We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Emdoneni Lodge(Hluhluwe)
US$167
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ama Zulu Guesthouse(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Leopard Walk Lodge(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$145
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fever Tree Guest House(Hluhluwe)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
63
67
18
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
67
18
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco lodgeself catering kitchenhluhluwe game reservefriendly hostsluciaaccommodationafricanaturegeneratordrivebomarangeranimals
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

These are the factors which assure my return visits in the future:
The safety features and security.
The self catering kitchen and braii area.
The delicious and beautifully served dinner in the boma with a bonfire under the stars.
The newly painted swimming pool surrounded by a diversity of flora.
The newly decorated salon and bar with a lovely fire.
The as always clean and comfortable room.
The horses out to pasture in our backyard.
The staff and safari guide.
The hospitality by Martin and Bernadette, Mikala and Nathan.
The jug of water served at dinner with mint and lemon herbs.
And a very good value for a very reasonable cost!!!

Room Tip: Do have Nathan arrange an Elephant Encounter.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenpaarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

nothing was very good about this place. Pick a category it was awful. The night we were there, there was a windstorm. The power went out. We had no lights. We had no hot water,in fact we had no water at all. the toilet wouldn't even flush.And of course no showers. Lovely. In the morning there was a pile of dirt on the floor that had blown in under the door.

Hey- they did sprinkle rose petals on the bed. I would have preferred hot water.

The young lady who was there when we checked in wouldn't make eye connect or say hello. Luckily we only saw her for a minute, The place was shabby to say the least. The outfitter that booked us in there heard from us already loudly and clearly. I felt bad for our guide. I know he was mortified for us but like a good soldier he did the best he could. We are not fussy travelers but this was TOO MUCH or should I say TOO LITTLE. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildebeesEcolodge, Owner at WE Bushcamp & Horse Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

C'est la vie, the title of your review suggests that at least we made you laugh!
For the rest, it is unfortunate that you've had a bad experience. Most of your complaints however are related to the storm we had that day, it is unfortunate for you but unfair to us that you blame us for that.

The fact that sometimes people do not make eye contact is culturally motivated, this is something that is part of Zulu Culture, people are showing their respect by not looking you into the eye's and by talking very softly. That this is perceived as rude in other countries is fine, but here in South Africa she was just trying to show you respect, especially when someone is 'older'. I would agree to say that eye contact, a smile and a chat should be present and luckily that is normally the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

The bathroom needs a lot of improvement. The towels in our room were so old and smelled bad. The staff were friendly though but the room was not what we hoped for considering the cost. The location is good for nature lovers like us. Be careful to follow the correct dorection when navigating there as the roads are gravel and getting on the wrong one can mean you are for a really bumpy ride.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sithembile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

My sons and I stayed at the lodge, so as to travel to the nearby and world-renowned Hluhluwe Game reserve.

The accommodation was clean, comfortable and basic. However the knowledge and friendliness of the owners and resident game ranger were awesome.
The value was also great - so I highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank BrianVMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Food price was not reflective of what we received. We complained and it was dealt with however it could have been done better. The rooms were also crammed together, no feeling of privacy. It was an awkward experience all round.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Niamh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews