We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$144
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$117
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$128
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
14
36
43
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
36
43
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantadjacent buildinggolden milehotel breakfastshort stayvisit durbansea viewon arrivalhouse keepingkeep up the good workcandidatescleanersvenuesafetypromenade
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Walking distance from the beach and restaurants.
Rooms was neat and clean, the bathroom needs a upgrade. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. Needs better parking place. The Breakfast was excellent. Really liked the sea facing view. Will definitely go back, back not when the beach is so full.

Room Tip: Sea facing views
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nealandrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, General Manager at Gooderson Tropicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Nealandrie C,

Many thanks for your review on our Hotel.

We will be doing a soft upgrade of our bathrooms this financial year. We really appreciate your positive review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

It's true that what you see in one isn't what you get when you arrive.
Room 1007 (right after they changed me from 3 other rooms) isn't up to standard. Aircon had a smell of smoke, door didn't close properly, shower has no ventilation, bed makes noises, one has to fetch an iron all the way down from reception. Parking (which is an extra charge) is situated in the dodgy building next to the hotel. Be careful when you walk about, it's not safe.
The only highlight about the place is their breakfast and that it's near the beach.
This 'hotel' is overpriced!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sibahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, General Manager at Gooderson Tropicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Sibahle,

We apologise for the horrible experience.
Thank you for bringing this under our attention I will make sure that we action all your points.
We've already partnered with U.I.P to ensure the safety of our guest.

Thank you for the positive review on our breakfast.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Bathroom not up to standerd. Taps broken, shower not working, bathtub dirty, broken tiles. And what is disappointing is that the pictures on the web looks better than the real life.

In good light - The breakfast was very nice. The service was very good and the staff was very friendly. Really nice

Other than that it is an "okay" place would I say. I would pay the price that they are asking for some place better. For 'this' place I wouldn't pay that much.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tharien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, General Manager at Gooderson Tropicana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Tharien D

Thank you for your review a real pity that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your positive feed back on our breakfast and staff friendliness.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Previously, on several occasions, and recently (for five continuous days) my business has chosen The Gooderson Tropicana Hotel, to conduct training for small, medium sized and quite large groups of corporate candidates from near and far afield. Every time, we have been delighted with our choice. The staff, in particular PA to the MD - Megan Warman and the wonderful banqueting and catering teams have excelled. On arrival at the venue there is always a willing individual waiting to help me up with my training resources. The rooms are appropriately set up with hot beverages and refreshments. Free parking is made available in the adjacent building for those who wish to use it. The rooms are spacious, providing sufficient breakaway space and good, quick wi-fi connectivity for all delegates. Lunch is deliciously prepared by the well trained cheffing team, with ample choice of various dishes to suit all palettes and preferences. The dessert table is a sheer spoil. The training rooms are safe, quiet, well lit with effective air conditioning. If anything is not quite 100%, it is attended to immediately that this is brought to the hotels attention. For example, I happened to mention that there was a "nuisance illegitimate car guard" in the area, and it has already been reported to the city UIP to deal with. This hotel is definitely our choice of venues for our Corporate training. Keep up the good work, Gooderson Tropicana Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dionysus2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

all in order, warm friendly staff. No issues encountered. Will be back and will let friends and family know. Right on the doorstep to the beautiful durban beaches. On durbans golden mile close to all amenities

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews