We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$153
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$106
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveller rating
664
529
259
106
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
529
259
106
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungebusiness loungeconvention centerfive star hotelroom serviceattending a conferencecurriesbusiness tripcomrades marathonreception areasouth africaenjoyed my stayiccrainbowdoormansecurityleisure
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Excellent property, nice location and great personalized service. It even has a Big Easy on its premises which offers great food. The gym is good and very well maintained. What more can one ask for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalitanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your most wonderful 5-star review of Hilton Durban!

We are glad to know that you had a great experience in and throughout the rooms and at the restaurants; we thank you for choosing to stay with us. The people really do make a difference and we are certain your compliments will inspire the team to continue to serve the Hilton way.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

It was a very nice Hotel. Fully worth the stay. Right at the centre of the city. Check in at 3.00 pm which I feel is very late. Overall was a good pleasant stay. Clean rooms. No WiFi which is surprising during the current day. Expensive to get as well. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was great and value for money.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank SharmilalAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your post in regards to your recent stay at the Hilton Durban.
We value your feedback as it is integral to us in improving our product an services. We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel in the not too distant future again.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Super hotel, a great Hilton, and with a room on the 13th floor overviewing the sea, it was just great. There is a small pool which is okay, but not with much of a view, but good for a short stay.
Staff was really friendly, but the hotel have a strange policy, that you can not write things on your room charge, unless you have pre-paid, which really was a policy that made my 2 colleagues say "not this Hilton, coming back to Durban"
There is a great Bar & Grill at the hotel, which I can only recommend, with very very good food, and a very nice guy behind the bar. Coming from the north of Europe, I can't believe the low prices, it is so great. And since you are in a super remote and ghost town area, after 6 PM, you can only stay in, which is okay, thinking about the quality of food you can get at the Hotel.

Room Tip: Go high floor
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flebet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to send in your review.

I can reassure you that your negative experiences are not a regular occurrence at the Hilton Durban as we pride ourselves in training our staff to go above and beyond when it comes to the needs of our hotel guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed over a weekend recently. Two of the lady receptionists were hostile and talked down to guests (and sadly the one also spoke down to her porter colleague too, right at the front desk - not cool).

They might have “compassion-fatigue” from being overwhelmed with check ins. You’re a number being punched through a system fullstop. All I know is the staff at The Oyster Box were always super happy to see us at mealtimes each day they even remembered our names - I think they use magic there.

I had business meetings in Umhlanga as a result spent family time there too. From the parking attendants to the restaurant managers - they were chalk and cheese compared to hostility we experienced at Durban Hilton. We actually saw people from Hilton also having their meals at The Oyster Box regularly - make of that what you will...

You might need to remind Durban Hilton reception that you requested room with sea view on high floor - if you don’t they'll just put you wherever - they might look you down for daring to ask.

* The decor is modern and lovely.
* The beds are super soft, clean and comfy.
* The porters are the most attentive and friendliest of the whole team.
* The spa is lovely - had to walk downstairs to pay on Day 2 inconvenient, previous day had treatment and there was a card machine. Following day had treatment but no card machine. Yes that was a bit confusing.
* There’s an iron and ironing board in your room, if you’re laundry savvy. Laundry service are still available.
* Good location right next door to ICC.
* If you’ve hired a car - no valet parking service, so you just figure it out, can be a bit tricky underground with no clear markings of flow / exit.
* Shower grouting a bit greenish brown / mouldy - just remember to pack your shower flip flops.

It’s just an okay stay. Don’t be too amped.
Curb your expectations a little bit.
I think the main let down is the reception.
Hint: visit The Oyster Box and just compare for yourself.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aobakwe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest

We value your feedback and appreciate you sharing these details regarding your recent stay with us. Our team is disappointed to learn of your experience with us, as this is certainly not our standard level of exceptional service and care we expect our guests receive. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and Make it Right.

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as we where attending a function at the ICC.

Well appointed, spacious rooms. Comfy with good beds. We had dinner at Vasco's, a bit pricey. Breakfasts are of an international standard. We appreciated watching an Indian TV channel. Never come across this in any South African hotel/establishment. Well done.
All in all, a good weekend away.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kaminie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Hilton Durban. It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Until then, warm regards from Durban!

Yours sincerely
Markus Fritz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews