We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balmoral Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$164
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$142
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows(Durban)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
14
49
47
37
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
49
47
37
25
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

travelled with my parents and husband. Parking definitely an area to be looked. paid for a sea-facing room but was given a room with partial sea views. Rooms mediocre for a 4 star hotel - bathroom not up to standard . Wi-fi extremely slow. Meals not too bad - room for improvement. Access card was faulty - had to call Reception on numerous occasions to get into the room was told it was due to me leaving the card next to my cellphone....utter nonsense. would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vilo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Hotel looked better on the internet than it was. It is getting on in years and should be renovated. The rooms are functional and that's all.
The food (buffet) was ok and the staff was friendly.
It was more or less okay for one night but I wouldn't book it again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The service was very good except for the fact that one of the windows didn't close properly and maintenance came to check it out and said he would be back the next day to fix but didn't. I chose this room for the Sea and Sunrise views but as the window was broken, it didn't block out the noise from the daily festivities on the beach and into the night.
No additional plugs to charge electronic devices so if you choose to stay here, bring your own extension cord. You need to unplug the TV or Fridge just to boil water. Or lamps.
The kettle's handle was broken. No complimentary coffee sachets the first night. Only the next day.
The towels were rough and worn. Not the fluffy soft towels one would expect from a 4 star hotel.
The bathroom door hook was broken off and painted over so no plans to fix that despite showing the maintenance guy.
The TLC to the bath tiles was a rushed job.
The food was ok but on the second day the croissants were absolutely divine!

The staff was friendly and helpful :-)

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koeksiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The location is great right on the beach. Parking is really tight. When we were about to go out we had to ask twice for our car to be fetched. I checked in on the 27th at 14:30 and we told my room wasn't ready yet. On the Friday night the 27th after 2 phone and 1 request in person for a cot we still didn't receive anything. And when we complained the next morning the lady at reception said she wasn't on duty it's not her fault. Yet this hotel should be her brand. Over festive times it gets quite crowded and noisy. The bathrooms and bedrooms could do with an upgrade. Not Halaal either so breakfast is not very filling!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ronwyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

It’s quite aged, not sure if that’s what they are selling by not upgrading it to a contemporary state. My bathroom floor was squeaky and so was was the staircase. Preferred to use the staircase anyway since the elevator is very tiny, one feels claustrophobic in there. The buffet breakfast was run-of-the-mill and there was a selection that didn’t smell fresh. Location is good, beach over the front street. Oh, WiFi is very slow. Staff really tries hard with what they have: they park your car, check in is mostly seamless.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank 288mzwandilem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews