We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Buffet was amazing”
Review of Vasco's Restaurant

Vasco's Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 648 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: US$14 - US$26
Description: Hilton Durban is a well-established brand with a reputation for upmarket accommodation and entertainment. In keeping with the brands presence, Vasco’s is a new restaurant with a look, feel and menu that is uniquely Durban. Vasco’s buffet restaurant with an a la carte and kids menu available, makes you feel at home, in the comfort of an African influenced ambiance.
Restaurant details
Description: Hilton Durban is a well-established brand with a reputation for upmarket accommodation and entertainment. In keeping with the brands presence, Vasco’s is a new restaurant with a look, feel and menu that is uniquely Durban. Vasco’s buffet restaurant with an a la carte and kids menu available, makes you feel at home, in the comfort of an African influenced ambiance.
Reviewed 9 August 2017

U visited Vascos in Hilton Durban for an anniversary dinner, they had Seafood OFF THE HOOK that evening and it was absolutely amazing, Absolutely love the decor it feels so homely and comfy and relaxing, was blown away with the live station of chefs preparing the prawns and other seafood. Calamari was my personal favz. Will definitely be back would love to try their Breakfast some time soon

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shalaina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your amazing 5* rating and fantastic review following your visit to Hilton Durban's Vasco's Restaurant Friday Night Off the Hook Seafood Night. I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and I have shared your comments with all our team members who feel highly encouraged by such lovely words. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Recently been to the Seafood Buffet on a Friday at Vasco's and i have to admit, i was completely blown away by the food! A variety of delicious meals, live cooking stations, beautiful setting and not forgetting amazing company! will definitely be back to try the Curry Night on Saturday!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FaRa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Hilton Durban's Vasco's Restaurant. Great to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and thank you for your fantastic feedback. I will be sure to share your kind words with the entire team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We just had supper here tonight and we were not disappointed.

We originally came as I was wanting some Indian food downtown and we saw this on TripAdvisor.

The selection of Indian dishes was limited but the ones they had were absolutely delicious.

We had the dinner buffet at 310R each. This is quite expensive for South Africa but you are in a luxury hotel, with quality dishes, in a big city in Africa.

The starter buffet had a wide array of dishes. Some beautifully arranged in glass verrines. The lentil soup was spicy and hearty. The tempura eggplant was delicious.

The main dish buffet had a pasta station where a chef makes your pasta in front of you with your selection of ingredients. The ther side includes Indian dishes, some African dishes and homemade naan made in the tandoor oven. The naan was so fresh and tasty.

There is finally a dessert bar which includes fruits, cheeses and pastries. I don't like cake much but the carrot cake was to die for. My husband who equally isn't a huge dessert person had the berry pannacotta and said it was amazing as it was light and filled with flavour.

Despite the price we would definitely recommend eating here. The service was fantastic ! Very nice and friendly!

Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit an amazing five star review regarding your recent visit to Vasco's Restaurant! It sounds as if you we're able to take advantage of the many different dishes and experience first class service! We appreciate you sharing details from your dinner and we can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Had dinner on a Friday evening and the restaurant was busy and crowded. Lovely decor and staff friendly with quick efficient service. I just found the restaurant too crowded and busy especially standing in line to dish for buffer. But it is buffet so waiting in line is to be expected. Lovely food and deserts

Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent visit to Vasco's Restaurant at the Hilton Durban for our Off the Hook Seafood night. On behalf of the entire team, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time and found the food to be lovely.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

The restaurant itself has a very vibrant aura. The food buffet and al la carte is more than exceptional. I would highly recommend Vasco's.

Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Hilton Durban's new Vasco's Restuarant. We appreciate your feedback. I am pleased that you found our new restaurant to your liking and you enjoyed the vibe and exceptional buffet and menu. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely
Markus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasco's Restaurant also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Vasco's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing