We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$194
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$178
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$97
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$153
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$88
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motel Mi Pi CHi(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premiere Classe Suites(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$305
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
770
56
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
770
56
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthouserolls roycehot tubpiano barpool villamadiba suiteprivate deckrooftop spaturn down serviceattention to detailnespresso machinekoi pondsouth africastayed longerlittle touchesmoment you arrivesitting room
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

The Residence really does everything well. The rooms and hotel in general are beautiful, the food is delicious and the level of staff service is outstanding. I couldn't recommend this hotel high enough. My only regret is not staying longer.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CHEEK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate it. Congratulations once again, you make an amazing couple. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you and wish you both all the happiness and success in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of our trip and again for 1 additional night at the end of the trip. We used the hotel's airport transfer both times and the driver was there waiting with a sign. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and very adequate. The beds are soft and luxurious. The food was a treat. Breakfast was included with our rate and we had a large spread of hot and cold choices. Dinner was outstanding and each of our entrees was worthy of a fine restaurant.

The only issue we had was with the televisions. They didn't work. On both stays we had to call the front desk and they sent an engineer. After much fiddling they were unable to get the TVs to work. After our first stay with The Residence I could understand that occasionally things like this occur. But after two weeks, to return to the hotel, in a different room, and find that they had still not corrected the problem is quite unexceptable. Hence, the 4 star rating.

We would certainly recommend The Residence and we enjoyed our overall stay very much.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TXFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really do appreciate it, as we continually strive to improve our product and services. We have investigated the situation and are glad to inform you that it was a remote control issue which we has been resolved. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We only had one night in Johannesburg en route from the UK to Botswana. The hotel stands behind a large wall in an apparently residential area. Entry is via a small courtyard and a small hall before coming into the hotel proper. We we're met by a manager and some of his staff who whisked away our cases whilst we were given a welcoming drink. Once formalities had been completed we were shown to a day room as we had arrived way before the normal check in time. This room was good enough by itself but after having a refreshing shower and changing into more comfortable clothing we were taken to our suite. We are lucky enough to have been in some very luxurious accomodation but the Madiba suite is way up there if not at the top. An exceptionally large bedroom and en
suite, large sitting area and a private outside area with plenty of seating both outside and under cover and a large jacuzzi. All very quiet and private. All the hotel fixtures and fittings are of high quality and very nicely presented. We took lunch and dinner on the terrace and breakfast in the restaurant. All meals were excellent and we could not have asked for better service. Alas, our stay was far too short and, too quickly, it was time to leave. Again, a small team was assembled to wish us well and we were quickly on our way to the airport. The Residence was great at but the best part of the visit was the staff. Everyone was friendly and professional and made us feel really welcome. As long as they will let us, we will be back as soon as we can. Thanks everybody.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it, but more importantly are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. Until then, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I am currently staying at the famous Waldorf Astoria in New York. The Residence has them beat hands down. I can't wait to get back to Johannesburg and stay at The Residence again. Truly, it is the best hotel I've ever encountered.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate it. More importantly we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed one night in The Residence having flown from Cape Town to Joburg before flying home to the UK.

We were collected in their Black Mercedes from the airport, which had complimentary water, newspaper and free wifi in the car (there were also refreshing wipes and I think chocolates!).

The hotel is stylish and individual; tasteful luxury rather than the bling you so often get nowadays (yes there were chandeliers, but they were the tasteful kind). I loved having tea from the antique silver teapots (they are even in your room). The hotel is a bit like staying in a wealthy friend's country estate or an elite gentleman's club. Lots of individual sitting areas with beautiful, comfortable furniture and no less than 3 pianos! Chinese cases and pots everywhere (with tasty sweets!), interesting books on tables, plants..... A tennis court and two swimming pools (one of which is heated), with comfortable sun loungers, towels etc.

Our "room' (Suite 9 but I think they will all be marvellous) had a large walk in wardrobe, separate seating area with settees, coffee table and chandelier, very large bedroom with dining table and chairs, large bathroom (bath, separate shower, 2 basins) and outside enclosed patio area with table and chairs, BATH and shower, also plants in flower. Enormous bed, huge pillows you sank into. Fridge with range of complimentary drinks (which is replenished during the day) instead of the usual paying mini bar where you get charged the earth just to hydrate yourself. Fresh milk in a jug in the fridge instead of those ghastly plastic longlife apologies for milk. Silver teapot and coffee pot, sweets, crystal decanter of sherry etc etc. Free fast WiFi in room and indeed everywhere in the hotel, pool etc.

Turndown service includes not just some tasty chocolates but also a mini bottle of liquor.

Evening meal one of the very best we had during our four weeks in South Africa - and we've been eating at the best restaurants.

Staff are so incredibly attentive; I felt we almost had our own butler! We asked for some water at the poolside, and they brought out chilled bottles of water - and dishes of berry sorbet! Again complimentary. They also include a free 15 minute foot massage for each guest; the spa is at the top of the hotel and my massage was on the roof terrace which had a wonderful view.

Check out should be at 11am, but they let us stay in our room until we left at 5pm for the airport (again no extra charge).

If you stay anywhere else in Joburg, you must be mad!

Room Tip: We had Room 9 (which is actually a suite) but I think they will all be great.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank relaxee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Thank you so much for providing us with your review, we really appreciate it. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and glad to hear that you enjoyed it. We trust you had an enjoyable trip back home and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews