We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
32
14
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
14
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews florida road within walking distance bars and restaurants breakfast was delicious lillian
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed here for four nights and had a lovely time. The owner is super helpful and friendly, and is always on-hand to offer advice. The breakfast was simple but really good (those freshly baked muffins are to die for) and the location just off Florida Road is fab. Although it's near the bars and restaurants, it's really quiet so you'll get a good night's sleep. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaEatWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This guesthouse was well-located near Florida Road and had a nice leafy outdoor area.

We only stayed for one night and were really just looking for a good spot to sleep before moving on with the next part of our holiday.

The room was fine, although a little basic and tired and the bathroom had seen slightly better days. There were instructions not to use too much water. Although I am environmentally conscious, I am never a fan of these type of signs when you are paying to stay somewhere!

The manager, Lillian, also seemed a little disorganised and ‘frazzled’. We arrived in a hire car, had no idea how to enter the property and remained stuck for a while with the car on a busy road. We knocked on the gate, there was no answer, so I phoned and she eventually answered. I asked where we should put the car. She asked ‘how big’ it was and then directed us to drive around the block and enter via a back gate. As we were leaving early the next morning, she unfortunately had to get up early to let us out with our car. It would be good if there was a way of leaving independently, without being ‘locked in’!

A reasonable stay – had we stayed longer I may have been able to make a more detailed assessment.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelkewpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Great value for money - centrally located, but still nice & quiet with easy access to restaurants and local supermarket. Less than a 5 minute walk to both. Lillian was welcoming, friendly & helpful - she's the magic ingredient.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I have traveled to many places across South Africa and I can honestly say Mythai is the best! The wonderful housekeeper Cissella made my stay a breeze. The manageress Lillian is so very helpful and the owners Rod and Carol are always keen to impart their excellent knowledge of Durban and KZN. The property closely resembles a Thai garden/jungle and its brilliant breakfasts and close proximity to all the amenities of Florida make it even that much more of the right place to stay when visiting Durban. - Bronwyn Obery (Cape Town)

Room Tip: All rooms and quiet and unique in their own way.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BronwynObery3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here!! Lillian was the perfect host, giving great advice about places to visit and how to get around.The rooms and public areas are all really comfortable and the pools were just perfect for cooling down in the high heat and humidity! Everything you could need including air conditioning, direct access onto Florida (for restaurants and nightlife) a nearby supermarket and liquor store. A great base for discovering Durban!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1101gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews