We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
104
53
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
53
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathforest suitethe bar dining areasand forestamazing weekendwatch birdsincluded in the ratetake care of your every needspur of the momentnatural settingromantic getawaynext morningnature loversrooms are beautifulpeace and tranquilityfalse baya great stay
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Spur of the moment booking, we stayed for 2 nights in a Forest Suite, gorgeous setting with 180deg views from your bed. Wonderful to watch birds in the morning while having coffee and the antelope drinking from the bird bath in the moonlight.
Breakfast and dinner were delicious, served buffet style. Dinner is not included in the rate but well worth it. Lovely pool area to enjoy after a day game viewing in the Hluluwe Game Reserve.
Staff were so sweet and go out of their way to please.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jenay172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks for your lovely review. It is good to know that you found availability for your spur of the moment booking and then also enjoyed the setting. The view from the Secrets of the Forest Suite is magnificent and even while relaxing in bed, one can see out into the forest through the glass walls.

It has been recorded that over 350 bird species frequent our environs at and around Leopard Walk Lodge and their calls in the morning as they welcome the day creates a beautiful ambiance. One of our favorite birds that is often heard in the evenings is the nightjar, with its plaintive cry that seems to radiate from the moonlight!

The moonrise pool that is elevated to the tree tops is special and it great to know that you enjoyed it. Once summer warms the evenings a swim during moonrise is spectacular.

We are also pleased you enjoyed your meals and found the staff to be friendly.

Thanks again for your lovely review. We do hope you would find time to visit us again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We loved this lodge. Quiet, remote, relaxing with great service and home cooked food.
Friendly management. Great swimming pool. Everything you need for a quiet getaway. If you do not like the bush, this is not for you. The close proximity of outdoor events is great too.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisV3698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the time relaxing and that you enjoyed the service and food.

The swimming pool is interesting being elevated above the surrounding bush. We have named it the "moonrise pool" as on a warm summer's night watching the majestic full moonrise reflect onto the water, through the canopy of the bush over the pool, is an amazing experience.

Many interesting activities abound in our environs that include the World Natural Heritage Site, the Isimangaliso Wetland Park, the world renowned Hluhluwe Umfolozi Park and many more wonderful excursions and activities.

It is great that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again for your review. We do hope you may be able to visit again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stayed with my fiance for three nights. The room was beautifully furnished with lots of privacy. Breakfasts were amazing, when staff learned that he and I were vegetarians they prepared a meat-free main for us for each of the subsequent nights. Hot tub was A+. If what you're looking for is a secluded couple's weekend or mini-break in the heart of game territory, you couldn't do much better.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed at Leopard Walk on the 3 Night Anniversary Package 18-21st September. Well worth the money, the Forest Suite we had was beautiful, the Welcome Flowers were a nice touch. The meals were very good and the staff very friendly. We were visited by a Bush Baby one night while enjoying a drink on our patio, that was very unexpected and made the our time there extra special. Rob arranged our Game Drive on our actual 25th Anniversary and what a way to spend it, fab day lost count how many Rhino we saw and was lucky to see 3 Male young Lions. We went to the Elephant Interaction the next morning, an amazing experience, once you get over the very African Road to it!!! It literally was a Bone Shaker. Visited the Cat Project too in the afternoon, another worthwhile trip to take. We didn't realise if you visit at Feed Time you get to interact with some of the Cats and even have a Photo with a Cheetah! Rob was very accommodating with the package as we didn't want to do the St Lucia trip as we have stayed there before and done a Hippo/Croc Boat Trip, we were able to do the Elephant Interaction at a reduced cost. Overall a truly magical place to stay, and we intend to visit again in the future, doesn't have to be a special occasion. This Package is a excellent deal especially for us in Pounds. Thoroughly enjoyed it, many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We appreciate your review. Thank you very much. It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your 3 night Anniversary Package and found it to be worthwhile. The housekeeping staff love to add a touch of romance and place flowers to show their appreciation of the guests visit.

It is good to know that you enjoyed the meals and that a bush baby visited you while you were enjoying a drink on your patio. They can often be heard at night with their human like "cry" as they communicate with each other but it is special when they come down to visit.

The various activities are inspiring and we are pleased that you managed to see so many rhino and lion too. The elephant interaction is very interesting as they are roam free on the wildlife reserve, but come up to the viewing station each day to enjoy a snack while full interpretation about elephant is presented to guests. With a number of options available, we do try to meet specific guests preferences regarding times and activity options.

It is always great to know that the magical ambiance of our Lodge and Reserve, is appreciated.

Thank you once again for your lovely review. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I'm sure this lodge is great as a romantic getaway. However, I KNOW it is a little paradise for nature lovers. I spent a whole week there, hiking and spotting animals most of the time.
It's just the right thing to do after visiting one of those national parks where you are hardly allowed to leave your car.
And here, even if you can't or don't want to leave your chalet, wildlife comes to visit you. The bird bath that every chalet has is a magnet for everyone ranging from bunting to wildebeast. In between there are vervet monkeys, red duiker, nyalas, impalas, guineafowl and lots of other birds. The zebras that you meet on hikes don't mind a visit, and may come over to sniff you out.

The owners are striving to rebuild a typical sand forest from this former agriculture area. The multitude of wildlife there clearly approves.
Rob, the owner, recommended a trip to the Muzi Pan which is not too far away. I can only agree - particularly if you watch birds, by all means go there and let Temba guide you in one of his canoes!
Other attractions are quite nearby, like the False Bay reserve where hiking is allowed as well.

Regarding the lodge itself, the chalets are spacious and private. A nice touch is that you can switch of the night lights along the trail to your unit, so that you can leave the curtains open at night and let yourself be woken up by the morning dawn - which is exactly what I did.
I'm not much of a pool person, but after a hike on a particularly hot day it was just a blessing to glide into the cool water (without even having to cease bird- and game-watching).

The meals were reasonable and bountiful - a good base for my activities.
Last but not least you'll find the owners resourceful and knowledgeable whatever your questions and plans. For me, it adds to the quality of my vacation if I know that my hosts care about nature as much as I do.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you found the reserve to be a paradise and that the peace and magic of nature does indeed, seem to create a romantic ambiance.

The wildlife at Leopard Walk Lodge are quite relaxed for viewing and are even curious to see the guests and therefore often approach the accommodation suites. The expansive glass walls encourage a view that seems to bring nature in and with the curtains open, the bush provides privacy and wonderful views of nature in action.
Amongst the many various species, the zebra are particularly friendly. The forest has slowly returned and with it an amazing diversity of life forms. We have been Blessed to see the transformation that has taken place to bring together the biodiversity that now abounds.

Activities in the environs of our Reserve are wonderful and we are pleased that you enjoyed the various hikes and the canoe trip. Being in the environs of the World Natural Heritage Site, Isimangaliso Wetland Park, False Bay offers many natural and cultural experiences.

Our swimming pool "Moonrise Pool" is another magic area as we elevated it to ensure a view from the water over the bush. Here the many birds and butterflies in the tree tops are also close to the deck and water.

We are always pleased to know that our guests appreciate nature as much as we do and it was wonderful to meet you. Thank you very much again for the most interesting and lovely review! We do hope that you will be able to visit again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews