We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ukuthula Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$97
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karkloof Safari Villas(Pietermaritzburg)
US$525
US$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tancredi B&B(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bancroft B&B(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Bush Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jays Guest House(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
12
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet areapatrickpropertyroomsaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Loved the tranquil atmosphere to Patrick's B&B. He also accommodated to my special diet (pescatarian) for both breakfast and dinner, which was very delicious!
The rooms had microwave, hot water pot, small fridge, ironing board.
Brevisbrook was a wonderful experience. I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank girlywily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Brevisbrook is situated in lush gardens in a surprisingly quiet area in the northern suburbs of the city. Travel to city center is only 6 km and even peak morning traffic is not very heavy. The rooms have everything you need - iron, ironing board, hair dryer, microwave, small fridge, aircon, small lounge and TV etc. Very neatly kept and excellent breakfast. Safe parking on site and a huge swimming pool.

Room Tip: Room no 1 is excellent - not sure about the others but probably all good
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We stayed for a night while we were in Pietermaritsburg for a wedding. Patrick assisted in settling us in and helped with getting us to our function. His B&B is impeccably clean, bright and comfortable. Patrick also went to great lengths to assist when we left some things behind at Brevisbrook. Highly recommended for those passing through or in need of reasonably priced and very comfortable lodgings.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisW_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I recently attended a conference in Pietermaritzburg and we stayed two nights at Brevisbrook Guesthouse. Dave and Normaine were perfect hosts and made us feel very at home. The cottage we stayed in was spacious and very comfortable. I appreciated the attention to detail like having a microwave in the room was great and an umbrella came in handy for the rainy weather. The breakfasts were great and overall we had a wonderful time. We felt completely safe and secure. This guesthouse was well priced and offered good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Generous and giving hosts Dave and Normaine went out of their way to help us get the most from our short three days in the Pietermaritzburg region; Dave even gave us a guided tour of the town centre in his car, and a lift to the local Botanical Gardens :)

The house / accommodation is a once-private residence expanded some 20 years ago to make a cute five-apartment B&B - all with en-suites and living areas. The grounds are secluded and somewhat of a beauty spot - including a wonderful little brook / stream with a picnic table beside. With regards to a previous commenter remarking on the 'old fashioned' décor; it is a little twee but personally my wife and I love this kind of b&b - unpretentious and authentic. The cook and cleaner Lillian serves us extremely tasty breakfasts every morning, and we found our room tidy and clean every day.

Would heartily recommend a stay here. Ironically because Pietermaritzburg isn't exactly much of a tourist spot, Brevisbrook's main custom are professionals on their way somewhere else - but you could spend a week chilling out in this quiet and pretty little base. Look out for the cheeky monkeys that come sometimes during the day - harmless and they don't get too close, but a treat to see them scurrying along the branches. Thanks again for your hospitality Dave and Normaine!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews