the TVs to work. After our first stay with The Residence I could understand that occasionally things like this occur. But after two weeks, to return to the hotel, in a different room, and find that they had still not corrected the problem is quite unexceptable. Hence, the 4 star rating.

We would certainly recommend The Residence and we enjoyed our overall stay very much.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TXFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really do appreciate it, as we continually strive to improve our product and services. We have investigated the situation and are glad to inform you that it was a remote control issue which we has been resolved. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We only had one night in Johannesburg en route from the UK to Botswana. The hotel stands behind a large wall in an apparently residential area. Entry is via a small courtyard and a small hall before coming into the hotel proper. We we're met by a manager and some of his staff who whisked away our cases whilst we were given a welcoming drink. Once formalities had been completed we were shown to a day room as we had arrived way before the normal check in time. This room was good enough by itself but after having a refreshing shower and changing into more comfortable clothing we were taken to our suite. We are lucky enough to have been in some very luxurious accomodation but the Madiba suite is way up there if not at the top. An exceptionally large bedroom and en
suite, large sitting area and a private outside area with plenty of seating both outside and under cover and a large jacuzzi. All very quiet and private. All the hotel fixtures and fittings are of high quality and very nicely presented. We took lunch and dinner on the terrace and breakfast in the restaurant. All meals were excellent and we could not have asked for better service. Alas, our stay was far too short and, too quickly, it was time to leave. Again, a small team was assembled to wish us well and we were quickly on our way to the airport. The Residence was great at but the best part of the visit was the staff. Everyone was friendly and professional and made us feel really welcome. As long as they will let us, we will be back as soon as we can. Thanks everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it, but more importantly are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Until then, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I am currently staying at the famous Waldorf Astoria in New York. The Residence has them beat hands down. I can't wait to get back to Johannesburg and stay at The Residence again. Truly, it is the best hotel I've ever encountered.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Twash513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it. More importantly we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
3.5 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.8 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 67 in Johannesburg
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
215 reviews
2.2 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
3.2 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 67 in Johannesburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: $330 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing