We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutland House
Nearby Hotels
US$265
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$172
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$89
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$194
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$82
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Residence Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$244
US$231
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$268/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motel Mi Pi CHi(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
162
22
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
22
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorchard roomtranquil areacoffee tea makercorporate hoteltwo single bedsthoughtful toucheshome away from homesouth africawithin walking distancelovely gardenpeaceful havenplace to stayloved our stayleafy suburbwonderful weekendb and brooms are comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Very quiet, comfortable and welcoming guest house in the bustle of Jozi... the host Delia went out of her way to make our short stay hassle free... highly recommended, especially if you are looking for a safe and friendly alternative to the big hotels :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyGang1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure and fun to have you to stay. i look forward to another future visit now you know where we are. all the best. Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The owner - Delia - makes this place super special. Rutland House is a quiet oasis in a big city. Each of the bedrooms is special, and separated from the main house. She cooks a great breakfast, and is eager to share her insights into Johannesburg and South Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It was fascinating meeting you two intrepid explorers. I am honored to have been a part of your round the world trip. Enjoy the rest of the world and come back to South Africa for longer next time to walk some or our amazing trails.
All the very best Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

As a Capetonian I often do the commute to Johannesburg to meet with clients. Rutland House is my is always my preferred place to stay over. Its situated in a beautiful leafy suburb that is safe and conveniently situated. Rooms and spacious and WiFi is reliable to catch up on emails. The owner (Delia) and staff are always welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: accessible, quiet, safe,
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WernerKoegelenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review
always a great pleasure to have you to stay and i look forward to the next time.
All the best in your new venture.
With best regards and thanks
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I can highly recommend the Rutland House B&B in Craighall, Johannesburg, where I recently spent two nights - The gardens are beautiful,the accommodation is excellent, charming and comfortable and the breakfasts,cooked by our gracious hostess Delia,were delicious. Delia was extremely helpful and accommodating, and made our stay a wonderful experience. I'll certainly stay at Rutland House again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. I really enjoyed meeting you and I look forward to your next trip when you have written your next best seller !
I am enjoying the "Queen of the Free State" a wonderful depiction of growing up in a small town in S A that era. All the very best for your future sales so you can spend more time at Rutland House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay!! Loved the uniqueness of the rooms and the gardens. Delia was accommodating to provide a snack as we arrived to late for dinner. Appreciate the recommendation to the local restaurant. Our whole party would recommend this as a place to stay in Johannesburg.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tmhiesberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely positive review.
I enjoyed meeting the whole 3 generations of your family especially your youngest who I thought most entertaining.
I hope you come back to see us in South Africa again and spend more time exploring our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews