We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leopard Walk Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$136
US$114
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
100
52
12
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
52
12
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor jacuzzispa bathforest suiteglass windowsthe bar dining areasand forestamazing honeymoonchalet roomhoneymoon destinationwatch birdsincluded in the ratetake care of your every needspur of the momentnext morningnatural settingromantic getawayimfolozi game reserve
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The Lodge is set away from the main roads, with secure access. The wildlife is literally on your doorstep. We dined in the restaurant and were greeted on most evenings by Zebra grazing at the edge of the dining area.

The rooms do not have WiFi or TV's, but this ensured a complete break from everyday life and strife. There was WiFi and a TV in the restaurant, for a quick catch up if/when required.

It is set a bit out of Hluhluwe, but this places it nicely within travelling distance for activities further north.

Overall, an amazing experience due to location, accommodation, feeding, wildlife and hosts. I would and have recommend Leopard Walk Lodge to my family and friends in the UK and South Africa. We will be planning to visit again when we are next in South Africa, maybe a little longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danielwall235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We have recently activated a brand new automated gate with lights over the entrance and security is indeed very good.

Often the zebra are on the field that one passes on the road to the lodge and office and then they also come up to the lodge itself to delight the guests with their friendliness. We are please you enjoyed this experience.

Leopard Walk Lodge is indeed ideally based as a central point to many of the activities in our magnificent Elephant Coast. Often our guests have noted that they wished they had even more time to extend their stay as there is so much of interest to do in the area.

Thank you so much for referring us to family and friends. We look forward to having you stay again and thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

When one looks for accommodation to spend their honeymoon, they look for a place to relax and unwind

So we came across leopard walk , the place promised all the above

We got married on the 26 Jan 2018 , in Durban and had to drive to Hluhluwe straight afterwards
All excited and relieved the wedding was a success.
As we were driving we noticed how secluded the area is

We got To Leopard Walk around 7:20pm , we were given a very warm welcome by Ntombikayise and Sebenzile
Briefed on the legalities and was surprised when we were offered dinner , seeing how late it was
And the ladies said “Khululeka Mah besinilindele” , this was impressive
We were guided to our room , which was massive , very private and clean

Was told we can come to be dining area for dinner , not only were we served food it was a 3 course meal , was well prepared and presented
The next morning breakfast was freshly made , and was taken through the activities list.

All this time one must note the warmth and courteousness of the staff


Thank you very much to the staff , we would definitely come back with the kids

And you can bet we will recommend this to our friends and family

Room Tip: Incredible views ,huge rooms and warm meals
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thapelo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted that Leopard Walk Lodge met your expectations for your honeymoon and that it was a relaxing experience where you could unwind.

Our very special lodge is perhaps a "best kept secret" hidden away in the most beautiful area adjacent to False Bay of the World Natural Heritage Site and the ambiance is well suited for a honeymoon. The staff do indeed do their best to welcome the guests and we do request that they should be patient and serve guests that have arrived a little late. We like to always prepare fresh food with local produce.

The activities list is important for our guests as there is so much to do in our area. We are centrally situated in the Elephant Coast and it has an amazing extent of biodiversity and cultural interest.

The rooms are spacious and when you visit again, it would be super for the children to accompany you. Thank you again for your lovely review and for visiting us.

Siyabonga Kakhulu ngokubanani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

What an amazing place! It is completely wild and so full of life. My kids were in their absolute element. Imagine walking to your room and walking past a herd of wildebeest not even 5m away. I would highly recommend this place to nature and animal lovers. It was a true South African experience and so unique as well. It was the first time we have ever been to the Hluhlwe area and we are completely in love with the area. Definitely worth a visit by international and South African guests.

Room Tip: All the rooms are divine - you cant go wrong!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y7441VLjulier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to know that you and the children found the reserve and our wildlife to be exciting and inspiring!

Leopard Walk Lodge has a very special and unique ambiance, we believe, because our ethos was specifically based on giving something back to nature. The reserve teams with biodiversity and the animals are quite relaxed for viewing as no hunting is permitted. It is such a pleasure for us to be able to share the wonder of our environment with all who visit.

Thank you once again for your lovely review and for recommending us to both South African and International guests. We do hope you will visit again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Our stay at the Leopard Walk Lodge was amazing. We had the most relaxing time.It was time away from daily schedules and the best part was the minutes seemed like hours yet we still felt that our stay was too short. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and we were entertained by the most friendliest staff and owners. We were treated to delicious meals and entertained by the beautiful wildlife around us.We were lucky enough to interact with zebras at the dining area and have all the animals visiting us while relaxing on our patio. Leopard Walk Lodge has amazing nature trails which we really enjoyed. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and really looking forward to my next stay there.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review. The setting in the bush where guests are able to be at one with nature is a sure recipe for relaxation and it is great that you found this sense of peace to slow down the minutes somehow!

We are pleased to know that you found the staff friendly and that you enjoyed the meals. They are always prepared with care and only the freshest local produce is used. Our much loved zebra are characters indeed! They seem to love interacting with the guests although they are not tame nor domestic animals - we do urge guests to take care when interacting.

The nature trail is indeed lovely and with the recent rains the grass is growing under the trees making it seem like a touch of paradise with patches of luminous sunlight filtering through the forest. Many footprints make it very interesting and one can see the signs of the flourishing biodiversity as well as view some of the animals and birdlife. Thank you for recommending Leopard Walk Lodge - we do look forward to having you visit again!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Eunice and Hannes Bredenkamp - Centurion - Gauteng

We have just spent 5 wonderful days at Leopard Walk Lodge. We were welcomed by the loveliest lady who showed us around and then escorted us to our very special forest home. The cook put together lovely home cooked meals every night and a full breakfast every morning with our biggest concern being over eating on all the well prepared food. The staff was so kind, warm, friendly and helpful that we felt right at home.

The host and owner Rob, has so much passion for his lodge and the animals, it was great to have him around in the mornings to answer all our many questions about the animals and their habits.

What really made our stay even more spectacular was the fact that some of the Nyala would sleep around our cabin at night, waking up to this sight every morning made our stay that much more special and of course not to mention the friendly Zebra.

Early morning walks with Zebra and Nyala and so much more staring at you through the trees, visiting St Lucia and some wonderful attraction then spending afternoons by the pool or in our private Jacuzzi ensured that we start and end the days just right.

This is a place that I would recommend if you want peace, tranquillity, no pretentiousness and leave feeling up to yet another crazy year ahead.




Thank you to Rob and all the staff.

Room Tip: Excellent experience - will go again
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanbredenkamp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Leopard Walk Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your interest and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found so many of our efforts to be wonderful. Our hosts are indeed attentive and we like to ensure that all food is prepared from fresh produce. Leopard Walk Lodge was born from the intention to give back to Nature and its biodiversity and wildlife are our never ending passion - it is a privilege to share it with those who care. The wildlife, zebra, nyala and other animals are not afraid as we have no hunting. The antelope seem to often be interested in the visitors and they like to sleep nearby to the suites where they seem to feel safe. The accessible location to many other activities including a visit to Isimangaliso Wetland Park World Natural Heritage Site / St Lucia, makes Leopard Walk Lodge ideally situated to many interesting Eco and Cultural experiences in our environs. Thank you for recommending Leopard Walk Lodge in your review. We do hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews