We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenview Guest House(Durban)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
29
68
56
26
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
68
56
26
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity halllounge areaenjoyed my staydouble bedreception staffroom was spaciousushaka marine worldplayhouse
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The Royal Hotel is a nice hotel for the price, big rooms and good service.
Nice sea view, pool and bar.However my one negative is that the window in my room was making a big noise since it was windy in that night. We couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TFZ2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

After an absence of many years, I decided to spend a night at the Grand Old Place again. This was in honour of first staying there 30 years ago. The building is still impressive, the reception staff friendly and courteous, the lounge area still filled with so many individuals meeting one another. I found that the room is still spacious with a Queen sized bed, a good view and all the other attributes you would expect from this grand old place.

First opened in the 1850's, you will be a guest in a place that has seen so much history. Now no longer in the centre of the business district, if you have occasion to have to stay over in the city centre, this is still a very good option.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 19th floor and ask for a harbour-facing room.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

The room was very nice and comfortable. The reception staff was efficient and friendly.
The Hotel is well located and easy to access. I came at night and left early in the morning, no interaction with the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mtA8498PL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastlands_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear The Royal Hotel guest,

Thank you for staying at The Royal Hotel , I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guest.

Thank you for your lovely review, we strive to create memorable experiences and your feedback helps us achieve this. I am pleased to hear that we could provide you a pleasant stay and that our centrality allowed you to enjoy Durban to it's fullest.

I would like to take the time to thank you for commending our staff's dedication to service excellence, I will pass your lovely compliment onto our team, they will be delighted to receive such positive feedback.

Here's wishing you a wonderful week ahead and safe travels. We look forward to your next visit.

-Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Only stayed for a night the room had a leaking toilet and the phone was not working in the room to even call room service. The breakfast standard was not nice the food was not properly done. Ordered 2 milkshakes and the waiter comes with them with no cream but he had already accepted the order

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rt304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

This hotel is well located in the city center. Though it isn't the best place to be in the evening as it can get a bit dangerous, in terms of connectivity its the best location in Durban. Average stay. Food was very average and hotel cleanliness was very basic.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galoretim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews