We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Enough ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 299 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

First and foremost, everyone was very hospitable and accommodating. Rutland house is situated in a nice, safe, quiet neighborhood. However, there isn't a whole lot within walking distance so you'll need to plan to either have a car or call cabs/Uber if you want to venture out.

Our room was right off the driveway and was relatively basic. It was comfortable enough, clean, and had a lot of space. However, it wasn't modern or updated and was really cold.

Sara and Greta were very nice and made us lovely breakfasts each morning. The owner was actually away on holiday during our stay but her friend Colleen ensured we had everything we needed and were comfortable.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for your review and your kind comments. You were here in a really cold snap and all the rooms have heaters and electric blankets so you should have only felt cold when you were outside. You are correct to state that Rutland House is not modern and sophisticated - this is not what we are about. The rooms are hardly basic as they offer far more than the average hotel suite with several choices of teas and coffees, fresh fruit bowls and fresh milk in the fridge along with healthy rusks (biscuits). Previous guests on Tripadvisor have mentioned that everything has been thought of to make your stay special. We are in the quiet, tree filled suburbs which is stated on all the web sites where we advertise. This is not a hotel but a private home where guests are welcomed to share the cottages and en suite bedrooms which are set away from the main house with their own private entrances and patios or garden. I do agree that it is better to have a car or use a cab as we are not in a shopping mall however these are easily organized for our guests as many do not want to self drive. Tours and transfers are easily arranged if we are alerted in advance. I wish you all the very best and I am sorry I did not get to meet you. Delia (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Very quiet, comfortable and welcoming guest house in the bustle of Jozi... the host Delia went out of her way to make our short stay hassle free... highly recommended, especially if you are looking for a safe and friendly alternative to the big hotels :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyGang1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure and fun to have you to stay. i look forward to another future visit now you know where we are. all the best. Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The owner - Delia - makes this place super special. Rutland House is a quiet oasis in a big city. Each of the bedrooms is special, and separated from the main house. She cooks a great breakfast, and is eager to share her insights into Johannesburg and South Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review. It was fascinating meeting you two intrepid explorers. I am honored to have been a part of your round the world trip. Enjoy the rest of the world and come back to South Africa for longer next time to walk some or our amazing trails.
All the very best Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

As a Capetonian I often do the commute to Johannesburg to meet with clients. Rutland House is my is always my preferred place to stay over. Its situated in a beautiful leafy suburb that is safe and conveniently situated. Rooms and spacious and WiFi is reliable to catch up on emails. The owner (Delia) and staff are always welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: accessible, quiet, safe,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WernerKoegelenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review
always a great pleasure to have you to stay and i look forward to the next time.
All the best in your new venture.
With best regards and thanks
Delia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

I can highly recommend the Rutland House B&B in Craighall, Johannesburg, where I recently spent two nights - The gardens are beautiful,the accommodation is excellent, charming and comfortable and the breakfasts,cooked by our gracious hostess Delia,were delicious. Delia was extremely helpful and accommodating, and made our stay a wonderful experience. I'll certainly stay at Rutland House again!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. I really enjoyed meeting you and I look forward to your next trip when you have written your next best seller !
I am enjoying the "Queen of the Free State" a wonderful depiction of growing up in a small town in S A that era. All the very best for your future sales so you can spend more time at Rutland House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.4 km away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 299 in Johannesburg
364 reviews
3.1 km away
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
#26 of 299 in Johannesburg
141 reviews
5.9 km away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#3 of 299 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#5 of 299 in Johannesburg
303 reviews
5.2 km away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#17 of 299 in Johannesburg
56 reviews
6.5 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 299 in Johannesburg
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: $114 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing