We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$285
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$507
US$481
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$92
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$152
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CedarWoods of Sandton(Sandton)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
122
119
40
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
119
40
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorningside shopping centrecountry housequiet hotelcomplimentary shuttle servicesmall swimming pooldesk staffconference roomshuttle busnight staycity hotelrooms are largebeautiful gardenreception areasandton areasouth africaenjoyed my staysafe area
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This hotel seems to be the product of an original hotel with subsequent additions. It is definitely not a standard chain hotel built along long corridors, which adds to its charm. The room was well-appointed and the bathroom comfortable.
The hotel staff are very friendly and quite helpful.
The grounds are delightful and well worth walking through.
Breakfast was your standard buffet-style but order your eggs well in advance - swiftness is not included!
This hotel is definitely not wheelchair friendly - plenty of steps and no lifts, which is not a problem for most able people but it could be frustrating for people who are not physically challenged.
The only other point is that we were celebrating a special event and I had requested some special attention (for which I was happy to pay) but this never materialised, and
I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KathyN575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear KathyN

Thank you for your wonderful review and for the constructive feedback.

We are pleased to know that you liked our property and that our staff was helpful and friendly.

We would like to apologise for not attending to your request for the special occasion you were celebrating. We will in future make sure that all special requests are attend to. We have also reviewed our service during breakfast service in order to make sure that we assist guests in a timely fashion.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We wrote an e-Mail to get an Airport Pick-up...never answered! The Reception Staff is stuck up...especially the young actually good looking girl with ponytail!
i would kick her out for always giving rude comments to Customers and staff with black Skin!
Who do you think you are?
The whole Hotel can be better organized and most of the staff needs smiling-Motivation Training!
The best people were the Weekend-Manager on duty and the Shuttle-Service Driver(we invited him for a Soccer City Tour)....

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Chefetage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest, ,

Thank you for submitting the feedback on your most recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are invaluable to us as they provide us with crucial feedback we use to continually excel at the products and services we currently provide to our guests. Our goal is to always surpass our guests expectations and we plan to take the items you mentioned in your review and look into ways to improve on these areas moving forward, this will include training of our staff and corrective action.

Thank you again for your time and I do hope that we can have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Shaun Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Everything there is good- price, location, cleaness, comfort, kindness of the personnel etc....

But avoid absolutely the food. It’s a punishment!!!

They have a shuttle to take you in decent places where you can find decent food

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Albertcorcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback.

We delighted to hear that you were happy with the location of our hotel, the cleanliness and comfort as well as the kindness of our staff.

I do apologize however that your dining experience was not up to standard. Our executive Chef has been informed of your feedback regarding the food. Please could you send me an e-mail to grm.quatermain@faircity.co.za with more details of your dining experience so that we will address this matter immediately.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention, we certainly hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel offers great conference facilities for small to medium size groups. Staff are helpful and conference delicates feel taken care off. The hotel gives a welcoming feel and they provide secure parking on the grounds.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Faircity Quatermain Hotel, your comments and feedback are highly appreciated. It is pleasing to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your conference delegates were taken care of so well by our wonderful staff members. We are also pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the conference facilities.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Sandton.

Yours in hospitality

General Manager
Shaun Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Over the last month, we have spent 2 or 3 nights here 3 times, having been here many times before. Still one of our favourite hotels; clean, comfortable and what really made our trip this time was the very helpful staff.

We are a bit fussy, like particular rooms and that the rooms have all the amenities that they are supposed to have. Everything was perfect this time and they were very helpful storing our luggage as we were travelling and did not want to carry unnecessary items.

Thanks to all the staff on duty on Sunday 10 December when we arrived back at about 8.00 pm to a very quiet hotel with no porters around but we were warmly welcomed back although there was a whispered conversation going on in the background. We were asked for our booking confirmation at which point we realised that we had got the dates wrong!! The staff could not have been nicer and even managed to put us in the room we like. Very professionally done. See you next time!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaun0010, General Manager at Faircity Quatermain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. Your kind words are highly appreciated, it makes me so proud to know that we lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Quatermain in the near future. .

Kind Regards,

Shaun Wheeler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews