We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$68
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$147
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$73
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$118
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$130
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
11
36
34
20
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
36
34
20
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 6 days and it was not a pleasant experience at all.
Things that worked well:
- great location, right on the beach front and it’s easy to access the beach front even in the night
- good breakfast and lovely team
- good room cleaning service
- spacious rooms
Things that make this place bad:
- worst reception team - they don’t listen to your needs and work like robots. Absolute apathy towards guests
- rooms smell bad and old
- AC didn’t work for the first 2 days and it was horrible. Made 8 complaints and they didn’t bother to check or repair. Finally on 3rd day noon, after a stern request they gave us adjoining room but no apology or even offer to help in moving the things. Worst is that they changed new AC for all the rooms in 5th floor, except the room we stayed. This shows that they knew about the AC problem but still allocated a room to us and never bothered to act
- literally no Wi Fi and their standard answer, it was working fine, but it just went down
- they don’t check on customer satisfaction and I don’t think they are bothered about it since they have good occupancy rate among locals.
- avoid this place at any cost
- staying here spoilt our holiday experience

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rmkarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra P, General Manager at Gooderson Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you most sincerely for bringing your concerns to our attention and my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that was caused to you.
Any criticism, albeit negative, is taken very seriously in our constant endeavour to make our Guest’s experience at Beach Hotel more pleasurable.

Please be advised that all the issues you raised in your email will be investigated and will most certainly be dealt with at the highest level.
Feedback like this is very valuable to us and I will definitely be using your feedback as a tool to help improve in certain areas.

I am very proud of our resort, the facilities that it has to offer and the service we deliver, hence I am deeply disappointed and saddened that we at Beach Hotel did not meet your expectations.
Please be assured that your concerns have not fallen on deaf ears and I will personally make sure our shortfalls are rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

If you looking for the best Durban curry then go and eat at the Beach Hotel. I recommend the lamb curry and rice. you will get the best taste with the Asiatic touch of Durban. The restaurant is sea facing but if you are a smoker you will struggle because, though it's an open area, the entire place is non smoking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themba H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2017

Thank you for the time to write a review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our famous curries and thank you for the recommendation. Due to the strict law on smoking, we are unable to offer smoking sections. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

If all you need is a bed and running water, and maybe just one night, then ok, stay at this hotel - right on the beachfront. If musty and moldy smells, old furnishings, noise and poor housekeeping doesn't trouble you, then yes, do check in. The neighborhood is dodgy and the surrounding eateries nothing to be desired. Our stay was by default, and NEVER again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank KDKindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Thank you most sincerely for bringing your concerns to our attention and my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience that was caused to you.
Any criticism, albeit negative, is taken very seriously in our constant endeavour to make our Guest’s experience at Beach Hotel more pleasurable.

Feedback like this is very valuable to us and I will definitely be using your feedback as a tool to help improve in certain areas.

We are very proud of our hotel, the facilities that it has to offer and the service we deliver, hence I am deeply disappointed and saddened that we at Beach Hotel did not meet your expectations.
Please be assured that your concerns have not fallen on deaf ears and I will personally make sure our shortfalls are rectified.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The minute you enter the place, its a nightmare. the reception area was muddy and wet and smelled horrible. a chemical that was irritating to my eyes.

The parking space at the back is worse and very dodgy, the cables all over and that horrible smell. the rooms are humidity and dusty too. I will never return to such a place.

I was referred to 7th floor when I requested the iron. the iron room is untidy and with a sink that had drain blockage remaining on it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 May 2017

Dear Idah

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. Any critism, albeit negative, is taken very seriously in our constant endeavour to make Guest's experience more pleasurable.

To respond on your negatives. We take care of our reception area and a cleaner is allocated to make sure our reception is spotless. Also we could not trace the chemical smell stated in your review.

We are very proud of our hotel and facilities we offer, hence we are deeply dissapointed and saddened that we didn't meet your expectations.

Please be assured that your concerns about the iron room has not fell on deaf ears and our shortfalls will be rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the best. Comfortable bed. Now let's go to the rest. Dirty bathroom, carpet, hallways, lifts. No Wi-Fi. Leaking dining room, no real public spaces, floor two flooded, poor quality breakfast, reception computer always on the blink. Evening bar and grill open to the elements. Two seconds walk out of the hotel, beggars approach you constantly. Welcome to Durban at it's finest.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 May 2017

Dear Mr Martin.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. Any criticism, albeit negative, is taken very seriously in our constant endeavour to make our Guest’s experience at the Beach Hotel more pleasurable.
To address your negatives: We had an unforeseen pipe that burst on the second floor and leaked below into our dining room and was rectified on the day.
We are in the process of changing our cleaning company and looking forward to better results.
We appreciate your visit to us, your comments, and shall certainly upgrade those areas in need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews