We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great at all!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I cannot express my disappointment! we have stayed at this hotel possibly 10 times in the past and have always been delighted, hence we kept coming back.
here goes:
white shutters on the door/windows are missing many slats and one feels rather vulnerable. feels like people can actually see in the room, and I am sure that they can!
The freedom cafe was closed on Friday afternoon.
the bar fridges are no longer stocked!!!!
the bar fridge used to be fabulously stocked with such a variety of items, now NOTHING!
they also used to have various quirky edible items in the room (this is upselling) now nothing.
one cannot even order room service anymore.
The cupboard door handles were broken.
The was an awful noise in the roof that woke us up at 4:30am in the morning, on complaining in the morning to reception about the VARIOUS issues, I was told, "its not our fault we only took over a week ago'.
Not a great response?
It seems the new owners are "on the defense" instead of addressing the situation. perhaps they should have considered closing for a week to fix all the issues first.
what was good?
comfortable beds.
lovely big soft pillows
the night guard on the premises was such a gentlemen and is a credit to the establishment.

Room Tip: check trip advisor for better reviews before booking here. the new owners must have fixed the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Chantel
Thank you for taking the time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban. Your honest and constructive feedback is sincerely appreciated. As the new owners, we have just taken over 4 weeks ago infact you visited the hotel only 1 week whilst we were there. Like you, we noticed many snags that needed some minor maintenance and repair and over and above that, we have decided to re-decorate wherever necessary. I sincerely apologise that you had to stay with us in the midst of a takeover. We were unable to close the hotel for a week to make any changes as we had guests booked in with us during the transfer period. Furthermore, we are in agreement with you that the shutters are not a good idea and therefore as replacing them with new curtains this month. All of your valuable points have been taken into serious light and we assure you that we are working on creating an exceptional guest experience at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows. Once again, we apologise for the disappointing experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon for a more positive stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I booked this place based on TripAdvisor Reviews (as I do everything else ) and was slightly disappointed with my stay. The place is under new management so everything you read online about the restaurant, bar, room accommodations is no longer accurate.

Check In:

I booked and paid for two rooms through Orbitz and Upon checking in, the front desk team could not find my reservation. That happens sometimes so after providing confirmation numbers, they still wanted charge me for the night's stay. After much conversation, they realized I had paid and got us to our rooms.

Rooms:

Once in our rooms, the rooms are decorated nicely and very spacious. The only two complaints I would have is 1) They did not provide enough towels for two people to shower appropriately and 2) They did not offer complimentary bottles of water as most hotels do (there actually isn't even any vending machines or anywhere to buy water if you wanted it).

Restaurant:

The online menu does not reflect what they currently offer in their restaurant. We orders breakfast and after waiting for 45 mins to receive our meal, was highly disappointed. The meal did not at all live up to what was described on the menu. Also, The new owners do not drink alcohol so there is no alcohol available for guest to purchase. When booking this property I was so excited to try the handcrafted cocktails and enjoy the live bar scene as described by other travelers and was disappointed with the outcome.

Im giving this hotel an overall rating of 3 stars due to close proximity it is to Restaurants and Night Life in Durban as well as because the room setup was nice.

If looking to book this hotel, I would give it a few more months for the new owners to get things in order and learn the business as right now, everything is chaotic and even the staff seemed unhappy and confused.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank E-Theezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban. You stayed with us during the first few days of us taking over as new owners. For that reason alone, we sincerely apologise for any inconveniences caused as it was an adjustment period for us as well. Unfortunately, we were unable to release any bookings during the takeover period to settle in.
All of the marketing material that you found online was prior to our takeover and the website changes to the menu were in progress during that time. I am terribly sorry that you felt deceived by the online information and the actual experience. It is 1 month later and things have settled down very nicely so we really look forward to having you consider The Concierge Boutique Bungalows as your hotel of choice when travelling to Durban in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Friendly staff, very accommodating. We had everything we needed for our stay. Clean and very modern features. Great for someone who is all about healthy eating. Homely feel all in all. Would be great for long stays.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ROSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Rose

Thank you for taking the time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban. We thank you for your positive and lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Pics on website misleading, they were probably taken when place was first established. Definitely not 4 star by any standard. I think place need some pamparing. Breakfast disappointing & noise in the morning. I think their marketing is over exaggerated. What sound proof rooms? Difficult to locate and situated in an area that feels dodgy.

On the positive, rooms are very spacious and clean. Safe was big enough to keep a laptop. Shower is nice and spacious. Adding a dustbin would be welcome. One doesn't have to keep all that litter on the desk. The one in the toilet is normally considered for disposal of sanity towels and not for food as well.

I think for the price I payed, I could have gotten better value somewhere else. Maybe the misleading marketing created expectations that could not be fulfilled by lived experience. Definitely disappointed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank tshimollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows. The Concierge Boutique Bungalows are 7 years old and indeed it is up for a fresh lick of paint and some minor décor updates and renovations. We have just taken over the hotel about a month ago as new owners. We are in the midst of some positive and refreshing changes to the property to ensure that it indeed displays that of a 4 star standard.
With regards to the location, The hotel is situated in one of the most convenient locations in Durban within close proximity to all popular amenities and tourist attractions. We offer a safe and secure environment with excellent security measures in place. I assure you that the location is one of the main reasons we have guests stay with us on an ongoing basis.
On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a more refreshing and comfortable experience. Our team look forward to taking care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

An unique lodging place we found and chose on TripAdvisor. The area is not the best and the room is small but very clean and functional. The property is fenced with a security guard at night.
It is on side streets that are a challenge to locate. Both our transport driver and our tour guide had trouble finding the place. However, it is right off Florida Rd which has many good restaurants and businesses. We walked the area multiple times including at night and encountered no troubles. There is a good restaurant for breakfast and lunch on the property, but closes for meals at 3:30 pm. Bar stays open.
Good value for a place to stay during a short Durban visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adila V, Owner at The Concierge Boutique Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Esteemed Guest
Thank you for taking time to review The Concierge Boutique Bungalows in Durban.
As new owners, we are working around the clock to complete some minor renovations, re-decorations and positive changes to ensure that your next stay with us is even better than the last! Our professional, efficient, helpful and friendly team are on standby and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
1.6 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
457 reviews
1.7 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 44 in Durban
651 reviews
2.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing