We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay every time ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We absolutely love this place in the vaal. Its on the river which offers rooms an absolute gem of a view. The service is good and the rooms are amazing. This is our 3rd stay at the hotel and will probably come back. Its also affordable and next to a golf course. Only reason I give a 4 rating is due to 3 main concerns 1. The pool.area is a little dated and not taken care off. The bathrooms are slightly on the smaller side. And the food menu is slightly pricey. Other than that the place is amazing.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaveer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Kaveer14

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

We appreciate your lovely comments and I will be sure to pass them on to the team - its feedback like this that makes our jobs most satisfying.

Our pool area was extremely over the festive season but our maintenance team has been at it all day fixing it up where needed. Our bathrooms are small and quirky but they will be redesigned when we refurbish the hotel. I will be certain to pass your comments regarding the menu on to our Executive Chef, he is working on new menus.

Thank you for spending the holidays with us and we would like to wish you and your family a prosperous 2018!

Best wishes,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018

Please also make enough carpots in every parking for the cars to avoid sun and thundershowers , and open some channels like 161,110 , 164,176, 179,320,321,325 if it's possible,furthermore the hotel is a best hotel a luxurias

Room Tip: Try buying some bigger fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank monicasL513HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello monicasL513HW

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

We appreciate your lovely comments and I will be sure to pass them on to the team - its feedback like this that makes our jobs most satisfying.

We will certainly look at putting up most carports in the future and will re-evaluate our channel bouquet.

Thank you for spending the holidays with us and we would like to wish you and your family a prosperous 2018!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The pool area had no waiter present onsite and was dirty. The barman was working alone on the 1 January which was a pubblic holiday and management should have anticipated that it was going to be very busy and should have atleast had more men power. Service was slow and area disorganized. No child minder in the play area as advertised on the website. Facilities are great but service is poor.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank liv235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BON-RivieraOnVaal, Guest Relations Manager at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Liv235

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your experience at BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal!

We must apologise for the slow service, this matter has been addressed with all HOD's who have put measure in place to prevent a reoccurrence. Our lovely child-minder Ntsoaki had the 2nd of January off and is on site again until the 14th of January.

We do hope this did not taint your experience with us too much and that we will receive a visit from you and your family again!

Best wishes,

Rozanne Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I had a terrible experience at Bon Hotel at the Vaal. Firstly, check in is a 14:00hrs and when I arrived my room was not yet ready until 15:30. Got into the room and checked the bed and the bedding was wet! As if that was not enough to this already, bad experience. On Saturday 2am I get a sms notification that the reception had charged my card twice I don’t know how but they charged me twice for my 2 nights stay for the weekend, but then they did another charge for the same amount. Complained and I am still waiting for the money to be returned back into my bank account. Would rather they paid me back for everything I REGRET WASTING MY MONEY GOING THERE IN THE FIRST PLACE.
I was at this hotel about 10 years ago, I must say the service, cleanness overall experience has just deteriorated. You order drinks and get dirty glasses, no stock of things, blender not working…things are just falling apart at the hotel. At the pool, there are not enough pool seats and umbrellas, so guests must hunt around to find something when other guests leave. Horrible overall experience. They promise you WiFi that you cannot even access

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel has amazing views and the rooms moderate. Clean but carpets and bathroom could do with an upgrade.

The pool area needs more seating and umbrellas. We often could not get a spot to sit in the shade and with a 9 month old baby it meant we didn't get to use the pool at all.

Our biggest gripe was the lack of food options.

Breakfast was disappointing with limited options for vegetarian/kosher/halaal guests. They do have a grill that is solely for vegetarian food which is good. However they could look into a better fish option besides frozen boxed varieties.

The room service and lunch time menu is also very limited for people with strict dietary requirements. Maybe include some more vegetarian or fish options for your guests. The dessert section was really depressing. Vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce, croissants and pastries, fruit medley and the cake of the day. Every time we asked about the cake of the day it was - Vanilla Cake. Either the chef can only make Vanilla Cake or it's the same vanilla Cake that no one is ordering. Maybe look at options like waffles, pancakes etc.

We tried to order a toasted tuna and were told they had no tuna. We ordered a strawberry milkshake and they didn't have strawberry so my experience is that the restaurant is not really organized.

We went out to get food every single day.

The staff are not really friendly or welcoming either. I never received a smile from one person working there at breakfast, or the waiters at the pool.

I had a bad experience with the cleaner for our room. She asked if she could clean and I explained we had been out the room all morning and no one had cleaned and now my baby is down for his nap. She was irritated and rude about it complaining that she needs to leave soon. So I said it's fine if they don't clean just to get rid of her before she woke my baby up.

Hotel has great potential if they just more accommodating to the variety of guests they receive

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nazreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vereeniging
11.2 km away
Emerald Resort & Casino
Emerald Resort & Casino
#2 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
1,064 reviews
21 km away
The Waterfront Country Lodge
The Waterfront Country Lodge
#4 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
28 reviews
3 km away
Three Rivers Lodge & Villa Anna Sophia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
The Shakespeare Inn
The Shakespeare Inn
#5 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
4 reviews
21.1 km away
Ingwe Guest Lodge
Ingwe Guest Lodge
#3 of 6 in Vanderbijlpark
10 reviews
19.1 km away
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
Ikhamanzi Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Vereeniging
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal

Address: 10 Mario Milani Road | Three Rivers, Vereeniging 1939, South Africa (Formerly Riviera on Vaal Hotel & Country Club)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Vereeniging
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vereeniging
Price Range: $68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 45-minute drive from Johannesburg, our luxurious hotel caters to the corporate and conference markets, as well as families and leisure travellers who are looking for a resort that has it all. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal is one of few child-friendly Vaal River resorts that have struck a perfect balance in offering family enjoyment whilst also fulfilling the business travel market needs. Steeped in history this 91-room hotel, a converted farmhouse from the 1800s, is situated on a bend of the scenic Vaal River. Ideal for company conferences and events, the hotel offers 4 multi-purpose venues and a range of exciting team building activities, with flexibility to suit your needs. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal has a reputation as one of the best wedding venues in Gauteng; choose from a variety of wedding packages to ensure a memorable day. If you are looking for a relaxing breakaway, why not pamper yourself at the Zorgvliet Spa or play a round of golf at the Country Club. Should that sound too energetic, pop down to the water's edge and float along the Vaal River on one of our boat cruises. BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal also offers a variety of water sports, a gym, picnics spots and kids' entertainment programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BON Hotel Riviera on Vaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera On Vaal Hotel And Country Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing