We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brief Stay”
Review of The Capital Moloko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Capital Moloko
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This was a brief business stay with an early departure the next morning.

The welcome was friendly and efficient and the room was spacious with a pleasing decor.The aircon was efficient and the bed very comfortable. It was well appointed with all the features one would expect of a 5 star hotel room. There were enough plugs for the charging of computers and phones.

The restaurant was fairly small and the decor wasn't quite up to the same standard as the rooms. The menu was varied although I was disappointed with the pizza I ordered. The cheese was baked hard on to the crust and additional mozzarella was then melted on top - the base was similar to those bought at the supermarket. Dinner was a bit of a disappointment. The cappuccino, however, was great.

The only other negative was that the plug in the bathroom was faulty.

It was a pleasant stay and I would recommend The Capital Moloko

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_P_DeJager, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Andre H,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Hotel Moloko.

We truly appreciate the kind word and the positive feedback, thank you so much for this.
We will be taking the feedback with regards to the pizza that you ordered into review and will ensure that we improve on the offering that you provide.

I hope we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back and provide you with another even more exceptional experience.

Kind Regards,

Andre de Jager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Very nice gardens and impressive buildings. Inside I found it a bit less glamorous. No frills reception area. Nice restaurant and the room service was great, it just took very long. Both mornings we arrived for breakfast an hour before closing and the juice containers were empty, and the hot porridge finished. We had a standard room and booked twin beds but got a king. Chairs are getting a bit tired looking. Very nice balcony facing beautiful pond, but it means that the room gets swamped with mosquitos within minutes. No repellant in room, and reception also could not help. Luckily the lady in charge of housekeeping assisted. If privacy is an issue, please note that it is a open bathroom concept, but the toilet is seperate. Location very good, close to shops/malls/casino. An absolute highlight is the Camelot Spa.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_P_DeJager, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Sonkoppie,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at The Capital Hotel Moloko.

We truly appreciate the kind word and the constructive feedback, thank you so much for this.
I can assure you that these notes have been shared with the team in order for us to elevate our offering to the level that our valued guests expect.

I hope we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you back and provide you with the experience and level of service that we pride ourselves in.

Kind Regards,

Andre de Jager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Excellent treatment
We enjoyed the room and the conference facility!
We would like traditional foods to be served too such as thick porridge with braii meat once a week!
Also would like to have corporate meetings there

Room Tip: Excellent treatment! The Jacuzzi was helpful for relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cornelius Maing... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_P_DeJager, General Manager at The Capital Moloko, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Cornelius,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent visit to The Capital Hotel Moloko.

We thank you for your kind words and the constructive feedback regarding the menu variety during conferencing events.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another unforgettable experience.

Kind regards
Andre de Jager
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

From the moment you enter the gate your experience is one of comfort and pleasure. The staff are all very helpful and attend to your needs. The room I had was large and very comfortable. My only criticism is the shower is small and has no door so the bathroom floor tends to get rather wet. The breakfast was plentiful and the overall meals experience was great.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Quirky but very nice clean design - ask for a room facing into the greenery - great view to wake up to.
No lift to the 2nd floor which may be the only drawback - overall very and comfortable good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dhruv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
2.4 km away
The Capital Empire
The Capital Empire
#20 of 47 in Sandton
221 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
1.1 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#11 of 47 in Sandton
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#23 of 47 in Sandton
163 reviews
1.3 km away
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
1 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Moloko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Moloko

Address: 160 Helen Road | Strathavon, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Moloko Executive Apartments and Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $217 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Capital Moloko 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay serene. Stay where you count. All our guests at The Capital Moloko, enjoy complimentary parking, complimentary scheduled transfers to Sandton and complimentary Wi-Fi access. In fact, there is every modern convenience you would imagine - all with the surprise of a hidden garden of tranquillity; calm amid the noise and haste. The Capital Moloko is sublime - especially when it comes to our particularly personal service; quietly attentive; reassuringly exclusive; excellence in supreme hospitality. In fact, while The Capital Moloko is miles apart from any other experience, it's perfectly positioned close to thriving centre of Sandton - the premier 'capital' of South Africa for shopping, business and commerce. For those crucial conferences when business need smaller rooms for important matters to be discussed or the details of big deals to be thrashed out in detail, The Capital Moloko provides the ideal environment - including 3 meeting rooms (that can also used as private dining rooms), a lounge and a restaurant perfect for cocktails. It's a venue perfect for smaller, more intimate celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capital Moloko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Moloko Sandton, Greater Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing