We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2017

a surpise - a warm welcome in a cool place . The location was not so great , but it is a very unique plaqce to stay . We especially enjoyed the meals - local and organic and different. The decor is artisitc and ppracticle.

Room Tip: all good ..no views ..quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hester H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest
Thank you for taking time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban.
As new owners, we are working around the clock to complete some minor renovations, re-decorations and positive changes to ensure that your next stay with us is even better than the last! Our professional, efficient, helpful and friendly team are on standby and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

What a lovely oasis of a hotel in a very convenient area. Staff are super friendly. Rooms very comfortable and clean if a bit dark. Freedom Cafe offers the most incredible breakfast. Would definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank nickydavies5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, General Manager at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest
Thank you for taking time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban.
As new owners, we are working around the clock to complete some minor renovations, re-decorations and positive changes to ensure that your next stay with us is even better than the last! Our professional, efficient, helpful and friendly team are on standby and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Yes its quite quirky and modern but I am now unsure as to how it gets such a high TA rating- can only assume there is little competition in the city. The room was ok if quite dark with a small patio- it did need some maintenance. We had breakfast there which was tasty although finding anyone to take order/serve took a while- we didnt eat out as had stuffed our faces for 3 days on Rovos so cannot comment on locality for eating/bars etc.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest
Thank you for taking time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban.
As new owners, we are working around the clock to complete some minor renovations, re-decorations and positive changes to ensure that your next stay with us is even better than the last! Our professional, efficient, helpful and friendly team are on standby and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We had 2 nights at the Concierge and enjoyed the quirkiness of the place immensely. Staff were very friendly & helpful, breakfast sitting outside Freedom cafe underneath the shade of a giant fig tree was a delight.
Our room however was on the small side, great big comfortable bed but too big for the size of the room. Also think some of the elements of the design of the room were not as practical as they might have been. Nice verandah to sit on however beware of the mozzies. This is a great place though & would stay again. Easy walking distance to the bars & restaurants on Florida Road and even closer to Marco's Italian restaurant next door to Ike's bookshop.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LPEnnistymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest
Thank you for taking time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban.
As new owners, we are working around the clock to complete some minor renovations, re-decorations and positive changes to ensure that your next stay with us is even better than the last! Our professional, efficient, helpful and friendly team are on standby and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay in Durban. Room was comfortable & smart, with working aircon. Free tea & coffee but no free biscuits, bottled water, etc. Breakfast from the Freedom Café in the courtyard was fantastic! Free secure parking. Walking distance to Florida Road which has restaurants, etc. They provided a map with great local recommendations for food, drinks, things to do, etc. Also very close to Ike's bookstore. Was surprised that our veranda was shared with the neighbouring room (though we were lucky in that it was empty), and that it looked out onto the street, not onto the courtyard. Being at ground level that meant we had to have the shutters closed a lot, but otherwise it was great!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
1.6 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
458 reviews
1.7 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 44 in Durban
651 reviews
3.8 km away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 44 in Durban
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $86 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing