We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bunnychow and Curries”

Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar
Ranked #98 of 648 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Description: Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar is the home of Durban's favourite Bunny Chow and Curries! Join us for a true style Durban Curry while enjoying all the sporting action on screen. Winner of the 2014 Bunny Chow Barometer Challenge, and runner up in 2015. Happy hour and beer bucket drink specials. Curries, Rotis, Samoosas, Small Bites, and more available. Visit us today!
Restaurant details
Description: Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar is the home of Durban's favourite Bunny Chow and Curries! Join us for a true style Durban Curry while enjoying all the sporting action on screen. Winner of the 2014 Bunny Chow Barometer Challenge, and runner up in 2015. Happy hour and beer bucket drink specials. Curries, Rotis, Samoosas, Small Bites, and more available. Visit us today!
Reviewed 24 August 2016

If you're in Durban, you HAVE to stop over at Hollywood for a bunny. In fact you can have burgers, curry and rice, fish and chips, etc.
But the lamb curry is amazing. Best in Durbs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank firemangp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin H, Public Relations Manager at Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for the awesome review @firemangp! We really appreciate it! Our curries are definitely our specialty, but we do have a good offering on our menu should customers feel for something different. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Devin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

got in saturday aroun lunch time, place was packed and i play horses so took the wife along, foung this empty table upstairs sat down 2 minutes later we were greeted by a waitress asking if she could take out order so we ordered mutton and chicken bunny a beer and a coke, drinks were with me in 2 minutes and the food pipng hot 5 minutes later, thoroughly enjoyed the bunny will definately go back, easy to eat, have a drink, play horses and keep the wifes tummy happy...will defiantely be back .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ashleypillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin H, Public Relations Manager at Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hi Ashley
Thanks for the great review, and we were glad you enjoyed the quick service and hot food! Not only do we offer food, but our betting is the reason we operate, and we are glad you managed to get your bets on the horses while you enjoyed your meal! We hope to see you and the wife again soon :)
Regards
Devin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Whenever I am in Durban, I make sure to have a meal at Hollywood. In fact sometimes it is more than once. The food is absolutely delicious and reminds me of the curry that used to eat when I grew up in Durban. For an authentic taste of Durban popular curry and bunny chow, this place is a must.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KesieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin H, Public Relations Manager at Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hi Kesie
Thanks for your review and recommendation, and we are so happy we got to give you those childhood memories again! We see we could improve on the service, and we will be sending this onto our team. Thanks for visiting and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Durbs!
Regards
Devin H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We had family from Jhb that wanted to experience an authentic Durban curry.
This has been recommended numerous times but we have never managed to get there.
A choice of bunnies, roti and lamb curry and rice was made.
Everything was great. Full of Indian flavour and a real Durban taste experience.
Frequented by local Indian families and that is a great sign.

Thank SanC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We were looking for an authentic Bunny Chow and someone suggested Hollywood Bunny Bar. It was packed but the food arrived quickly. The curry was excellent! We shared a table with other diners and quickly made new friends. It was a fun, lively, restaurant with a limited, but delicious menu. Service was good even though the restaurant was packed for lunch. This ranks as one of the favourite meals of my whole two week South African trip!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin H, Public Relations Manager at Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Wow Richard, thank you for this fantastic review! It really means a lot! We will definitely be passing this onto the team, and we hope you visit us again the next time you are in Durban, South Africa :)
Regards
Devin H
Hollywoodbets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Hollywoodbets Springfield Park and Bunny Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing