We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
183
22
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
22
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table home away from home whale watching personal attention warm breakfast business stop business or pleasure little things a wonderful stay braai area exceptional service room was large efficient staff lovely room yogurt fantastic hosts indian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

From the minute we walked up to the entrance to the time of our departure, we were met with warm and efficient staff, from the managements personal attention to the breakfast staff's friendly service. Well worth more than a weekend's stay. Thanks to 'The Albatros' for a cosy and memorable stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank roodmnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. We very delighted to see you have enjoyed our hospitality and breakfast. We do look forward to host you again. Thank you for staying with us on your Anniversary.
We will share your compliments with our Team.
Kind regards
Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Albatross Guest House. We had only originally booked for one night but Bessie, after speaking to my husband on the telephone from our previous accommodation, very kindly managed to fit us in for an extra night. Not only did she do this but actually upgraded our accommodation to an amazing huge room with enormous bathroom and balcony. We were in heaven. Bessie and Andre were really helpful and fun. This is a lovely B & B with delightful pool and outside areas. The breakfasts were very tasty and plentiful. We would definitely stay here again if we revisited Margate on a future trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Diana, Thank you for taking the time to post such an outstanding and brilliant review for us on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read all your compliments and we are very happy to see you enjoyed your two days with us. We will share your compliments with our team and do look forward to host you again.
Kind regards
Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

The Albatros Guest House is beautiful and very well set out. The dining area leads out onto the pool which has a lovely braai area and a pool table at the recreational area behind the pool. Rooms are well laid out and consideration of the little things do not go unnoticed; an example was that I was never short of any electrical connections or 2 pin adapters.

The house wine is lovely and is a must if you are ever lucky enough to stay at The Albatros; that being said, let's not forget to mention that the breakfast is delicious and plentiful.

Views from the rooms shows the beauty of the Indian Ocean. For those looking for an on-the-beach experience; be wary that there is a distance to cover on foot if you want to go for a swim... however, I highly recommend this guesthouse purely due to the great service and wonderful views from the rooms. I for one am not a fan of the constant crashing of waves and the distance provides the reprieve from the noise but the splendor of the view.

This was a business stop that really felt like a holiday. We will be back very soon.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank TAMISH-ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Tamish,

Thank you for taking the time to placing such a brilliant and fantastic review for us on TripAdvisor.; We do appreciate you compliments and all the care you spend on the finer details on your review. this is the best we have received and be sure we will share your review with our Team. Thank you from all of us at Albatros Guest House.
Kind regards
Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

The host, Bessie, was super accommodating and helpful. The rooms are unique and extremely appealing. Entire facility is spotless and the breakfast was simply outstanding. We recommend with the highest of regard. Thanks so much for a wonderful nights stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jhabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community and placing such a Brilliant review for us.
We look forward to hosting you again. Enjoy your holiday in South Africa.
Kind regards
Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

We stayed at the Albatross for 2 nights as part of our months tour of South Africa & we had a fabulous time! Bessie & Andre we’re so friendly, welcoming & helpful - we couldn’t have asked for better hosts! Our lovely room had a wonderful sea view & it was very well equipped with real attention to detail! Breakfast was served on the terrace & was really tasty & freshly cooked to order. There was also a lovely pool area, small gym & pool table etc which we didn’t have chance to use but would be a real bonus for guests staying longer!
All in all a fabulous, clean ,comfortable & relaxing guest house which we would not hesitate to recommend to others wishing to stay in Margate! Thank you Bessie & Andre!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cheltlady1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Albatros, Owner at The Albatros Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Good afternoon, Thank you for posting such a brilliant review for us. We are delighted to hear that you had a superb time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Guest House in the future. We will share your compliments with our Team.
Kind regards
Andre, Bessie and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews