We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Nearby Hotels
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Benjamin(Durban)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,365)
Filter reviews
2,365 results
Traveller rating
922
865
331
138
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
865
331
138
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean breezetsogo sunpool deckindian oceanin room dininggolden mileroom servicedurban beachfrontsea facingexcellent servicefamily roomrooms are spaciousenjoyed my staypleasant stayhome away from homevigourverve
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 2,365 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

5 star? Please dont be fooled, this place is more 3star value. The rooms are run down, old and you can hear everything in the nieghbouring room...everthing! The check in at reception is the longest I have ever experienced. The complimentary buffet is fit for a office cafeteria. The pools are ice cold, even at the sister hotel. The reception area is as busy as an taxi rank at the end of the month. Thanks to the beach for peace of mind and enjoyment for your kids...the hotel has none. Staff is a plus, however they restricted to too many rules as I couldn't even purchase a snack for a hungry child. You must wait till 18h30. Oh, don't forget you pay R50 per day to park your car. This is the first and last as what you are promised is a far cry from what you get!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here over the weekend for two nights with my girlfriend in a superior suite. The room was tiny, out dated and very much not superior. The tv seemed awkwardly placed on the bar fridge cabinet to the side of the bed. The bar fridge had one water and one juice only with nothing else as an option. Staff are rude and completely helpless and disinterested. Waters and milks were not replaced during the day and only after a few phone calls to reception in the evenings were replacements finally brought up to our room. The breakfast buffet was below average with cold scrambled eggs, stale croissants, and rude uninterested staff. Do yourself a favour and please stay somewhere else, the prices this places charges for what you receive is daylight robbery! There are plenty of bed and breakfasts in Durban at half the price but double the quality and service. Try Five Burnham in Umhlanga, an amazing bed and breakfast at half the price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MJRaddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel have great views on the Parade but the noise! The facilities is fair but I really struggle to fall asleep with the noise - don't think I will be back.

The staff is also precise and not very friendly or helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance caused by the Panorama Bar - I have shared your feedback with the food & beverage manager, in order for him to look into this, as the bar usually closes at 11pm.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

What an awesome experience. Well done!!!! don't stop this. We were treated so nice. The staff, food and the room was more than what we expected. Dinner was romantic and the turn down was awesome. Thanks !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Eishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our Date Night package and look forward to welcoming you back for many more

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani is the best so far. Keep up the excellent service delivery. There is always enough waiters in the restaurant willing to serve with a smile. The housekeeping personnel have been helpful with no delay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank johntG9629DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am pleased that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews