We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
235
31
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
31
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostslovely boutiquehome from homeguest housewalk in showerstayed nightsself catering unitmain bedroomhermanumhlangaaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Beautiful setting with outdoor patio next to the pool, where the breakfast is enjoyed. Warm welcome by the host, very nice dog, and room with bath tub. All in all a very pleasant stay for one night in Umhlanga.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us!

We love welcoming guests into Manaar House, and we love that you loved your room. We are very proud of our Bed & Breakfast, and quality is never compromised.

Our breakfasts are renowned for their generous portions, variety and as you mentioned, the tranquil setting on the patio by the pool. We are so glad that you enjoyed it.

We hope that you are able to join us again, you are always welcome at Manaar House!

Kindest regards,
Jono, Hermann, Monty (the very nice dog) and the team at Manaar House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Probably the best stay I have had in South Africa. Very helpful and personable owner and staff. Only 15 minutes from the airport. Regret that we weren't able to book more than one night. Breakfast was excellent. Seemed to be a very safe area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Thank you ever so much or this wonderful review! Knowing that this was probably the best stay you had in South Africa makes us so proud! Customer service isn't a job to us - it's a lifestyle. We genuinely love our guests, and chatting with you both will be remembered for a long time to come! The location of Manaar House really is in the guests favour as we are close enough to all the popular restaurants, bars, supermarkets and beaches but far enough away to retreat from the hustle and bustle of the busy Umhlanga town center. Our breakfasts are renowned for their generous portions, variety and beautiful setting out on the patio, and we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We also regret that you could only stay one night, as I'm sure we could have spoken for hours! You are so right in saying that Umhlanga Rocks is a safe area. It is well policed with a lot of private security companies monitoring the area. We do hope that if you are ever in our part of the world again, that you would come back to stay with us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Manaar House! Kindest regards, Jono, Hermann, Jack and the team at Manaar House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Lovely bed and breakfast in a quaint part of Durban. Within walking distance of the beach and boardwalk. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Highly recommend a stay at Manaar House.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank DebStoneyCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thank you ever so much for your very favourable review with regards to your recent stay at Manaar House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The location of Manaar House is perfect in that you are within walking distance of the beach, but also far enough away to retreat to the comfort and serenity of Manaar House and avoid the hustle and bustle of the popular beaches.

Our breakfast is renowned for its generous portion sizes, variety and tranquil setting on the patio beside the pool, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed it!

Our number 1 priority is always you, the guest. Ensuring your comfort is of paramount importance to us. We are always ready to give you advice on the area, what to do, where to go and anything else you may need.

We do hope that you are able to come and visit us again, you are always welcome at Manaar House!

Kindest regards,
Jono, Hermann and the team at Manaar House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Clean, comfy, convenient location just a couple of minutes to the village & beach. Nice firm king bed with great pillows! Big bathtub, shower & plenty of hot water and flow. Breaky: fresh squeezed Oj , fresh cut fruit bowl, yoghurt & cereals, and then the full English breakfast: eggs any way wanted, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, toast. Best of all, the hosts - marvellous; sincerely happy making us happy. Highest recommendation for Manaar House!,!

Room Tip: We had the biggest room #3, which had a private loung area.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Wow! Thank you so much for this fantastic review! You have made us all beam with pride. Nothing delights us more than knowing you enjoyed your stay with us Manaar House!

Manaar House has the perfect location! We are within walking distance to the beach and popular Umhlanga Village (or inexpensive taxi), and you are able to retreat to your comfortable and serene room to relax after a busy day out in Umhlanga Rocks! Thank you for your compliments with regards to the bed and pillows. We source high end furniture and appliances as only the best will do for our guests. Quality is something we will never compromise on!

Our breakfast is renowned for it's portion size, variety and tranquil setting by the pool. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it! Once again, only the best quality items are used in the preparation of breakfast, and you will never be subjected to only 1 choice of egg. Your wish is always our command!

Customer service is not a job to us, it's a way of life and we are definitely sincerely happy that we were able to make you happy.

We hope that you are able to come and see us again. We are ready to welcome you back to Manaar House!

Kind regards,
Jono, Hermann, Jack, Mark and the team at Manaar House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The duplex apartment we stayed in was very welcoming and comfortable. It was also spotless. The kitchen has a small dishwasher, washer and dryer. The linen is of good quality. The premises is secure and close to shops and restaurants. The main bedroom and bathroom are huge and tastefully decorated. Our hosts were helpful but unobtrusive. The unlimited free wifi was appreciated. We had a great stay and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManaarHouse, General Manager at Manaar House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your review with regards to your recent stay in our Luxury Self Catering Apartment at Manaar House! We are so delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Our main priority is you, the guest! Nothing makes us happier than knowing you were comfortable and felt welcomed. The apartment is fully fitted to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible and the free high speed, uncapped WiFi is just one less thing for you to worry about whilst you enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the cleanliness and the good quality linen. Customer comfort is of utmost importance to us, and we will never compromise on quality. I have passed your comments on to the housekeeper, and you made her day!

It was an absolute pleasure to be of service to you and we really hope that you can join us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Jono, Hermann and the team at Manaar House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews