We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people and great place to kickstart African adventure”
Review of Claires of Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Claires of Sandton
Ranked #2 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We researched our accommodation prior to leaving home and were really impressed with the write ups about Claires. The emails back and forth were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

We arrived on the 15th August to a very cold and wet day, were met at the airport by Beke who took us to meet Zodna who is the loveliest person with a smile to light up the day! Our room was great; bright, clean and had the air conditioner going. My wife almost cried when she saw the beautiful bathroom with huge bath and heated flooring.

The internal and external lounges were very comfortable. The pool looked clean and well maintained.

Claire met us the next morning at breakfast for a little chat and to tell us about the lovely birds feeding outside the window. She is a friendly lady. We arranged private tours with Beke and can't recommend him highly enough. A little dearer than the going rate; but well worth it as he was punctual, flexible, friendly and willing to give good service.

The B&B is a little out of the way but is in a safe neighbourhood and easy enough to arrange transport. We actually got lost walking back from the shops at night with no hassles.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and were pleased with the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Claires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

I stayed here while visiting Jo'burg in Feb of 2011 - to visit my own property (which is let out nearby). Although, I knew the area from my year in SA in 2005 - I was pleasantly surprised to find this little gem of a guest house. Claire's guesthouse is in a safe and secure part of Jo'burg - where there is the minimum of criminal activity.
I found Claire's on the internet and despite me needing to mess Claire about a bit while I sorted dates and arrange the payment of a deposit (from the UK) etc., she was patient and polite in our (email) communications. I arrived after 11pm and was met by the housekeeper and shown to my room with the minimum of fuss.
In short, the place and the staff were a delight. The rooms are well decorated, furnished and clean. The breakfast was excellent and the service personable - and not obtrusive in any way. A relaxing place to stay, in close proximity to Sandton City - safe and secure with excellent parking within the grounds.
As always in Jo'burg - a car is required to get to anywhere - local or otherwise!
I will definately be back Claire!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Describing Claires as a "gem" has delighted us all. Us ladies do, indeed, like to think of Claires and ourselves as: sparkling, enduring, valuable and treasured!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Claire's for the last two nights of our 3 week trip to South Africa. We picked it because of the location and great reviews. True to what we had read, the hotel was very comfortable, extremely clean and everybody there was extraordinarily friendly and offered great hospitality. Zodwa was really helpful in making arrangements for our time in the city and Claire went out of her way to let us freshen up before our evening flight home. One thing to know about Claire's is that you will have to take a taxi everywhere (if you don't have a car), but the hotel can help you call one easily.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for your thoughtful review. It was a pleasure to chat and swop stories. May your aspirations for your future be attained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I spent our first two nights in South Africa at Claire's. We had an absolutely delightful visit. Zodwa was wonderful, so helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious and more than enough. We really enjoyed watching the birds outside the window at breakfast. We did not get our luggage until after we left Claire's (thank you, South African Airlines) but Zodwa was as helpful as she could be with helping us contact the airline. Transfer was all arranged for us, and we ended up using Becky (the driver) for the duration of our stay for all of our outings. He was also great and very helpful. It was a little residential (ie not too much "happening" in the neighborhood), but did feel safe. Zodwa even helped us order take-out to the room the evening we arrived. So nice after a long flight. The room was comfortable, nicely appointed and spacious. We would definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfavs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

I am glad that you finally met up with your luggage; we were only too pleased to help. I trust that the rest of your visit lived up to your excited anticipation.
We endeavour, with our location, to offer a good combination of experiences: Quiet and safe at Claires with local facilities at hand and a vibe within a five minute taxi ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Please let me clairfy first, we didn't end up stayiing here, as Claire had a plumbing emergency. BUT before this we had no trouble getting hold of her and making our booking, Claire arranged our airport transfer and happily phoned a tour company that I had read about on TA, she checked them out for us then booked it etc.
Claire contacted us a 4 days prior to our stay and advised us of the plumbing problem and the new reservation she had made on our behalf at another B & B of the same price and standard, this was excellent, she transferred all money we had previously paid to her as deposit to the new accom. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Claire for all your help and proactive organising. Sorry we didnt get to meet , but we certainly appreciate your professionalism and caring attitude. All the best for the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank 4Kiwisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B, Owner at Claires of Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

We do pride ourslves on our service and ability to give our guests a successful visit whatever the circumstances; thank you for highlighting this for us. Sadly we were not able to meet - see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
2.6 km away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
2.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
5.8 km away
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
Rivonia Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 81 in Sandton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Bellgrove Guest House
Bellgrove Guest House
#10 of 81 in Sandton
72 reviews
5.6 km away
Dunton Guest House
Dunton Guest House
#4 of 81 in Sandton
74 reviews
3.9 km away
Hyde Park Villas
Hyde Park Villas
#3 of 81 in Sandton
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claires of Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claires of Sandton

Address: 42 8th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: $115 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claires of Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claires is a welcoming, secure oasis, minutes from Sandton City offering easy comfort, personalised service and excellent food. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms have quality amenities and separate entrances into an enticing garden and pool.Enjoy breakfast on the charming, shady verandah. Within easy reach of major attractions in Sandton and environs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Claires of Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claires Of Sandton Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing