We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B That Makes You Feel @ Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 300 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Rutland House has such a homey feel to it. Delia, the friendly and hospitable owner adds to the character of her beautiful plants and trees and the manicured lawn within the grounds of her B&B. Delia herself cooked the delicious breakfast for us and she makes it from her heart! The area is a quiet residential neighborhood that is peaceful and tranquil. We enjoyed our stay at her B&B. You should stay here when you're in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The Butterfly Room is a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecbmdpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. I enjoyed hosting the 4 of you for your last 2 nights of your epic trip around South Africa. I really enjoyed chatting to you and your enthusiasm for our beautiful country. Come again and I look forward to seeing you on your next round of travels. All the very best to all of you. Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

Friendly, peaceful 2 bedroom family cottage. Willing service and well situated for our school sporting purposes. Comfortable and clean. Cottage was suitable for our needs, private and away from any street disturbances. Undercover secure parking on offer for added peace of mind. An enjoyable, restful stay in the heart of Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Clean white linen. Cottage serviced daily and laundry service offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ticky2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you for your review it is really appreciated. I am so pleased the cottage worked out for you and I wish your son all the best in his sporting future. It was a pleasure having your family to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Rutland House is located on 48 Rutland Avenue, Craighall Park, Johannesburg, South Africa. Delia is property's hostess and has owned the business for 20+ years. Rutland House is situated some 30 minutes drive from the airport and well worth the drive.

The Rutland House property is spacious and green with flowers aplenty and impeccably groomed by a garden manager. There is a pool onsite which guests are free to use.

Breakfast was included in our arrangement and guests can choose to eat in the common area or just outside on the pool deck. Breakfast consists of eggs, bacon rashers, fresh fruit, grilled mushrooms and tomatoes, cold cereal, coffee, tea, juice and yogurt. Breakfast is served between 7 and 9 am and cooked to order.

The rooms at Rutland House are perhaps better described as little cottages. Each with an outside bistro set where you can sit in the early morning sun and enjoy the complimentary tea and coffee offered in your room.

Our room was equipped with a microwave oven, small fridge, tea and coffee pots, sweet biscuits and candies. Bathrooms have the regular amenities such as shampoo, soap etc.

The bed was comfy and sheets, towels and linens are of high quality and are changed daily. The entire room was impeccably clean.

There are several restaurants in walking distance, offering an array of food choices and we felt very safe walking to and from the property.

The property itself is protected by various gates and CCTV which is typical of all properties in Johannesburg. We felt very comfortable and safe in and outside the property and Delia or her staff were always available to answer questions that we had.

If you are looking for a home away from home, I would highly recommend this accommodation for both business and adventure travellers alike. If we are ever in Johannesburg again we will positively come back to stay!

Thank you Delia (& staff) for a fantastic stay!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank LG-lifesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Thank you for such a lovely review. I really enjoyed having you to stay and was happy that I was your first stop for your epic trip. I hope the rest of your travels go well and I am extremely envious of you both. Go well and stay safe and see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Rutland house was a lovely place to stay for our two nights in Joberg coming off of a transatlantic flight! Delia was incredibly accommodating, even driving us around the area and dropping us off at the car rental place. Breakfast was lovely as well. Coffee, rusks, fresh milk, and tea were all ready in the room when we arrived. Delicious café just down the road as well, amazing pizza and pasta. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

thank you so much for your lovely review Rachel.

It was such a pleasure having you to stay and I hope to see you again in the future.
I am pleased I could help you getting your car and settling you in for the start of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Following the busy season back home, Rutland House B&B offered a great way for me to relax away from the usual hustle and bustle. Sara's breakfasts were delicious and I got to learn a new recipe . Delia offered and dropped me to my meeting destination during the cold mornings. The bird rests, pretty green compound and classic looking interior decoration were a plus. Thank you for going an extra mile Delia...Marian

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sansan256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Marian, it was lovely having you to stay and such a pleasure to help you. Thank you for your kind words which I will also pass on to Sarah. I hope to see you again if you come on another accounting course. All the best till then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5.2 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
8.1 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#12 of 67 in Johannesburg
350 reviews
16.6 km away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#160 of 300 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 123 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
9.5 km away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
450 reviews
10.8 km away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $132 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing