We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel with some recent refashioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunnyside Park Hotel
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel is located in Parktown which is not a great area to stay in if you are on vacation. I consult at an office just down the road so it is convenient.

The overall atmosphere is of a hotel with some former glory. Now it is faded and looks rather tired and tacky. Some rooms have been modernized like the one I stayed in but earlier this year stayed in one that was not.

Buffet dinner is overpriced but breakfast was basic and as long as you can find a seat-okay.

Staff are polite bordering on disinterested.

Stay again? Yes as there are no real other alternatives.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

The reviewer who recently gave this venue a 5 must have been staying in a different room if not the different era that the hotel harks back to . . . My room was more like a long corridor positioned over the kitchen (smells) and adjacent to a large compressor system (noise). My window overlooked an extremely dank and dirty raised yard - so much for the advertised garden views . . WiFi was a joke and the business centre did not have a printer, so I was unable to print out the documents I required for an early morning meeting (staff tried the reception printer but the results were unusable). Missed breakfast due to the printer fiasco so can't comment on that . . .Yes the area is well positioned for business meetings - but there are choices . .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afrocentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Most things were marginal about this hotel. Rooms are OK, but after staying in two separate rooms over two week period, I had to call the maintenance several times. Pool was not heated, and not usable. The entire property was old and generally uninviting. Breakfast was good, but inconsistent.
Overall, I would suggest looking elsewhere unless location is a must for you. There are no other options that I know of in this immediate area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tcherniaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Staff were friendly and went out of their way to help, particularly with the several bags needed at the beginning of our month-long trip. The hotel has a warm, old-worldly feel. Lovely grounds and fine woodwork in hallways are well-maintained. Room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merryole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I stayed at Sunnyside Hotel for 4 nights in May 2011 for business travel and found it disappointing. Wireless access is spotty. No iron in the room (and put in a request to have one delivered but it never arrived. My toilet broke and I had to have a service man in my room twice. I used the gym everyday but the machines weren't very good. Also, the hotel is in a fairly remote location and they are reluctant to have taxis come into the grounds and instead always want you to use their shuttle service. The beds were great and the staff was nice. But overall a very disappointing experience. I would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
2.9 km away
Hotel QSL on 44
Hotel QSL on 44
#31 of 66 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
3.4 km away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Garden Court Milpark
Garden Court Milpark
#15 of 66 in Johannesburg
381 reviews
3.3 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
3.4 km away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Princess of Wales Terrace | Parktown, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: $124 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel, has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a bygone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing